We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penny Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Deadwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Penny Motel
Save
You added Penny Motel to your Saves list
818 Main Street, Deadwood, SD 57732   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Deadwood B&B and Inns
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here in rm #1. We were lucky to book the last vacancy. It was by far the best room we stayed in during our 4 night vacation in the area (and we stayed in the deadwood & keystone area). The room was perfectly quaint. I loved everything about it, right down to the carpeting& regular spring mattress! But my FAVORITE thing about this cozy little place is you need an actual key to open the door!! We will definitely stay here again!! The Penny Motel made the last night of our vacation a great one. Thanks so much from C&D in Torrington, Wyoming!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    20
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hannibal, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed 4 nights in the Penny Motel on a motorcycle trip to the Black Hills. They let us check in early when we got there and everyone of the people that works there was very nice and helpful with anything we needed or asked about. Each day as we took off to ride someone wished us a safe and enjoyable day. When we returned to our room it was clean and just a short walk down town for a little night life in Deadwood. The trolley drivers will stop right in front of your room when you come back to the motel. We had a wonderful stay and would reccomend this motel to others traveling on motorcycles.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

I stayed in the across-the-street annex to the motel, so can't comment on the rooms of the motel itself. My room was quite large with an interesting choice (for Deadwood) of a leopard/African motif. The room was not as clean as I would have liked; I realize that there will be some wear, but it might be time to replace the carpet. The cleaning altogether seemed to be rather cursory, and the bed wasn't terrifically comfortable. One of the side lamps had a broken bulb. The staff seemed quite helpful and friendly, and the location is a nice little walk to the center strip.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posttoastee, Owner at Penny Motel, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
Everyone has differing sensibilities and are entitled to an opinion. I'm sorry if you felt the room was not up to your standards. We are a small establishment that caters to guests that like to stay in a place that is smaller, friendlier and different from the 'box' hotels. If I am remembering correctly, you were part of a larger tour group that stayed with us. The other guests seemed quite happy with the accommodations. I'm not sure how the bulb in the side lamp got broke, but it was repaired as soon as we were made aware of it. The room you stayed in is actually the most popular room we have. The carpeting is not new, but it is clean and in no way in need of replacing. In fact, your room, just like all of our other 14 rooms was meticulously cleaned. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and our other reviews back that up, as well as comments from our new and returning guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

hi
i picked this place based on the recommendations from other reviewers. It was clean, has fridge, micro, large room with separate bathroom - love this.

I will stay here again,

Room Tip: go to the branch house across the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wannaska, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Coming in 'Late' through Thunderstorms and tornadoes... PENNY MOTEL left us a KEY so we wouldn't have to sleep in the car, EVEN THOUGH we were 2 hours late for check-in. THAT kind of 'Service' is UNHEARD OF in our day and age!!!
Good Service, 'Old-School' Values, Friendly folk (Birthday cake for breakfast???)...

GET OFF 'The Strip' and GET REAL!!!!

LOVE YOU GUYS!!! We Shall Return!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

Certainly nothing special, but very clean, convenient to downtown. Cozy(small) room without any frills. Kind of right out of the 50's, More character and half the price than the HI Expresses and Amercinns of Deadwood and the rest of the world. If you need a slot machine or bar, they aren't hard to find in Deadwood,

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

August 2010 - While the Penny Motel would not appeal to those looking for fancy, we found this motel to be a very charming old place. The location is a few blocks from town, too hot (105f) when we were there to walk, but far enough away from the hub that you had peace and quiet. We were on the main level with private entrance and parking outside the door. While it is definitely showing its' age, the front has a long cement veranda/patio w/umbrellas and we enjoyed sitting outside having a couple of drinks. The room was dated but had a/c and was quiet, clean and comfortable, and the owner & staff were friendly and accommodating. I think the Penny Motel is one of the better values in Deadwood and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Penny Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penny Motel

Address: 818 Main Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great value on Upper Main Street of Historic Deadwood. 5 minute walk to the legendary downtown area. Friendly staff & great accommodations including Trolley Service, High Speed Wi-Fi Access, Laundry Facilities, 2 Patios with gas grills, bike wash, Quaint, Quiet, Modern and CLEAN! Park by your room with our off-street parking. Casino and restaurant next door. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Penny Hotel Deadwood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penny Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.