We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deadwood Alive

Deadwood Alive
PO Box 190, 715 Main Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
+(1)605-484-0338(1)605-484-0338
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 17 Activities in Deadwood
Type: Amusement
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Witness the infamous trial of the man who killed Wild Bill Hickok. Six nights a week (no shows on Sundays). Memorial Day weekend through September 20, 2014. The capture of Jack McCall takes place in front of the Old Style Saloon No. 10 at 7:30 PM. The Trial of Jack McCall takes place at the historic Masonic Temple next to the Silverado at 8:00 PM.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

love love love this. We have been going for 4 year and enjoy every time they do one of the street show. They give a little bit of history with every show. The kids love to be part of the show. They also put on a great music show during the day. They are a great group of men and some n to put on such a wonderful performance. I think everyone should stop and see them. Take a step back in the wild west and see the history.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deadwoodrose, Board Member at Deadwood Alive, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful and enthusiastic review of Deadwood Alive! We hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    3
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Normally I wouldnt Rate this Attraction BUT...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

These guys and girl (Calamity Jane) were all really good. They roamed the streets during the day and even though I dont have any kids I always saw them interacting with the kids on the street and I was pretty impressed. The "sheriff" said hello to my girlfriend and I ever single day. To me they went above and beyond with their level of service and represented the City of Deadwood admirably. An attraction like this runs the risk of being a joke pretty quick but I think Deadwood has a good crew.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deadwoodrose, Public Relations Manager at Deadwood Alive, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for your very kind review of Deadwood Alive and the reenactors on Deadwood Main Street. These actors really enjoy their work!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh,UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A great addition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The street shows by the gunslingers really did add to the sense of history and were entertaining. The cast made a real effort and interacted with spectators. We went to one of the street shoot outs, the assassination of wild bill hicock, the capture of jack McColl and the music session they performed in the bullock hotel. All were entertaining. Worth including in your visit and absolutely free. If you wish you can see the trial of jack McColl at night for $5 per person.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deadwoodrose, Public Relations Manager at Deadwood Alive, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for posting such a wonderful review of the Deadwood Alive shootouts and the musical entertainment. The cast enjoys interacting with the visitors, and they work hard to bring good quality shows to Historic Main Street. We are happy you enjoyed it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

"The Trial of Jack McCall" is the best entertainment for your money anywhere. It is billed as the longest running play in the USA. It has been around for a long time for good reason. It is very entertaining for a very low price. The audience participation is hilarious and I would have gone back for another show the next night if I would have had longer to stay in Deadwood. If you are going to South Dakota, you should go to Deadwood. It is a great place to visit. If you are in Deadwood, you must not miss this show.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deadwoodrose, Public Relations Manager at Deadwood Alive, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review the Trial of Jack McCall. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru
Top Contributor
438 reviews 438 reviews
283 attraction reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
278 helpful votes 278 helpful votes
“Recreation of Old Western town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The deadwood is a historically significant city, with Victorian Architecture. The city has lot of Saloons, Gambling establishments and dance halls. The whole city was destroyed by fire in 1879.
The city retains its old beauty. TAKING A WALK in the busy area is a very enjoyable experience.
The cobbled stone pathway is also redone to recreate the old style. lots of trails fun in the black hills starts at Deadwood.
We just walked into a casino and played for sometime. Had a pleasant evening walking along the beautiful woods.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deadwoodrose, Public Relations Manager at Deadwood Alive, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time in historic Deadwood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deadwood Alive also viewed

 

Been to Deadwood Alive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deadwood Alive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.