We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold food!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bodega Bar

Bodega Bar
658 Main St, Deadwood, SD 57732
+1 605-578-1300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 51 Restaurants in Deadwood
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Black Hawk, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cold food!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We went in Saturday, Feb. 15 we arrived approximately 5:00 pm, which should not be so awful busy, it was about 3/4 full. We ordered drinks and we each (4 of us, 2 couples) ordered a glass of water. I got a glass of water about 1/2 full, was told they ran of out of water! Received our drinks about 1/2 hour later, got our salads about an hour after we ordered, and they were small salads. Before we were done with our salads our steaks were being delivered. The steaks and the baked potatoes were cold. We have ate there several times, the other times, were not bad, but this time, it was not worth going back. I paid $62.00 for 4 drinks, and 2 dinners. Not worth the money. OH, and to top it off, they tried to charge my friend for my drinks, that I already paid for!! I will not be going back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Manager at Bodega Bar, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor! We appreciate your input and have taken measures to correct the situation you encountered.

We sincerely hope you will visit our establishment again on your next trip to Deadwood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    35
    20
    9
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Peachtree City, Georgia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“So Many Great Memories Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I have no idea where to start. Reviewing this establishment has me all giddy. My mother was being a party, pooper, so we left her at the hotel. My son, daughter, dad & I went into the town of Deadwood for the evening. We ended up here for dinner & had a blast!

The next day we went back into Deadwood & returned here for lunch, this time we had my mother. We had lunch outside & Yancey de Veer was performing. He and my mother hit it off with their humor. We ended up buying his CD's. My husband wasn't able to join us in Deadwood, so when we got back home to Peachtree City, Ga, I played the CD's for him. As I type this, I am listening to the CD. We play the disk one all the time, it really gives you the true feeling of Deadwood. And that Yancey is a dang hoot!

If you go to Deadwood, eating here & listening to Yancey is a must!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Director of Sales at Bodega Bar, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We are glad to hear you enjoyed the full experience of what the Buffalo/Bodega has to offer! Yancy is a treat and he will be back next May! Stop back and see us next time you're in town, he's sure to remember you all!

Thank you for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“not the best prime rib”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

the prime rib was ok but not the best like they claim,did not have alot of flavor ,good service,friendly staff,i don't know maybe it was just me ,would try something else again

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Director of Sales at Bodega Bar, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to review our steakhouse! We are always looking for ways to improve our quality and standards and appreciate any and all feedback. Your review was addressed and hopefully next time you dine with us, you'll be completely satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Illinois
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

There was a guitar/singer performing in the outside area so we decided it would be nice to sit outside and enjoy a meal. We ordered drinks but learned that the dinner meals were not served outside. We were disappointed to have to eat inside since it was such a beautiful sunny warm day. I ordered the prime rib which to be sent back because it was so tough. The replacement was okay. Our waitress was a very pleasant person. Our meals were just okay.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Director of Sales at Bodega Bar, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your review! We pride ourselves on giving the best overall experience to our guests and we're sorry we fell short of that during your visit!

We hope you come back and give us another try! We look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Terrible service, all right food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Had to wait over 45 minutes for a medium sirloin and a pulled pork sandwich... 12 other patrons in the place at the time, so it was not busy... food arrived luke warm, and I'm pretty sure it was sitting in the kitchen for a while before getting to our table. The only time we saw our waiter was when he brought the check. Will not be coming back.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Director of Sales at Bodega Bar, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Buffalo Steakhouse. We pride ourselves on giving the best quality service as part of your dining here and we're sorry we fell short of that for you. Your comments have been addressed to the wait staff and hopefully this situation will not repeat itself.

We do hope you'll come back and give us another try and I guarantee you'll have a much better experience with us.

Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodega Bar also viewed

 

Been to Bodega Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bodega Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.