We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be nice but failed.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Deadwood Dick's

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Deadwood Dick's to your Saves list
Deadwood Dick's
51 Sherman Street, Deadwood, SD 57732   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Deadwood
Cordova, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Could be nice but failed.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Quaint place. However the broken windows, smells and lack of safety outweigh the experience. We were there late fall and I killed over 100 flies during a one night stay. They know they have a problem that fixing/caulking the old windows would fix because there was fly spray and a fly swatter in the room. We stayed on the top floor and the elevator is the only direct way from the street to the room. In an old building the only way out in case of fire is out the window and down a metal ladder fire escape. Overall I can not recommend this motel at all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We are sorry you did not like our hotel. It is true, in the fall the flies and wasps try to obtain warmth and do get into the building, that is why we provide spray and swatters. Our building is safe. The metal ladder you speak of is an historic fire escape (not intended for modern-day use). We have current fire escape routes from every room. There is also a sprinkler system throughout the building which is maintained and checked regularly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    42
    13
    15
    15
See reviews for
26
85
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Grove, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Deadwood was our wedding destination. Deadwood Dick's is an awesome place to stay. Shopping in the antique store, eating(and drinking) in the bar/restaurant, and feeling like you have stepped back in time in the guest rooms. We stayed in room 407, which had a great view from the side window looking out over the street and downtown area. From the Overlook at Mt. Moriah Cemetery, you can look down and see the back side of Deadwood Dick's. We are going back again in 2013, and have already booked our stay. We just might see you there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Deadwood and at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Rake cold showers. Pro...it woke us right up after a night of partying. Con...who really wants a cold shower?
There is an old time elevator that is small, fun and unique, and a little scary. But if someone doesn't close the doors afed flag #1...prepayment of room required at booking (I can see why...because we would have canceled our next night if possible, but were locked in with no possibility of refund...good move on their part)
Red flag #2...Raid on counter ... Why? Flies in the bathroom. In dead of winter? Yes. I stepped on a dead fly on bathroom floor. And while using toilet, heard and saw three flies buzzing around.
Red flag #3...My husband and I both had to tter using it. Then it won't run. Unfortunately we had forgetful neighboring hotel guests, therefore got some excercise walking up the flights of stairs both nights. Not so fun after a late night and a few drinks.
Old time heater that makes banging noises all night. Small leak in bathroom. Sink slowly drained while brushing teeth.
The bed was comfy...but it is a thick memory form Matress topper on top Of older mattress.
The staff is friendly..we were escorted to our room. And we're a little late checking out which they were nice about.
The rooms were fairly clean.
It's old time atmosphere...but needs some work. I wouldn't recommend staying here unless you want an interesting experience or there are no other rooms available in Deadwood.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The location is one of the best in Deadwood. We stayed in the King room which was spacious and comfortable. We've stayed in historic hotels in other mountain towns and this is by far the best we have found in terms of comfort and space. The room was clean and spacious. The room is decorated with a historic feel. The parking is more convenient than other locations in Deadwood (and it's free), We did't have time to look at the antique stores in the bulding, but next time, we will make sure we're in town long enough to do some shopping.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you liked our hotel and the antique store.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Friendly staff and great location to Deadwood's main street. Lots of character in this hotel and clean and spacious rooms. The elevator and decor make you feel like you have stepped back in time. Free parking, pet friendly, outside eatery and if you like antiques this is the place. If you only like 5 star hotels then this isn't the place for you but if you want to experience the history of the town and have a unique experience then this is a great place to stay. Truly unique, I haven't stayed anywhere like it. Across the street is the wooden nickel and they had the best chicken fried steak breakfast of anywhere in town, its a must have once. Social club is a must for dinner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is nice to know we are achieving our goals in serving the customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This place is over 100 years old and has alot of character. The elevator was added in 1903 and doesn't exactly line up with the floor when entering or exiting. Rooms had a bit of a musty odour but it also exudes nostalgia. There is no air conditioning but the room had a 60 inch flatscreen complete with Direct TV.

The location is the highlight of this hotel and is centrally located to many attractions.

Room Tip: Every room is unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. Our elevator has a new motor, brakes and controller board. It now stops on each floor with exact precision. All of our rooms have air-conditioners. I am unsure of why you stated you did not have any. We hope you come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
340 helpful votes 340 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

If you want to go with the theme of the town, we definitely recommend you stay here. The staff are funny and real. The other customers are down to earth. Their logo is hilarious. Stepping in here, you feel like you stepped into a bit of the way it used to be.

Yes, the halls had a bit of a musty spell at first, but that is due to the old building and many old objects in it. It really felt like it was a step back in time. The elevator is this old thing that has the metal gates on it and you can see each floor passing by. To us, this was part of the charm. It never broke down on us, so we must have gotten lucky with the guests remembering to close the outside door. The antique store throughout the whole building was something you could spend lots of time just exploring. It was fun to watch the kiddos have an ice cream while grandma and mom tried out the slots here. BTW: I put in $20 and left with $80 in about 1/2 hour. Grandma lost her $20.

The suite (more like a mini apartment) we had was nice. There were two separate rooms with king size beds in each and a couch in the living room. There was also a mini kitchen and bathroom. All of the suite was clean and comfy. There was only one TV in our unit, in one of the bedrooms, so that might be tough if you are having more than one couple stay here that might each want a TV.

The building is only about a block from the main street and we easily walked to the main street to watch the shows and then again once the kiddos and MIL were getting ready for bed to check out the casinos in the area.

Deadwood was a really fun town and we found plenty to do with the kiddos. Plus, we got to enjoy some time with just my hubby and me downtown after hours on a trip that had a lot of otherwise early nights and mornings. It was a nice break from the otherwise hectic cross country road trip that we were on these two weeks. Don't be afraid to come here with kids. They have a great attraction at the Broken Boot Gold Mine, where the kids can pan for gold. Also, my boys loved the show at Saloon 10 about Wild Bill. We even ended up going to the trial and each of us played a part in the show at some point, except for the MIL. Deadwood was definitely a fun time for all, and Deadwood Dick's was just one aspect of this theme.

PS: There is a community pool just down the street if you kids need to swim, but we did not have the time the one night we were here.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the comments of our guests and hope everyone has a great time in Deadwood and and is completely satisfied with our hotel and its amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Deadwood Dick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deadwood Dick's

Address: 51 Sherman Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Deadwood
#9 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
#13 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
National Historic Landmark Building in Downtown Deadwood converted into a hotel. Spacious comfortable Queen and King rooms or suites with an Old Deadwood feeling decorated in period styles. European style elevator, an original Otis. Saloon and Eatery on premises plus an Antique Mall covering 12000 square feet. The coolest place in Deadwood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Deadwood Dick's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deadwood Dick`s Hotel Deadwood
Dicks Hotel Deadwood
Deadwood Dicks Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deadwood Dick's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.