We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great prices and hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal River Casino & Hotel

Royal River Casino & Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Flandreau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal River Casino & Hotel
Save Saved
You added Royal River Casino & Hotel to your Saves list
607 South Veterans Street, Flandreau, SD 57028   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flandreau
Beach, North Dakota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great prices and hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We got stuck in a snow storm and the rate of $39.00 a night was too good to give up. The breakfast was $3.99 special. They had a nice pool and an RV park but in winter I stay inside hotels. The room was very clean the TV are outdated but that is a miner issues. The staff was helpful about road conditions etc.

Room Tip: I think the rooms are quite. You may want a middle or lower floor if it is windy or you can hear th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
4
9
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Champlin, MN
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

GOOD
- Food is cheap
- 2Q room had table&chairs and plenty of space
- We were VERY successful in the casino. They claim a 96% payback and we left several hundred ahead
- The superbowl party was fun. Great nacho bar and we had our own personal bartender plus we won tons of great prizes
- All the employees, except 1 were very helpful and friendly. The blackjack dealers and bartenders were really fun.
- Drinks were plenty strong
- Accommodated request for 3 rooms next to/across from each other
- High stakes slots have 1 dollar machines

BAD
- Room 132 is a long walk to the front desk and casino
- Buffet food is just ok but its cheap (bkfst = 499)
- Hairs in the sink

UGLY
- The beds and tv are old
- front desk person (evening of Feb 3rd, 2013 - she was the only person there at the time), told me that it was too much paperwork to upgrade me to a suite

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor, in the 100-110 range if you want to be closer to the casino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We were on a bus tour to the Badlands, Black Hills, and casinos. We were booked in here for our first and last night of the trip. The casino is alright, I guess, but I'm not the gambler in the family. We were given vouchers for the buffet both nights, and it was quite good. The second stay is where the problems really stuck out. First, we were given a handicapped room, which we did not need. That was not the problem. The problem is that all three handicapped rooms are at least 100 yards from the front desk! Who designed this? The room smelled of smoke, which is not the hotel's fault, but we immediately called the staff so we would not get charged. We had a desk lamp that was not lit. Turns out it was unplugged because the switch is missing. The staff comment: "It's too late to call maintenance, besides there is enough light in here". Excuse me???? I was in the restaurant when the Thursday night football game came on NFL Network. Great, I thought, and back to my room I went to find a 1970's TV and TV lineup with no NFL Network, no Fox News, etc. I went to the desk and they told me that the hotel and casino are on different cable systems, besides, they are in the bottom of a valley. Huh? What does that have to do with no decent cable service in the hotel, not to mention the first 18", tube-type TV I have seen in a hotel in many years. There was a pervasive sewer gas smell in the entire wing. Several in the group commented about that. There was no spot for facial tissue, so we had to ask the desk for some so we could just put it on the desk. There was a pill on the floor, which told us that whoever did the vacuuming did not do a very good job. All in all, not a very good hotel experience. The casino seemed pretty good, but you should stay somewhere else, even if it is a 1/2 hour drive or so from the casino.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Flandreau hotels

Az
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Excellent hotel and casino...The nights stay price included dinner coupons and casino coupons...Excellent dining room...
You can eat for nothing and walk away with money in your pocket if your lucky.
If you are looking for a place to meet with your friends this is the place!

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed on Sept. 21st, after seeing a casino special offering 30 dollars in dining, 20 in free play for 90 dollars. We decided we would give it a try as we were tired of spending over 120 dollars a night in Brookings when we travel to see our kids in collage. Checking in was easy and the room was very clean, my inlaws traveled with us and they were happy with there room also. We used our 30 dollar meal vouchers at the restaurant and were very pleased with the service and food. the waitress was one of the best we have ever encountered. After signing up for a players card we had 25 dollars free play, that went fast along with a extra 15 of my own money. My father inlaw won 100.00 to take home. Brookings was only a 15 minute drive and well worth the davings of staying here. This hotel is a winner, although pool is small and hot tub also. We plan on staying here from now on when we visit brookings.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I stayed here recently while working in the area. I was a bit apprehensive after reading about smokey-smelling rooms. I'm happy to say that my first floor room (near the bend, around the corner from the ice machine) was fine. I didn't notice any sort of smoke smell at all.

The free wii-fi worked well, and the bed was comfortable. I didn't notice any noise from the hallway. The front desk staff were very nice and helpful.

The only thing I think the (regular) room lacked was a fridge/microwave. I know that the suites have them, but I really missed having them in my regular room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King George, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Stayed at the Royal River Casino & Hotel while attending a High School graduation in the area. We only spent one night, but thought the stay overall was pretty good. We travel world-wide, Japan, Bahrain, Europe, etc. for business and have seen and stayed in all kinds of hotels ... this one rates as a good, clean, but average hotel. Nothing to write home about, but we were comfortable, and honestly, I think the Casino side of the business would rather you be in the restaurant or on the gaming floor rather than closed up in your room.
Staff was very friendly and helpful, attendants in the casino were very quick to clean up around machines after someone left the machine, plenty of staff around when you needed to find someone. We very much enjoyed the casino side of the property.
At breakfast at the restaurant, very good, either off the menu or the Sunday brunch.

Overall, I'd have to give the hotel an average, the Casino, although smaller than what we're accustomed to in Atlantic City and Las Vegas I'd rate as Very Good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal River Casino & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal River Casino & Hotel

Address: 607 South Veterans Street, Flandreau, SD 57028
Location: United States > South Dakota > Flandreau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flandreau
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since opening our doors in 1990, Royal River Casino & Hotel continues to be the preferred entertainment destination for excitement seekers in southeast South Dakota, southwest Minnesota, northwest Iowa and across the upper Midwest. Located just 35 minutes north of Sioux Falls, SD, Royal River Casino & Hotel fulfills every entertainment and relaxation need with the hottest casino filled with the loosest slots, highest payouts, black jack, roulette and poker; two restaurants offering a delicious variety of menu items and full buffet; soothing hotel rooms, and the best in events and entertainment….every day! The Flandreau Santee Sioux Tribe is comprised primarily of descendents of "Mdewakantonwan", a member of the Isanti division of the Great Sioux Nation, and refer to themselves as Dakota, which means friend or ally. The Flandreau Santee Sioux Indian Reservation is 5,000 acres of combined trust and fee tribal land located along and near the Big Sioux River in Moody County, South Dakota, in a region know as the Prairie Coteau, which consists primarily of undulating or gently rolling land. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Royal River Casino Bingo Hotel Flandreau
Royal River Casino Bingo And Motel
Royal River Hotel Bingo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal River Casino & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.