We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great in 2012, terrible in 2013.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bodega Bar

Bodega Bar
658 Main St, Deadwood, SD 57732
+1 605-578-1300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 51 Restaurants in Deadwood
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great in 2012, terrible in 2013.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

I've had the opportunity to travel into the black hills on a few occasions and I have eaten at a lot of great places. Last year, in 2012, I stumbled into the Bodega and thoroughly enjoyed myself. The food was great inside and out in the stockade. I enjoyed Yancy and the atmosphere greatly. But this year, 2013, everything good has changed. The food was bad and service was worse. Everything that was good seems to be gone. I was very disappointed in my experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Director of Sales at Bodega Bar, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing the restaurant. We appreciate all feedback and your experience with us at the steakhouse is cause for concern. We strive to make the best possible atmosphere while giving the best customer service and we fell short of that on your visit.

Your comments have been addressed by the staff and hopefully you'll come back and give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    35
    20
    9
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nemo, South Dakota, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Yancey is a Great Draw”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Yancey de Veer's singing and entertainment is the main reason me and my friends ALWAYS go to the Stockade in the Bodega Bar when we are in Deadwood. He is a great cowboy singer/songwriter and delivers entertainment like no other place in the Black Hills. The food is very good and the waiting staff are pleasant and responsive. I live in the Northern Hills and always make a point to bring my visitors for food, drink and a dose of Yancey. Great atmosphere and just a good time--all the time. If you visit the Black Hills anytime from Memorial Day to Labor Day, Yancey at the Bodega is a must see! Enjoy!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Director of Sales at Bodega Bar, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for the review! We try our best to provide the best atmosphere for our guests and we're glad you keep coming back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Thanks for the wonderful crawfish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

DH and I came at dinnertime on 7/4. Had a drink first. Bar staff less than friendly, but once we were seated, Arlene rocked our world! Advertised appetizer is shrimp and crawfish boil with an option for shrimp only. We asked for crawfish only, and Arlene didn't bat an eye. Two pounds of deliciousness arrived quickly, and we felt like we were in NOLA northwest! Good spice (maybe could you add the rest of the boil yummies in the future?) Just awesome. Had several tables staring, and even gave an impromptu how- to lesson to another adventurous patron who decided to try it for their family. Finished, had another drink, then went for the gigantic onion rings, which were also great. Huge real onion rings but not overwhelmed w breading. Can I say again how great Arlene was? Thank you, Arlene!

Enjoyed the music of the solo guitar guy, but not the sometimes raunchy language or jokes. Thought it odd for a family establishment, but then he said something like, "It's a family show, just don't explain the jokes to the little ones!" after a Viagra joke.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Director of Sales at Bodega Bar, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are so glad you had an awesome experience. The crawfish is top notch and Arlene is definitely a cut above the rest when it comes to customer service! we're glad to have her on our team!

Thank you for taking the time to review the Buffalo Steakhouse! We appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Food & Yancey Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Once again my vacation was made awesome by your food, service & Yancey de Veer! Were it not for Yancey, I would not visit Deadwood every year! He is what brings me back year after year. I spent June, 29 thru July 5th listening to Yancey & enjoying the excellent food choices and service! I especially want to comment on the wonderful service provided by my waitress, Gretchen!
There are a group of us that are brought together by Yancey's great entertainment and we get together every year ...as many as can make it. What an awesome time we have w/ our friend, Yancey in your wonderful establishment!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Director of Sales at Bodega Bar, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Steakhouse and the entertainment. We strive to give the best possible experience for each and every person and we are happy to hear we accomplished that in your visit with us!

Make sure you keep coming back! You never know what Yancey will have in store for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“It was okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We ate supper here. We were seated right away but it took almost an hour to get our food. Two out of 5 meals were tasty the other three were not very fresh or appetizing. The singer was rude and a little inappropriate for some families. We probably would try Mustang Sally's or another restaurant if we go back to the area.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Director of Sales at Bodega Bar, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review our restaurant. We have established a reputation for being a fast, friendly and efficient place to bring the family for a great dining experience. Your comments have been relayed to the staff and they definitely will strive to ensure that they uphold our reputation in the future.

Hopefully you will stop by and see us again next time you're in Deadwood! We've taken measures to ensure that your next visit will be an excellent one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodega Bar also viewed

 

Been to Bodega Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bodega Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.