We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Historic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martin Mason Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Martin Mason Hotel to your Saves list
Martin Mason Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Deadwood Street, Deadwood, SD 57732   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Deadwood
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Historic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Excellent stay at Martin Mason 3/21/13!!! I stayed for one night with my husband and parents. We were all very happy with our stay. Booked this hotel because of tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed.

We traveled to Deadwood in the off-season, and upon arrival at the hotel, we were informed that we were the only guests booked for the night. We were offered an upgrade and toured many of the rooms to select which we wanted. All were absolutely beautiful! My husband and I were originally booked in Room 10, Tyrell, but stayed in Room 1. We toured room 10 and would have been happy with our original reservation, but were excited about the upgrade. Room 1 was beautifully decorated—tasteful restoration. All the rooms we saw were beautiful and we would definitely stay at this hotel again.

The beds were comfortable—really comfortable. Location is perfect, within walking distance to restaurants and shops. Staff is warm and welcoming. Great value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    19
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
77
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Small, quaint hotel with a very cool atmosphere. About a block or two from the main strip in Deadwood. I would recommend it to others for the overall feel and experience, although the clawfoot tub with no shower curtain in the corner of the room made bathing a little cumbersome ( I guess it added to the overall experience though).Overall we had a very pleasant stay, but one that initially seemed like it might not happen. WARNING: lengthy story on our initial reception below:

We booked the room with them about 2 weeks in advance, and referenced an internet discount coupon on Trip Advisor. After we arrived at the hotel, the employee at the desk started going on about how she thought it was a reserved holiday (President's Day weekend) and that our discount already plugged into the computer system wouldn't be accepted. We called twice after booking just to make sure the rate was good and that the discount was showing in the system. (Also keep in mind we are standing there at the desk, bags in hand, ready to go to our room we booked while she attempts to charge us more).

Luckily she finally gave us the room, after she couldn't get in touch with the owner. But seriously? You're going to try and charge us more while we're standing in front of you, tired and ready for the room we booked in advance, with the discount showing on the computer. . . customer service at a place like this should always be paramount in my opinion.

Room Tip: Pay attention to the bathroom setup of your room. I'm not sure if they're all as awkward as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Martin Mason is one of our favorites when we visit Deadwood. The management has been great when outside influences (black hills reservations) have caused a few problems. The staff has been very helpful and courteous. The rooms are a great change of pace from the norm. The beds are the best I have slept in away from home. In several stays with them I have yet to have an experience other than fantastic. I highly recommend this historic hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Ok so full disclosure, I have not stayed here yet, so take this review for what it's worth...a review on customer service over the phone.

I travel a lot...in fact as much as I possibly can. I do whatever I can to save, and when I am "home" we don't do much in our neck of the woods because I am always thinking about my next adventure...my next roadtrip masterpiece if you will.

While it's only January now, in planning our next trip (April-May) I came across the Martin Mason. Naturally of course, I was blown away by the reviews and the concept itself. Not originally planning on staying on Deadwood, most of trip had been flushed out, once I learned about the place I was really convinced adjustments needed to be made and I needed to work the M.M. into our trip and into our budget, which was a bit of a tall order in that I have already booked a few places that were more than we typically spend while traveling (look for those reviews in late May-we really picked some great digs for this next trip!!!). Anyway in dealing with so many people in the hospitality industry occasionally I am really impressed and I like to make that known. I do this because I want to share my knowledge with other travelers, but I also do it to try and offset the fact that it's human nature for us to complain more than praise. I think we have all done it. When someone does something nice for us, were thankful but forget quicker than when someone isn't nice or does something we perceive as "shady". A good example would be how I can still remember in Arkansas this terrible checkout situation at a chain hotel but can't for the life of me think of where I got amazing customer service that far back. Well this is something I won't forget, and I want to share this review now at a time it might be helpful to others planning there Spring and Summer visits to Deadwood and surrounds.

So getting back on track here, I saw a promotion that went through April of 2013 which discounted the rooms fairly significantly to where it would be in our budget to stay here on our upcoming trip. The only problem was, while we are in the area for 4 days (the last full day being May 1st-which is also my girlfriends 39th birthday) to take advantage of the deal in April I would have had to switch around reservations made for Custer and for Badlands NP. I would also have to do the trip in such a pattern that was inefficient given where we are coming from before we get in the area and where we are going next... I was reluctant to call because as a small business owner, I know everyone asks for exceptions and it can get out of hand sometimes. Sure enough, I called and got great customer service from the lady I spoke with, but I knew I needed to speak with someone else and that was fine. Because the person who answered (I forgot the nice ladies name-unfortunately it was VERY early in the day) was so nice, I wasn't discouraged and felt like my decision to try and ask for an exception was something I should follow up on. I agreed I would call back later (I didn't want to leave a message but instead call back later in the day). Sure enough, when I called later (again, nice and friendly service) I got to speak with Melanie as she was going to be the decision maker. I started to explain my situation and she was so warm, friendly and understanding I felt so great about this decision to stay here that I would somehow find the funds to stay here if I couldn't get the discount. Fortunately though, that wasn't necessary because she granted my exception and we are now booked. More importantly than the discount though was THE GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE!!! She was helpful in other aspects of the conversation discussing where to eat, etc. I was blown away!!!!!! When discussing the room she even said if on the day of check in they have availability they will try and offer me a free upgrade!!! While that would be nice, it's not something we need...we are just happy to be staying here and giving our business to place that really wants it and has, in my opinion, already earned it!!!

I am sorry that I had to take so many words to convey this, and I don't like writing reviews when I have yet to stay some place but I really think this situation warranted it. Now I hope and pray I have not encouraged people to ask this nice lady for special scenarios, but if you do need special care I am confident this hotel is much better than your standard run of the mill lodging... As for the stay, I will definitely be reporting back on that after we return in May.

Room Tip: Stay here, something tells me you will be glad you did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you so very much for the wonderful review! It is always very rewarding to know that seasoned travelers understand our goal to provide special care to our guests. It means so much to us that you would take the time to share your thoughts with others. We will be here to make your stay comfortable in every way and we wish you safe travels until your arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at the Martin Mason Hotel, and it hasn't changed our opinion. The furnishings and decor were charming, but the functionality was lacking. The bathroom sink, which is in the room itself, had separate hot and cold faucets (not just handles) that were on opposite sides of the sink so you could not get a warm water flow. There was no exhaust fan in the bathroom. The tub was quite large and comfortable to soak in, though the shower curtain rod was only a small circle of that so you had shower curtain sticking to you throughout your shower. The room was 50 degrees when we checked in, there were only two hangers in the wardrobe, and

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
It is unfortunate that you did not express your concerns while you were here as, when rooms are available, we have upgraded our guests. One of our beautiful suites was available over New Years Eve and since I was in the hotel during your stay, I would have made that decision. It is always best in small hotels to make an effort to communicate, as in our case, it is our goal to make every guest as comfortable as possible. I would have truly enjoyed helping to make your stay perfect.

To address your concerns: The shower/tub in room #11 is designed to actually leave the curtain toward the shower open so it doesn't need to touch you. The tub is so large that water does not splash out. We are sorry you didn't understand our efforts. We hope you enjoyed the bath salts and bubble bath we provide for the large tub as it is quite luxurious.

The sink in the room is designed to be ADA compliant. It is an original sink to the building.

My response below was from the review you wrote over a year ago and apparently applies to your current concerns:

"We realize that no hotel is right for every person, as everyone’s expectations are different. We pride ourselves on our great staff and we thank you for your comments

For clarification, our hotel was restored under National Historic Preservation Guidelines and we used the original bathroom fixtures in the restoration, as required. Our goal was to give our guests the experience of staying in a hotel of the 1893 period when water mixing valves were not available. Also, instead of installing noisy electric motors in each bathroom, we chose to vent all bathrooms through a rooftop unit so each bathroom has continuous and silent ventilation.

We are confident that we have the best and most historically accurate hotel in Deadwood and we welcome every comment of every guest. Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts so we can improve, as it is always our goal to make our guests time with us, perfect in every way. "

Now that we have honored a non-refundable deposit for your rally reservation, which you canceled, we hope that you have a better stay the next time you come to Deadwood. It would be our suggestion that you try one of the large hotels without the historic character of the Martin & Mason, as they apparently will please your sensitive taste and satisfy your needs better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Surprised my wife on her birthday with a trip to Deadwood. Getting there was half the fun and once we arrived at MM we felt like we had arrived in a simpler time. Everything was amazing--the room decor was like staying in a museum (in a good way), delicious snacks were available in the hallway, the friendly staff was more than accommodating, and the birthday champagne on ice in the room was a great touch. A perfect home base for checking out Deadwood and the surrounding areas!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We are so happy when we read such wonderful reviews! We're glad you understand our idea of stepping back in time and that your time with us was "perfect". Please return to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just had to stay here after watching the TV series “Deadwood” and loved the history of the place (as well as the town). Wanted to stay in Sanderson as it had a sitting area but it was already booked for our first night so we stayed in Lucy Ann (even the sheets were red) for that night thereby getting the opportunity to experience more of the hotel. Both rooms were at the far end of the corridor so quiet and both had huge walk in showers which is our preference. The ladies in the ‘cage’ where you check-in were very helpful and had a lot of local knowledge and were happy to make dinner reservations for us. We enjoyed the coffee and scones each morning (if you want a full breakfast there is always the Lee Street Station Cafe) as well as the biscuits and chocolates in the afternoon. There was complementary water and sodas in a fridge in the hall too. Whilst it did not detract from our stay I do feel that it is a shame that the entrance is through a casino. I know this is the same for most hotels in Deadwood and it is the proceeds which funds the restoration of the historical district - yet it still has a slightly sleazy feel. It would be so much more fun if it was a more old-style casino rather than rows of ‘slots’. In any event, we would absolutely stay here again as it made a welcome change from all the run-of-the-mill chain hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are very glad that your stay with us was "a unique experience" as that is our ultimate goal. We want every guest to remember the time they spent at the Martin & Mason and we hope that you have the chance to return sometime in the near future. In the meantime....happy travels and thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Martin Mason Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin Mason Hotel

Address: 33 Deadwood Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin Mason Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Martin & Mason is a beautiful, quiet, historical hotel centrally located in Deadwood. All rooms have Victorian era antique lighting and furniture. Beds and bedding are the most comfortable in South Dakota. Scones, tea and coffee are served each morning to our guests. Our staff caters to guests every need. Weddings and special events are our specialty in our ballroom and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Martin Mason Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martin Mason Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.