We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Enjoyed Our Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Martin Mason Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Martin Mason Hotel to your Saves list
Martin Mason Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Deadwood Street, Deadwood, SD 57732   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really Enjoyed Our Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The room was wonderfully decorated in the style I would expect for Deadwood. The bed was very, very comfortable. Everything was very clean. The scones were delicious and the staff was very friendly and accomodating. Really liked that it was just off the main street so wasn't as noisy. We loved, loved, loved staying here. It is pricey.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    19
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
82
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Casper, Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Cool old hotel. The bed was so comfortable and the service was great. The complimentary soda and water in the floor plus the coffee and scones in the morning are an awesome touch. Have stayed a lot if places in deadwood but so far I think this is my favorite.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We wanted to stay somewhere a little different to the chains that are in the area and this hotel delivered just what we were looking for. The room (#1) we had was fantastic. Beautifully decorated, large and very clean. Is an old building and the character has been preserved and built upon very well. Only stayed one night in Deadwood but would not hesitate to stay here again. Very short walk to the vast majority of Deadwood attractions and right over the street from the museum. Staff were brilliant and very accommodating. If you're looking for somewhere a bit different but still offering great value for money then this is your place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Love the privacy, the old-time atmosphere and espcially the spicy lady serving breakfast.
Beds were great, very fine & clean linens. Good coffee in the morning. The tile work in the bathroom is very nice. Very accomodating hotel staff.

Room Tip: Sanderson suite 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We and another couple recently stayed at the Martin Mason and thoroughly enjoyed it. The rooms are beautifully furnished in period, newly remodeled with modern amenities,exceptionally clean and welcoming. Don't miss the morning scones! Excellent! The staff was delightful, and went out of their way to graciously resolve an issue to our very great satisfaction. We all highly recommend the Martin Mason to anyone looking for upscale lodging in Deadwood.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

If you are lucky enough to get one of the eight rooms at the Martin Mason Hotel, then don't leave! :) My husband and I stayed in the Mason Suite (rooms 7&8) on August 18th and 19th and it was just spectacular. The hotel is stunning and the suite was perfect. Both my husband and I kept saying that it just felt like home. The sheets were super soft, the pillows were perfectly fluffy and the shower was wonderful. Mona, the hotel manager, was just a delight. All of her recommendations were wonderful. The scones and coffee out in the morning were a nice touch, but save room for the delicious breakfast in the diner downstairs. We will definitely be back just to stay in the hotel. It was a spectacular experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Altough a little pricy, Martin Mason Hotel is one of the good historic hotels in town and we enjoyed our one night stay very much. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Just the "shower" (consisting of a free standing bath tube without shower curtains) was a little special as you had to be very careful to not make everything wet... A highlight is the ceeling in the ground floor (altough a replica, it's shiny and cool). The Hotel also provides soft drinks and afternoon tea and bisquits for free.

Deadwood's a great place to stay and Martin Mason is certainly one of the really good places to stay if you are looking for a speciality hotel (not just the normal motel or hotel chain). If you choose a hotel chain, then Holiday Inn seems to be on a good spot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Martin Mason Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin Mason Hotel

Address: 33 Deadwood Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin Mason Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Martin & Mason is a beautiful, quiet, historical hotel centrally located in Deadwood. All rooms have Victorian era antique lighting and furniture. Beds and bedding are the most comfortable in South Dakota. Scones, tea and coffee are served each morning to our guests. Our staff caters to guests every need. Weddings and special events are our specialty in our ballroom and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Martin Mason Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martin Mason Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.