We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MountainAire Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Deadwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MountainAire Lodge
Save
You added MountainAire Lodge to your Saves list
20751 Shirt Tail Gulch Road, PO Box 10, Deadwood, SD 57732   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Deadwood B&B and Inns
Tucson,Az
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Perfect Hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We recently stayed for a 2nd time w/ Tom and Nyla while visiting the Black hills. They are amazing hosts- friendly, accommodating and fun to be w/. Gorgeous home in the mountains just outside Deadwood. Both Tom and Nyla are multi-generation South Dakotans and writers who can regale you in the local lore of the town and Black Hills. Nyla's breakfasts are wonderful. We have stayed both times in their king room. Very very comfortable. We travel a lot and usually stay at Inns and B n B's and this place is one of the best. We've already booked our stay next year. Highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My girlfriend has ranted and raved for years now about how awesome staying at a "bed and breakfast" will be. She's been to various B&Bs before so i thought it would be a good surprise to spend our anniversary in the Black Hills at a B&B. I had NO idea what to look for so i pretty much just took a shot in the dark and booked a room with Nyla Griffith (owner of B&B along with husband Tom). BULLS-EYE! What a wonderful experience, right away we were asked if we had any dietary restrictions (were veggie eaters); Tom and Nyla kindly catered to our requests. The property itself, the surrounding land and the views are amazing. It was very relaxing and quiet, awesome outdoor hot tub, full bar, great pool table, big screen TV and a really fun Bocce Ball court (practice before you decide to play a game, there's stiff competition). Tom and Nyla are great hosts, really fun, knowledgeable, kind, sincere, basically all around awesome people. We've already been back to stay and will go back i think at least two more times this summer season. My gf loved the surprise, thanks Nyla y Tom!

Room Tip: If i remember correctly there are two rooms, a king and a queen. They are both HUGE (obviously king...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Fourche, South Dakota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband reserved the king room for my birthday weekend getaway. Tom and Nyla made our stay very relaxing and made me feel very special. The ambience of the game room was great for shooting a game of pool or just sitting and watching a show on the wide screen TV – loved it!!! Nyla cooked very delicious breakfasts and Tom made excellent recommendations on some of the Deadwood restaurants. We enjoyed Tom and Nyla’s company as well as our stay at the Mountain Aire Lodge – the lodge with a great view of the Black Hills.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Tom and Nyla are the best hosts. The super clean, new facilities are spacious and decorated with a combination of Italian architecture and Western art. Marble counter tops, comfy beds, and quiet rooms would keep us inside, but we wanted to spend more time in the common areas with stunning views of the mountains talking with the hosts. They are so knowledgeable about the Black Hills, plus they have tons of travel experiences themselves and are great story tellers.

The bar and pool table are great bonuses. The location is perfect: just a couple of minutes from downtown Deadwood, but far enough away to enjoy the peace of nature. I recommend this to everyone.

I did take photos of the facilities, but the ones on their Website are higher quality and truly represent the atmosphere and views. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The room with the king sized bed has a great view of the mountains. The queen room looks up the hill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the king room early in our vacation and it made us completely spoiled for the duration of our adventure. The bed was divinely comfortable, the breakfasts were delicious, the hot tub sparkling, and the view was gorgeous. Their house is close to all the fun in deadwood, but tucked away in a quiet corner where you can watch deer on the front yard while you drink your coffee and watch the sun rise over the hills. Then Tom and Nyla helped us plan the rest of our trip and pointed us to all of the best places to visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MountainAire Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MountainAire Lodge

Address: 20751 Shirt Tail Gulch Road, PO Box 10, Deadwood, SD 57732
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MountainAire Lodge is nestled on 6.5 pine forested acres on the side of a mountain overlooking historic Deadwood, SD. The Lodge was built in 2008 and offers the finest in amenities with en-suite full bath suites for guests. A large game room with full bar, pool table and outdoor patio areas are available for guest use. The stone fireplace in the quiet great room towers above and offers warmth for reading, writing or examining the fantastic views. A gourmet kitchen and dining area is where the great food happens. There is a large, heated patio with gas fireplace and heaters for outdoor dining and the place for smokers. The hot tub is great on cool evenings for star gazing with a libation. We call the decorating "Black Hills Italianate" as we combined the classic elements of Italian design with the rustic beauty of the Black Hills. You will find many original works of art throughout. Access roads are all paved and there is a large paved parking area for guests. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MountainAire Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.