We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casino Life” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal River Casino & Hotel

Royal River Casino & Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Flandreau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal River Casino & Hotel
Save
You added Royal River Casino & Hotel to your Saves list
607 South Veterans Street, Flandreau, SD 57028   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flandreau
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Casino Life”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Hotel was nice and easy to find. Stayed in a non smoking room - that smelt of smoke. We were visiting family, other wise we would have not stayed in Flandreau. Okay place, pool looked nice but did not take advantage.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
9
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, South Dakota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The good: relatively clean. The bad: front desk staff was rude at check-in. Recliner in room had fresh urine on it, that we didn't notice until my wife sat down in it after we were settled in. The buffet was not bad - but even the crab that just came out wasn't even warm. Slot machine that I was playing broke - it took 3 staff for one to finally show up that could re-set it. Even then, the dollar I'd bet on that spin was lost, and he said they regarded it as having been played (even though the machine had stopped, and been re-set, after 2 of the 4 wheels stopped). Drinks were okay, and fair priced. Pillows on bed were total floppy mess, no support at all. Fitted sheet absolutely would not stay on. Pool and hot tub were tiny. As reservation casinos we've visited go, this one is above average; but by regular standards, the whole experience was poor.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Flandreau hotels

Waukesha, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Typically when traveling, we prefer large, vegas-type casinos but we took a chance on this one (advertised as 17,000 sq ft). Although it was farther from the interstate than we thought, it was well worth the trip. Lots of small denomination slots, $4.00 mixed drinks, clean spacious rooms, and a great breakfast buffet. The staff was very nice and the coffee was outstanding! We would definitely go back on our next road trip west.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach, North Dakota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We got stuck in a snow storm and the rate of $39.00 a night was too good to give up. The breakfast was $3.99 special. They had a nice pool and an RV park but in winter I stay inside hotels. The room was very clean the TV are outdated but that is a miner issues. The staff was helpful about road conditions etc.

Room Tip: I think the rooms are quite. You may want a middle or lower floor if it is windy or you can hear th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champlin, MN
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

GOOD
- Food is cheap
- 2Q room had table&chairs and plenty of space
- We were VERY successful in the casino. They claim a 96% payback and we left several hundred ahead
- The superbowl party was fun. Great nacho bar and we had our own personal bartender plus we won tons of great prizes
- All the employees, except 1 were very helpful and friendly. The blackjack dealers and bartenders were really fun.
- Drinks were plenty strong
- Accommodated request for 3 rooms next to/across from each other
- High stakes slots have 1 dollar machines

BAD
- Room 132 is a long walk to the front desk and casino
- Buffet food is just ok but its cheap (bkfst = 499)
- Hairs in the sink

UGLY
- The beds and tv are old
- front desk person (evening of Feb 3rd, 2013 - she was the only person there at the time), told me that it was too much paperwork to upgrade me to a suite

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor, in the 100-110 range if you want to be closer to the casino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delavan, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We were on a bus tour to the Badlands, Black Hills, and casinos. We were booked in here for our first and last night of the trip. The casino is alright, I guess, but I'm not the gambler in the family. We were given vouchers for the buffet both nights, and it was quite good. The second stay is where the problems really stuck out. First, we were given a handicapped room, which we did not need. That was not the problem. The problem is that all three handicapped rooms are at least 100 yards from the front desk! Who designed this? The room smelled of smoke, which is not the hotel's fault, but we immediately called the staff so we would not get charged. We had a desk lamp that was not lit. Turns out it was unplugged because the switch is missing. The staff comment: "It's too late to call maintenance, besides there is enough light in here". Excuse me???? I was in the restaurant when the Thursday night football game came on NFL Network. Great, I thought, and back to my room I went to find a 1970's TV and TV lineup with no NFL Network, no Fox News, etc. I went to the desk and they told me that the hotel and casino are on different cable systems, besides, they are in the bottom of a valley. Huh? What does that have to do with no decent cable service in the hotel, not to mention the first 18", tube-type TV I have seen in a hotel in many years. There was a pervasive sewer gas smell in the entire wing. Several in the group commented about that. There was no spot for facial tissue, so we had to ask the desk for some so we could just put it on the desk. There was a pill on the floor, which told us that whoever did the vacuuming did not do a very good job. All in all, not a very good hotel experience. The casino seemed pretty good, but you should stay somewhere else, even if it is a 1/2 hour drive or so from the casino.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Az
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Excellent hotel and casino...The nights stay price included dinner coupons and casino coupons...Excellent dining room...
You can eat for nothing and walk away with money in your pocket if your lucky.
If you are looking for a place to meet with your friends this is the place!

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal River Casino & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal River Casino & Hotel

Address: 607 South Veterans Street, Flandreau, SD 57028
Location: United States > South Dakota > Flandreau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flandreau
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since opening our doors in 1990, Royal River Casino & Hotel continues to be the preferred entertainment destination for excitement seekers in southeast South Dakota, southwest Minnesota, northwest Iowa and across the upper Midwest. Located just 35 minutes north of Sioux Falls, SD, Royal River Casino & Hotel fulfills every entertainment and relaxation need with the hottest casino filled with the loosest slots, highest payouts, black jack, roulette and poker; two restaurants offering a delicious variety of menu items and full buffet; soothing hotel rooms, and the best in events and entertainment….every day! The Flandreau Santee Sioux Tribe is comprised primarily of descendents of "Mdewakantonwan", a member of the Isanti division of the Great Sioux Nation, and refer to themselves as Dakota, which means friend or ally. The Flandreau Santee Sioux Indian Reservation is 5,000 acres of combined trust and fee tribal land located along and near the Big Sioux River in Moody County, South Dakota, in a region know as the Prairie Coteau, which consists primarily of undulating or gently rolling land. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Royal River Casino Bingo Hotel Flandreau
Royal River Casino Bingo And Motel
Royal River Hotel Bingo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal River Casino & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.