We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hit and miss” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Lil's

Diamond Lil's
677 Main St, The Midnight Star Casino, Deadwood, SD 57732-1122
605-578-3550
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 51 Restaurants in Deadwood
Price range: $5 - $14
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
North Dakota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“hit and miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

we have stopped in here many times through the years. we travel to deadwood 3-5 times a year. its a neat place to sit at the old bar and have a drink, and if you are a movie buff there are many movie items (costner movies) on the wall. the food is hit or miss in our experience though. the last time we went (july 2013) we had the no way out beef nachos and they were very good. other times, not so much. but like i said, a anice place to sit and have a cold one, or two.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    61
    25
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A great restaurant in Deadwood, SD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had lunch here before we went on a bus tour of Deadwood. Kevin Costner owns the casino, restaurant and bus tour company. We enjoyed looking at the Costner memorabilia on the walls in the restaurant. I had a steak dinner and it was delicious and the steak was cooked perfectly. Husband had the buffalo burger and said it was very good. Our waiter was very friendly and attentive. We purchased our bus tour tickets before we ate and it included two 20% off coupons for the restaurant which we used. We would recommend this restaurant

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great chicken gumbo!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Husband and I stopped for dinner on our last night in Deadwood. Weren't looking for a huge meal, so this fit the bill. And we had a 20% off one item coupon from taking their bus tour earlier in the day (they honored both our coupons for our two tour tickets). We started with calamari strips appetizer. Decent, not overcooked. DH enjoyed his pizza. Didn't rave, but didn't dislike it either. And he ate the whole smaller size himself so it couldn't have been bad. I ordered the trout burger and soup of the day chicken gumbo. This isn't a fish sandwich like McD's or BL, it's a trout burger. Kind of weirded me out at first, but it was pretty good. Moist. Better than the aforementioned establishments. Would get it again. Really enjoyed their chicken gumbo. Wasn't NOLA gumbo, but a nice, spicier chicken tomato-ish soup, that had a nice heat without being overpowering. Service was fast and friendly.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cohasset, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“movie buff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

if your a kevin costner fan this is the place to go and just because he owns it. through out the place there is costumes from his movies. the food was good and so was the service.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Must stop on the way through Deadwood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Our family was looking for a place to eat and couldn't find a decent place that wasn't a casino or bar in Deadwood and asked a random tour guide director where to eat, and she told us to go up these stairs and you will find where the locals eat. The stairs/glass door had no info on it so we had no idea until we walked in that it was Kevin C. restaurant. Really good food and the atmosphere was awesome if you are a fan. Movie costumes on the walls, posters, etc. Even the menu uses wording from movies. Great place to lunch and very affordable. The only bad thing is don't wait for Kevin C. to come in, we asked the waiter if he ever comes in, he says he has worked there for 2 years and never has seen him. Bummer.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diamond Lil's also viewed

 

Been to Diamond Lil's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamond Lil's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.