We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying in a museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martin Mason Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Martin Mason Hotel to your Saves list
Martin Mason Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Deadwood Street, Deadwood, SD 57732   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Like staying in a museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Staying here was such a treat! The whole town of Deadwood is so quaint and historic, it makes you feel that you are being transported to the 1800's. Well, except for the ubiquitous casinos, but at least they are not in your face like in Vegas. Anyway, the Martin Mason is a small boutique hotel, about 10 rooms, and was lovingly restored to its original glory, or maybe better. The lobby has thick flowered carpetting, highly polished wodd and brass and a stamped tin ceiling. We stayed in the Elisha/Eliza Current suite and it was gorgeous--all antique furnishings, but with a good a/c system and flat screen TV. The sink was in the bedroom, which was weird, but this room has a separate bathroom with tub/shower, many of the rooms have the tub in the bedroom as well. The Elisha/Eliza Current room looks like they took 2 smaller rooms and combined them, so the room is quite large. We just loved the historic feeling, creaky floors and all. Bed was great. There are also some small details that set this place apart--a very helpful staff, complimentary water and soft drinks in a fridge on the landing, fresh baked shortbread cookies in the evening and fresh coffee and scones in the morning. If you need a lot of amenities, go stay in one of the casino hotels, but if you want a completely unique hotel experience, this is a great place. We really loved Deadwood and only wish we had planned to stay there another day or so, as there is a lot of history here and plenty of stuff to do in the area.

Room Tip: If the tub in the bedroom bothers you, be sure to get a room that has a totally separate bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    22
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
23
86
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williston, North Dakota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I first stayed at Martin Mason Hotel in May and again for my son's wedding on July 21st of this year. The staff and owner were the best - willing to go 110% to help make our son's wedding smooth and beautiful. They helped Brandon and Carale find photographers, cake decorators, etc for the whole wedding and the food for the rehearsal and reception was best. They let us rent the banquet room for the rehearsal as they were married at Chapel in the Hills and could not rehearse there. We were amazed at how fast everyone went through the food line at the reception. The food in the restaurant downstairs is so good and the staff there entertaining. Rooms were clean. I cannot give enough kudos to everyone working at Martin Mason. I have stayed at several hotels at Deadwood and this is definately the best especially for a wedding/reception. The wedding party and friends and family enjoyed staying in Deadwood and checking out all the sights in the hills. Great place for a wedding. We had 140 people that came for the rehearsal supper and around 40 for the rehearsal supper and it all went so smooth. I cannot thank Martin Mason enough for all they did for us - it was a beautiful wedding and reception.
Cindy G (Williston, ND)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Mona, Melanie, Blake, Tami and all of the staff at the Martin Mason Hotel - I can't say enough of the wonderful people at the hotel. It is like a family reunion for us when we stay there. I first stayed at the hotel in May because my daughter and future son-in-law had booked it for their wedding reception for July 21. I was in aww to walk into their rooms and to see the the ball room for the first time. Along with other family members I've done some family genealogy and the hotel just fits in with the family history. The wedding ceremony was at the Chaple in the Hills in Rapid City and the reception and dance in the 1898 Ball Room at the Martin Mason. Plus the wedding party booked the 2nd floor for the Wednesday thru Saturday of the wedding week. The staff bent over backwards for us from the coffee and warm scones, clean rooms, the rehersal dinner meal, reception open bar and meal, the elegant beautiful decorated ball room for the reception. Our wedding guest were treated so gracious also. I could go on and on about what a beautiful place, and wonderful people they are. Even the price was reasonable for as elegant as the hotel is - I give it 100 plus thumps up!! :). I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone. I have mention to several people just to go on their web site and look at the rooms and ballroom - the pictures almost capture it all.

Kate from North Dakota

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
We are the ones that should be giving thanks for the opportunity to work with such a great group of wonderful people! We are so glad that we could be helpful in making your event everything you wanted it to be, but honestly, when you start with a group such as yours, how could we go wrong? Our entire staff thinks you are the best! It was truly our pleasure to work with you all! Thanks for the great review and please come back to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My wife and I spent four days at the Martin & Mason Hotel in Deadwood and loved every minute of it. The hotel is well restored and is similar to what it would have been at the turn of the 20th century, but it does have electric power, AC and bathroom facilities. There is also a small casino on the first floor (Slot machines only). If there is a better place to stay in Deadwood, I would be surprised. The entire staff and the owner (Melonie) were friendly, attentive to requests and provided excellent service. They have earned their number one status with trip advisor. Each of the eight hotel rooms is different and each has its own character. We stayed in room 11 and it was very comfortable. The Lee Street Station downstairs serves breafast and lunch and is very good. The hotel is a few hundred yards from downtown Deadwood. The Deadwood Social Club (recommended by the Staff) served very good food at a reasonable price. The hotel is conveniently located to places you want to see. 1 hour plus to Devils Tower, Wyoming; 1.5 hours to the Badlands; Less than 1 hour to Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse and Custer State Park. If you are in to motorcycles, it is only a few miles from Sturgis. If you go to the Black Hills, stay at the Martin & Mason Hotel. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Each room is different. Check with hotel to select what is best for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are always so pleased when we know that we have achieved our goal of making each guest's experience with us perfect. It is especially nice that you took the time to share your thoughts here. We hope that your travels bring you back to Deadwood sometime and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed at the Martin Mason Hotel for two nights this summer on our first ever trip to Deadwood. We both had a romantic, somewhat antiquated notion of what Deadwood would be like, and the Martin Mason lived up to that ideal more than any other aspect of the town. It really is more than a hotel--it's a rich cultural experience for anyone interested in the Old West or the history of the Western U.S., more generally. With plenty of chain hotels in town, Martin Mason is doing more than its part to preserve the history of Deadwood.

That said, the hotel is a wonderful place to stay as a guest, as well. The rooms are comfortable. The staff is warm, genuine, and helpful. The scones and coffee available for free in the common area outside the rooms are perfect for a lazy morning. The restaurant downstairs has incredible food (the breakfast burrito is one of the best I've ever had). What a treasure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for the great review! We are so thankful when guests understand and appreciate, as you so eloquently state, our effort to "capture the magic and history of Deadwood". That is, after all, what this town is all about, and it is our pleasure to share it! We're happy that your time with us was enjoyable and we welcome your return sometime in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I had my wedding ceremony at the Martin & Mason. The staff was very helpful and flexible. It was a bit pricy for just a little use but they handled everything and did a great job. Our room was beautiful that we got ready in, I think it was suite 5? Huge living room area, kitchenette, and bedroom. It's got a great location in downtown Deadwood and makes it easy for people to walk around without needing the trolly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
We are glad that you chose our venue for your beautiful wedding. We truly enjoy hosting special events. Our best pricing is derived by an entire evening's use in conjunction with the rental of our eight hotel rooms. It was our pleasure to provide you a memorable wedding and we thank you for taking the time to write a nice review. We wish you the best and hope to see you again here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My husband and I own our own motel in Gordon, NE. So we were very impressed by the wonderful stay we had at the Martin Mason Hotel this past weekend. We walked in and a very sweet lady named Jen checked us in and made us feel like we were VIPs...it was so great. She showed us to our Suite which was by far the classiest and unique room we have ever stayed in. All the antiques made the rooms so romantic and took us back in time.
Being in the hotel/motel industry we always check out the comfort of the beds as the main and most important asset. We were so in love with the large King sz bed...it was like sleeping on air. I would give it 5 stars.
We went to the mainstreet concert that evening with Rick Springfield...so great. We then went back to the hotel and played some slots and turned in.
In the morning we were given fresh coffee and scones ( which were great) and then we had our whole family meet us for breakfast in the Lee Street Station restaurant downstairs...we all ate outside because the day was so beautiful....the food was great ....staff outstanding and friendly...by far a great experience. My husband and I have never had such a fabulous experience. We will stay at the Martin Mason Hotel every time we stay in Deadwood from now on...We really had that much fun!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Owner at Martin Mason Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences about your stay with us. It is our most important goal to make our guests feel like VIP's at the Martin Mason Hotel and when a guest writes a great review we all love it! Our entire staff enjoys hearing about the things people enjoy about the hotel and their time in Deadwood. Expressing appreciation for the little things they do just makes us all want to do more..... so a huge thank you for your review and we look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.1 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.1 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 stars 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cadillac Jacks Gaming Resort
0.0 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#17 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin Mason Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin Mason Hotel

Address: 33 Deadwood Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin Mason Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Martin & Mason is a beautiful, quiet, historical hotel centrally located in Deadwood. All rooms have Victorian era antique lighting and furniture. Beds and bedding are the most comfortable in South Dakota. Scones, tea and coffee are served each morning to our guests. Our staff caters to guests every need. Weddings and special events are our specialty in our ballroom and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Martin Mason Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martin Mason Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.