We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We never want to leave here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Horse Inn

Save Saved
You added Iron Horse Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Iron Horse Inn
27 Deadwood Street, Deadwood, SD 57732   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Parking!
Ranked #18 of 22 hotels in Deadwood
Richland Center, WI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We never want to leave here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Comfort, quality, value, hospitality, location - the Iron Horse has it all. Planning a last minute trip to Deadwood (during the final Sturgis Rally weekend no less), we were so thankful to get the large Queen corner room #308. We stayed 9 nights and just hated to leave. We've stayed in several great rooms at the Iron Horse over the past few years, but think we have a new favorite. It was spacious, beautifully decorated, with huge windows to let the sun in as it rises over Mt Moriah (or shades that completely block it out if you'd rather sleep late), a ceiling fan that combined with the AC to keep us comfortably cool in the hot weather, and soft comfy bedding. The sheets were thick but very soft, and when combined with the lightweight down comforter, ensured a peaceful sleep. The bath towels were heavy, soft, and smelled wonderful. Even in the height of the summer tourist season (with Rally bikes), our room was absolutely quiet - we were amazed we couldn't hear the traffic and noise from outside, yet we had a great view of the street and outdoor patio of the Wooden Nickel. During our stay, the staff was replacing older TV sets with new flat screens.

Ah - the staff... Owners Mike and Cynthia, and their entire staff are the most amazing group of people! Even after a couple weeks of nonstop Rally visitors, they were still as accommodating and cheerful as ever. Most of them hadn't had a day off in weeks but you would've never known it. The first weekend we were there, they staged the 5th annual Corn Fest, which was a huge success, but added to their already heavy workloads.

There are 4 entities that share space on this block - Iron Horse Inn, Martin & Mason Hotel, Wooden Nickel Casino, and Lee Street Station Cafe'. All the employees work together like a family for the benefit of everyone. They're all very involved in community activities and treat their guests like old friends. We come to Deadwood to relax and forget about the stress of our daily lives back home, and we love to wander around town. But without a doubt, we are the happiest and most relaxed when we're back at the Iron Horse and spend most of our time here, by far.

We normally visit in the winter so it was an incredible treat being able to spend every day/night on the patio of the Wooden Nickel, a fantastic spot to people-watch! There are several tables and chairs, many with large umbrellas, so you can eat breakfast, lunch or dinner out there courtesy of the Lee Street Station Cafe'. Or you can just relax in the beautiful weather with a beverage of your choice. There's also an indoor bar with a large screen TV, and we loved their choice of music playing throughout the gaming areas. Wi-Fi is available throughout and there are sitting areas with huge couches and chairs and wonderful period furnishings. The Wi-Fi can be a bit spotty in some of the hotel rooms, but always works fine in the lounge areas. I also noticed they have a Business Center set up near the check-in desk for anyone needing to use a computer, printer, fax, etc...

Each visit here is better than the last and we can't wait to plan our next one!

Room Tip: You get to see the sun rise perfectly in Room 308 (at least in the summer).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael T, Owner at Iron Horse Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for being our guest. I will pass your compliments on to our staff, as they deserve the most of the credit for your pleasant stay with us. We enjoyed hosting you and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    13
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
5
22
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Thanks to all the warm and wonderful staff of the Iron Horse! The rooms, staff and location all exceeded our expectations. We are looking forward to coming back and seeing our new friends again at the IHI. We just wish the slots had been as friendly :-)

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael T, Owner at Iron Horse Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
My father "never met a stranger." We try to bring his philosophy to our little hotel. When you enter, you are a friend that we have not yet met. We strive that everyone leaves a "friend." Thank you for your kind words, and we hope to see you again soon! (P.S. the slots are out of our control!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great location just one tiny block away from Main Street - I felt completely safe. Nice cafe inside for food and a small casino. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The place looked historic and the rooms were much larger than I expected. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael T, Owner at Iron Horse Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. Our boutique hotel has but 19 rooms, so our staff can spend ample time with each guest. We take great pride in our staff's "friendliness," and I will pass on your compliment! Many of our guests comment on the short 1 block walk to Main Street, along with our adjacent free parking. The converted hotel use of our historic building made for rooms of varying sizes. We are glad that your room exceeded your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missour
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I liked the idea of staying right in downtown Deadwood just one block off of the main street, without paying a fortune to stay there. The Iron Horse Inn filled the bill. Check-in was painless, quick and the hostess was very pleasant. Elevator or stairs to your room, hallways are a little narrow, room was clean, very high ceiling, room has a ceiling fan, which is very nice. It kept the room cool at night without running the A/C, which is a little loud. Ice machine didn't work on the second night, when I informed the staff, they gave me some ice from the bar and posted signs to tell people that they could get ice at the bar. Old, yes. The whole town of Deadwood is old. The owners of the Iron Horse do a good job of keeping the place up and making sure customers are happy. I'll probably stay there again if I get back to Deadwood. Also, they have a restaurant in the hotel, which I like.

Room Tip: Parking lot is a little small, so could be kind of tricky to park if you have a bigger vehicle. Car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael T, Owner at Iron Horse Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for being our guest, and for your kind words. We try to keep our room rates affordable for all of our guests at all times of the year. With no "chain" affiliation, we can pass the franchising fee savings onto our guests. My wife gets all of the credit for the room cleanliness, and I will pass on to her your compliment. I am glad you were able to satisfy your ice needs downstairs. The repairman reported that the second floor machine had could not keep up with the demand on the night in question. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

It was a hoot to stay here. We ordered a room with a bathtub, which has water jets - not quite a whirlpool, but relaxing just the same. The rooms are small, but this is expected, because it is a historic building. The appointments in the hotel area are mostly authentic to the historic theme of the place. It was cozy and was a fun room to stay in. If you aren't aware, there are casinos all throughout Deadwood, including in the lobby of the Iron Horse Inn. It was nice to stay within walking distance of the entire town, and all the attractions it has to offer. We may choose the Iron Horse Inn again for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael T, Owner at Iron Horse Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. Our rooms are of various shapes and sizes due to the rennovated "hotel use" of our turn of the century building. No chain hotel "standard" rooms here! But all are nice, clean, and reasonably priced. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

All other hotels were either booked of very expensive due to the marathon that weekend, so we chose this place as it was available and cheaper than others. Very old hotel, but nicely remodeled. Off of main street so it's not so noisy, but still close enough to be right in the action. My wife and I were there for our anniversary and the marathon and staff at the hotel were about as friendly as they could have been. Definitely didn't have the larger chain hotel feel, will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael T, Owner at Iron Horse Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, and for staying with us over the Deadwood Marathon. We try to keep our room rates affordable even during our busy summer season and event weekends. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My huband and I just spent our first weeekend at the Iron Hourse Inn. We had the greatest time and will always refer family and friends here. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and our view was amazing. This hotel is downtown so you don't have to worry about driving. It also has it's own off street parking (free). Another great part about the Iron Horse is the people. They are very genuine so no "fake-nice" service here. We actually sat and visited with Mike and his staff for several hours on a rainy afternoon. They treat you like old friends. Stop by the attached Lee Street Diner where you will meet Tammy. She will keep you laughing. Can't wait to come back

Room Tip: Room 301. Corner room with nice view. Comfortable bed and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iron Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Inn

Address: 27 Deadwood Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freshly restored and affordable historic rooms located one block from the center of downtown Main Street in Deadwood South Dakota. Free parking in adjacent lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Iron Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iron Horse Hotel Deadwood
Hickoks Iron Horse Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iron Horse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.