We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The fantastic hotel!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martin Mason Hotel

Save Saved
You added Martin Mason Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Martin Mason Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Deadwood Street, Deadwood, SD 57732   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 hotels in Deadwood
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
294 helpful votes 294 helpful votes
“The fantastic hotel!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Frankly speaking I have chosen that hotel only because of the name that sounded very attractive. When we were leaving the hotel we were seriously thinking about another night in Deadwood only because of the fantastic Martin Mason. We have stayed at 21 hotel during our Big American Trip and I can't say something really negative about any of them. But Martin Mason itself and mainly the staff are really remarkable. I had booked a room with Booking.com but when we arrived they offered me an absolutely free upgrade for the room that was twice bigger and three times better. They really helped me with choosing the best restaurant in Deadwood and all my stay at MM we really felt ourselves as if we were at home. Thank you very much: I will always remember my stay with you!!!
The hotel itself is a special story but you have to see and feel it yourself. There are many historical hotels in this world but there is not a lot where you really feel the atmosphere of "those times". It is Martin Mason where you even do your best to be silent not to frighten the spirit of the past.
By the way: the historical atmosphere doesn't compromise the quality: you will find over there all you need and the breakfast is what you can't miss for any reason: as if cooked by your granny:)
Thank you very much again for that lovely day we spent with you in Deadwood!!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for the great review! It means so much to us to hear that we have pleased all our guests and especially those who have traveled so far. We are so glad that we could be a part of "your Big American Trip" and we hope that you will find yourselves back here sometime! It is truly our pleasure to be a part of your memories of the American West! Thanks again for your wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    17
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
70
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The Martin & Mason Hotel is a very nice, very traditional hotel in the centre of Deadwood. The rooms are named as well as numbered (we stayed in Lucy Ann), and are traditionally decorated and furnished, with 4-post beds and dark red paintwork (in our room and wood panelling.
We didn’t have a full breakfast with our room, but the coffee and scones available in the hallway were tasty and kept us going for a while.

There are a couple of difficulties with this hotel though. Firstly, it’s pretty difficult to find as it’s above a casino and has very little signage at street level (there’s a bit sign high up on the building but if you’re not looking at the 3rd floor you won’t see it), and secondly, the entrance and reception area are in the middle of the casino. It’s a personal thing, but I’m not comfortable in casinos so I don’t like this. But I guess a lot of people visiting Deadwood are visiting to go gambling, so maybe this is a big plus point for them!

Anyway, I’d fully recommend this hotel for a stay in Deadwood.

Room Tip: Lucy Ann is very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review of the Martin & Mason Hotel. We enjoy hearing from our international travelers and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We understand your concerns about walking through our Wooden Nickel casino to access the elevator to the hotel rooms. We hope that during your stay you were able to use our two private and keyed exterior entrances to the hotel, designed specifically for guests who want to avoid the casino. It was important to us that we maintain the historic feeling of our quiet small hotel and the two staircases to the second floor are designed to provide this to our guests. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope that you will return again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at the Martin Mason Hotel for a night after seeing a concert in Deadwood. I really enjoyed both the property and the service. Let me start by saying, yes the building and rooms are historic, as such this may come as a shock to some who are used to staying in cookie cutter hotel rooms. The tub with a hand held shower nozzle took some getting used to but it was still comfortable and fun. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was clean. Breakfast was coffee and scones outside in the hall and the scones were delicious. Overall, we really had a great night there. We were able to walk to everything and Star was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Martin & Mason Hotel. We hope that when you return sometime, you might try another room for a different experience since they are all unique. The rooms with the showers are 1, 2, 5/6 and 7/8. Rooms 10 and 11 have bathtub/shower combinations! Thanks again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We where in room 7 the Mason Suite, my husband and I found the room to be well restored decorated to the period, comfortable very spacious, staff where very friendly polite willing to help, couldn't do enough for us, made our stay for two nights a delight.
Highly recommend. Close to the Main Street.
I put this hotel as top class.
Excellent

Room Tip: We where on the second floor but throughout our stay we had know trouble with any noise, it was a ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review of our hotel. You cannot imagine how gratifying it is when travelers, such as yourselves, appreciate everything we have done to create a perfect experience for our guests. We hope to see you again sometime here at the Martin & Mason!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

It's not a boutique hotel by any stretch of the imagination. We went to the room we had reserved. No seating except on the bed. For some reason the chairs were missing. The woman who took us to our room came back with a couple of straight chairs. DH not impressed. He was also taken aback that this hotel had been condemned before being rehabbed. He felt that should have been offered upfront. We were offered an upgrade which I took for another $100. DH not pleased. But, I wanted to be comfortable. We got a suite. Too bad there wasn't food service. It would have been wonderful to have tea in that room. Bed was luxurious. Towels very nice and fluffy.

There was coffee available on the floor with the rooms and a small fridge with complimentary beverages.

The normal rooms are small. However, it is an old hotel. If you want cookie cutter experience, then go somewhere else. It's not a great value for the money. But, it's well located in Deadwood. We walked to everything.

Room Tip: Talk to the hotel when reserving a room. You will have a better chance of getting what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We appreciate so much your time in writing a review for our eight room boutique hotel. We actually do meet all the qualifications for a "boutique hotel" as described by wikipedia! We are also very proud of the fact that we have received so many accolades and awards for our thirteen year project to restore our building located in a national historic district. We are frequently asked to give tours of our project by the state and city historic preservation officers as an excellent example of a complete renovation. During the renovation it was necessary to create bathrooms in rooms that originally did not have them, and this in itself was a challenging project! In addition, it was our goal to use every historical item that was left in the building after many years of abuse. We couldn't be prouder of our efforts! Unfortunately, I was not present during your stay or I would have been happy to show you the building with Before and After pictures! If you were in one of the suites I am so sorry that you did not find the tea kettle provided with tea cups, tea and condiments to make your stay more comfortable.....maybe next time. I do look forward to helping your next stay meet all your needs here in Deadwood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Small room. Dirty bedspread. No food services available. Old linens. Soft, lumpy bed with equally bad pillows. Poor lighting. Non existant management skills. Dank lobby. Would never recommend this "hotel". Not at all like advertised...except that it does seem old.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
The staff at the Martin & Mason Hotel is very accommodating and helpful with all of our guests. Even though I was out of town during your stay, the staff let me know of the issues regarding the confusion with your purchase downstairs and how unhappy you were upon arrival. They actually called me in Michigan they were so concerned. Clearly, you were having a "bad day". Please let me clarify some of your comments; Our restaurant is only closed from 10pm to 7am, this time of year, so I am sorry that food service was not available to you when you needed it. I hope you had breakfast in the morning, as it is the best in Deadwood, but I am sure you were pleased with the coffee and scones outside your room in the morning! Our beds are all pillowtop with 600 count sheets. The down pillows are a selection of different thicknesses and weights, so as to accommodate everyone's needs. Nothing is dirty as we have the absolutely best housekeeper in the world who takes her job responsibilities very seriously. I would like to personally invite you back to meet her and our entire staff on better terms when you are happier. as this review was quite unrealistic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Melanie and entire staff made our two night stay a memorable experience. The personal attention to guests makes this hotel a MUST DO in Deadwood. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a stay to remember.

Room Tip: The Lucy Martin room was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! We really enjoy having such nice guests in our small hotel. It is what makes this business so rewarding and fun. The Lucy Ann is one of our favorite rooms too! We look forward to hosting you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Martin Mason Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin Mason Hotel

Address: 33 Deadwood Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 hotels in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin Mason Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Martin & Mason is a beautiful, quiet, historical hotel centrally located in Deadwood. All rooms have Victorian era antique lighting and furniture. Beds and bedding are the most comfortable in South Dakota. Scones, tea and coffee are served each morning to our guests. Our staff caters to guests every need. Weddings and special events are our specialty in our ballroom and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Martin Mason Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martin Mason Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.