We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When is the Celebrity Hotel NOT the Celebrity Hotel?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Celebrity Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Deadwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Celebrity Hotel
Save
You added Celebrity Hotel to your Saves list
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   629 Main Street, Deadwood, SD 57732   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Deadwood
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“When is the Celebrity Hotel NOT the Celebrity Hotel?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We booked this hotel months in advance of our stay after reading favourable reviews on Trip Advisor. After a lovely day in the Black Hills we arrived in Deadwood parked up and found the hotel. We gave the receptionist our details and she then informed us that our room was NOT in the hotel but across the road above some shop called Madame Peacocks. We were not happy but despite our protests all the receptionist kept saying was "you will love this place". NO WE DID NOT!!!. There was a narrow staircase which went through a door straight off the pavement (sidewalk). The apartment was right at the back of the building with absolutely nothing to look at but roof tops and air-conditioning units. It was depressing. To be fair it was nicely furnished but after looking forward to staying in a hotel we certainly did not relish the thought of being stuck here on our own. After lots of ringing round and searching we did eventually secure a room elsewhere which I will review. We certainly did not like the attitude of the receptionist who thought she knew what we would like better than we knew ourselves. If you book the Celebrity Hotel make sure that is where you will be staying as they also have another annexe called the Branch House. There was never any mention on any correspondence we received that our room was not in the main building. To be fair to the hotel we did receive a full refund.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken G, General Manager at Celebrity Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your input on Room 302. Both Room 302 and the Branch House are located off site. I checked your reservation because my Front Desk personnel are trained to inform the customer that those rooms aor located off site. Since you booked through the internet I checked the web site and it clearly stated that the Branch House is off site but it did not state that Room 302 was also located off site. I have since corrected that web site. It was unfortunate that the main street location of the Room 302 was not to your liking. I do appreciate you telling me that the room was very nice and that the front desk clerk handled the situation the best way she could.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    58
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
29
126
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NW Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Four couples met in Deadwood for the weekend. We actually stayed in The Branch House behind the Celebrity. The Branch House only has eight rooms, four on the ground level, four upstairs. The rooms are beautiful! The rooms are Clean! The building is quiet. We were just behind the main hotel, which is on main street, downtown where all the action is. And parking is just outside the Branch House, in a lot that has an attendant. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Well...the room was pleasant. We stayed in room 210 which had direct access to the sun deck. That was great but the glass doors/windows to the sundeck only had room darkening curtain and no sheers so there was little privacy when other guests were out on the sundeck. The sundeck was nice. Especially when watching the gun fight. We had a private deck outside our room on the sundeck. Which was nice but we never took advantage of it.The room itself was decent. We had a separate living room and huge bathroom with Jacuzzi tub. The towels were scented. Not too bad. Our daughters were in room 104. that room was perfect for them as their room was in its own little corner. So they could be as loud as they wanted. Both rooms for the most part was clean. The head board on our bed was a bit worn and spotted with stains. And a couple of our pillows had stray hairs on them. One of our daughters was slightly disgusted with the bed linens. Apparently one of the pillow cases was stained on both sides. why housekeeping would even put anything stained on the beds is beyond me. Our patio had an ashtray and it was dirty with old cigarettes. It was as if no one ever bothered to empty the ashtray. The hotel as whole is ok. They offer continental breakfast which our daughters made sure to get every morning. No room service at least I don't think there was any. The location is perfect, right on Main street and easy to find. The layout of the hotel is a bit odd. We were on the 2nd floor and our girls were on the 1st floor. But in order for us to get to their room we had to go thru the casino to the opposite side. The check in staff was great. no problems checking in or out. if you're looking for a 5 star hotel with room service, gym, spa, concierge desk then this isn't it and you probably won't find that within Deadwood or in any of the surrounding areas. But if you're not picky, want nice looking rooms and a hotel with a good location then this is the place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Minnesota
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

My husband and I just completed another wonderful stay at the Celebrity Hotel in Deadwood. As always our room was very clean. The new bed and pillows were great and we slept so well! (Apparently the pillows were special ordered and they gave me the name/address where they got the pillows so I could order some for myself). Getting out of the shower and having warm towels from the heated towel bars is so nice. The staff is always friendly and very helpful. The casino is also clean and the staff is attentive, regularly offering drinks to players. Breakfast in the morning and the free hot dogs to players from 5 to 8 p.m. is also a nice touch. We can't say enough nice things about the Celebrity. We drive 10 hours to Deadwood annually and have stayed at other hotels in the past. However, after our first time at the Celebrity we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. I believe we've now stayed there 8 or 9 times and can't wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: We like the rooms in the old part of the hotel; #206 is our new favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

You feel like a celebrity here. Very pleasant staff. Located on main street downtown. Within walking of shops and restaurants. Rooms are great. Marble bathrooms There was a towel warmer and telephone in the bathrooms. Did not want to leave. And reasonably priced compared to other larger cities for the same type room and amenities And free parking!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This hotel is unique and a great place to stay. Very clean, good staff and great location. If your taking a trip to Deadwood area this is the place to stay. Just got back from spending 2 nights here.
My only complaint is the pillows on the beds are flat with no support. But other than that, this hotel is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek Michigan
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012 via mobile

Loved our two night stay at the celebrity. Our room was definitely not as fancy as some other reviewers have described but very nice never the less. We were on the main floor just off the casino floor but no noise at all. Manager helped us with parking our big truck and trailer. Staff, especially the men who work in the casino, were very friendly and helpful.

Location is perfect for a first visit to Deadwood. Casino nicer than many we checked out.

Breakfast was fairly meager unfortunately. Definitely could use some attention to this area of service.
I would certainly return.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Celebrity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celebrity Hotel

Address: 629 Main Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
#1 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
#10 Family Hotel in Deadwood
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Celebrity Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the famous Celebrity. A beautiful hotel located on historic main street. Elaborate grand lobby with massive crystal chandeliers, carved mahogany woodwork and gilded ceilings. Our Victorian rooms have quality reproduction antique furniture,while our luxury rooms feature marble and granite bathrooms, separate glass showers and bathtubs,fireplaces, whirlpools, hot towel warmers, safes, free Wi- Fi, free continental breakfast bar, on-site parking, courteous staff and spotless accommodations. Casino and over 75 movie memorabilia displays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Celebrity Hotel Deadwood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Celebrity Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.