We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drove through Deadwood...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Deadwood Chamber of Commerce & Visitors Bureau

Deadwood Chamber of Commerce & Visitors Bureau
767 Main Street, Deadwood, SD
+1 800-999-1876
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 17 Attractions in Deadwood
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Other
Attraction details
Omaha
1 review
“Drove through Deadwood...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

...and got a speeding ticket. officer said he wanted us to drive safely so he cited us 5 miles above speed limit and handed us a $85 ticket. the name pretty much says it, it is pretty much a dead town. totally ruined the whole SD experience. Foreign car plates, watch out in Deadwood! what an expensive souvenir.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    14
    1
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Manitoba
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Mauling around Deadwood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Good place to get maps, washrooms, change for the parking meters, a bit of history, well looked after.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Knowledgeable Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

at least the day we visited. Free bathrooms with meter parking, and staffer helped with change. She also responded nicely and clearly when asked about what to see with limited time. The building used to be several things, most notably a railroad depot, and has been restored to appear as such, including a baggage room and benches that appear original and lovingly restored. A small room with interesting placards detailing restorations and a movie are there and worth a look, though WB and Calamity are better covered elsewhere. Not easily wheelchair accessible.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartley
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Always, always, always......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

helpful and knowledgable. We've used their service a number of times over the years and I can't really cite anything specific but I've always walked away with my questions answered and the feeling that someone had my back. Can't ask for much more then that.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deadwood Chamber of Commerce & Visitors Bureau also viewed

 

Been to Deadwood Chamber of Commerce & Visitors Bureau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deadwood Chamber of Commerce & Visitors Bureau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.