We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Historic Hotel Needs Renovations Desperately” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Deadwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex
Save
You added Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   709 Main Street, Deadwood, SD 57732   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Deadwood
Rapid City, South Dakota, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This Historic Hotel Needs Renovations Desperately”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I just returned from staying in Deadwood for the South Dakota Festival of Books. When we're in Deadwood, we normally stay at The Bullock Hotel, which I love. But this time, The Bullock was full so we decided to stay at The Franklin, another historic hotel in downtown Deadwood.

BAD decision! While the hotel has a beautiful, grandiose lobby area with a great selection of slot machines and table play, the actual hotel itself is another story. Our first room was on the second floor, a smoking room with two queen beds. My husband and I normally like to have our own beds while traveling, but we are non-smokers and the only rooms with two beds at this hotel are smoking rooms. The room smelled so strongly of smoke that my husband and I could barely breathe. Also, we found two wasps buzzing around the room as well as a humongous pine beetle. Since I'm allergic to wasps, we left the room right away and went back to the front desk agent. She sent maintenance up to kill the bugs. Even so, we decided we wanted to switch rooms to a non-smoking single queen room.

This single queen room on the fourth floor smelled a lot better, but it was incredibly rundown. The walls were cracked, the bed was creaky, and the bedspread looked like it hadn't been washed for 50 years. The toilet seat had liquid all over it (probably from being cleaned recently). The doors were stiff and hard to open and close. There was an old TV in the room, but no coffee pot (which is essential to us). It looked and felt like a cheap motel room from 1950! The pillows were extremely uncomfortable, and we tossed and turned all night on the old queen mattress.

This hotel could be a great historic hotel like The Bullock--which is extremely comfortable due to modern renovations--without losing its historic integrity. The Franklin needs to take The Bullock's lead and renovate its rooms so that they are up to par with modern travelers' standards! But we found that this hotel cares more about being a casino rather than a hotel. We also ate breakfast at the Franklin's Silverado buffet the next morning, and the food was just gross. My scrambled eggs looked and tasted like they were covered in yellow food dye. Overall, we were extremely disappointed with our stay here.

Room Tip: Be advised that if you need a room with two beds, this hotel only has smoking rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    40
    30
    21
    48
See reviews for
21
80
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Parker
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you enjoy antiques would have like living in the early 1900's this is the place to stay. The beds were quite comfortable, and the period pieces in the room really set this apart from your typical hotel. We stayed in a room overlooking the veranda and the main street. We were there on a Wednesday night so the town was quite empty but I can imagine the weekends get a bit rowdy.
Beautiful area, and fun little town.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room don't stay on the side that faces the street. Breakfast buffet was rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosinee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed at the Franklin on a Thursday before Cool Deadwood Nights car show. Price was right for location. Small room with two double beds and very small bathroom, BUT the kids loved it and the historic feel was fun. Definately ask for John to guide you and your trip. He gave great suggestions for our one night and was very friendly!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahwatukee, Arizona, United States
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The Franklin Hotel in Deadwood, South Dakota, remains the center of activity on the main street of Deadwood. Open since 1902 it has had its share of colorful characters stay in their rooms and probably still does. At one time it was considered the most expensive hotel built west of the Mississippi River.

It has been years since I was last in Deadwood. I had some good times in the Franklin during university days so I wanted my wife to see Deadwood and experience the Franklin. I kept explaining to her that it was “historical”. Well, her first impression wasn’t too bad since they turned the entire ground floor into a casino, but by the time we got our entire luggage to our third floor room her impression started to change.

I have to admit that the years have not been kind to the hotel. Photographs of their suites looked nice, but since we were only there for one night having a room overlooking the main street should not be too bad. Things were a little tight in the room. The bed blocked the only closet door from opening, and all the cracks in the wall, along with paintings hung at strange angles only added to the character. The window air conditioner kept the room cold, although a bit noisy. And who could complain about the tiny television, because at least we had television and wireless internet that worked just fine.

I still enjoy old hotels, but I suspect that if we ever return back to Deadwood, that we probably won’t be staying at the Franklin Hotel. Such a shame as it is so “historical”.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medford wi.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

my husband and I and another couple stayed at this place in july 2013. we booked a suit months in advance. our rooms were awful one room had a door the other did not ,the bathroom was in between the 2 rooms was so outdated. the closet to hang up clothes smelled musty. we were moved to 2 separate rooms the next 2 nights . these were a little better but not by much, no hot water for 2 days our room was right off of the balcony which was very noisy, a very old outdated tv by the way the first rooms did not even have a tv in the second room. we had to park in the back go to the first floor to get a cart and the go to the second floor to get out the door to the parking lot to get our luggage to our rooms. the floors in the hallways on both floors creaked and on the second floor you could hear everyone walking on the third floor. very very outdated not at all like was advertised on the internet. would never ever stay there again. did I mentioned the first night the rooms were $179.00 and the next 2 night the rooms were $100.00 each night. also when they moved us all our friends credit card was screwed up and is still not fixed as of today.

Room Tip: don't stay at this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The room was $29.99 a night, great price. The room was small , a very old feeling. I had a nice view of the street. It's a room you don't want to spend a lot of time in. I felt a sense of Gloom, for some reason. The Casino was nice. I would go back again and stay there. It was a lot Fun. Free Drinks, Cheap room in Deadwood. What else do you want?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

First of all, the hotel itself is stunning. Absolutely beautiful. We stayed in the Mary Hart Suite, which was two separate bedrooms and a sitting room, an blessing for a family with two pre-teens. I can't speak for the other rooms in the hotel, but before you stay here, you should know that there is an attempt to keep the rooms as authentic as possible while still offering modern conveniences. Each room had a flat screen television and multiple outlets for phone chargers, laptops, straighteners, etc. The room had an amazing view of Deadwood and we were able to watch the daily shootout from our hotel room.

What we enjoyed most about the hotel was that it was old fashioned. Tall ceilings, antique furniture and lighting, mosaic tile floor in the bathroom (which was small but acceptable). I understand that "old fashioned" isn't for everyone. But it is for us and we were very happy with our stay. Friendly staff, great casino and the veranda is a fun way to spend a Friday night. Will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing downtown, or else you're just staring at other buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex

Address: 709 Main Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling
Hotel Style:
#13 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel and Gaming Complex is located at the Top of Main in the Historic town of Deadwood, SD. The Silverado & Franklin feature over 375 state of the art slot machines, 22-blackjack tables and 5 live poker tables in one of Deadwood's most elegant poker rooms. Callahan's Irish Pub and the Veranda (seasonal) serve all of your favorite spirits as does the lounge at the Silverado. Crab Festival every Friday and Saturday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel And Gaming Complex
Silverado Franklin Historic Deadwood
Historic Franklin Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.