We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad bad bad” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Deadwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   709 Main Street, Deadwood, SD 57732   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 22 hotels in Deadwood
medford wi.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“bad bad bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

my husband and I and another couple stayed at this place in july 2013. we booked a suit months in advance. our rooms were awful one room had a door the other did not ,the bathroom was in between the 2 rooms was so outdated. the closet to hang up clothes smelled musty. we were moved to 2 separate rooms the next 2 nights . these were a little better but not by much, no hot water for 2 days our room was right off of the balcony which was very noisy, a very old outdated tv by the way the first rooms did not even have a tv in the second room. we had to park in the back go to the first floor to get a cart and the go to the second floor to get out the door to the parking lot to get our luggage to our rooms. the floors in the hallways on both floors creaked and on the second floor you could hear everyone walking on the third floor. very very outdated not at all like was advertised on the internet. would never ever stay there again. did I mentioned the first night the rooms were $179.00 and the next 2 night the rooms were $100.00 each night. also when they moved us all our friends credit card was screwed up and is still not fixed as of today.

Room Tip: don't stay at this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    34
    27
    19
    43
See reviews for
17
72
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The room was $29.99 a night, great price. The room was small , a very old feeling. I had a nice view of the street. It's a room you don't want to spend a lot of time in. I felt a sense of Gloom, for some reason. The Casino was nice. I would go back again and stay there. It was a lot Fun. Free Drinks, Cheap room in Deadwood. What else do you want?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

First of all, the hotel itself is stunning. Absolutely beautiful. We stayed in the Mary Hart Suite, which was two separate bedrooms and a sitting room, an blessing for a family with two pre-teens. I can't speak for the other rooms in the hotel, but before you stay here, you should know that there is an attempt to keep the rooms as authentic as possible while still offering modern conveniences. Each room had a flat screen television and multiple outlets for phone chargers, laptops, straighteners, etc. The room had an amazing view of Deadwood and we were able to watch the daily shootout from our hotel room.

What we enjoyed most about the hotel was that it was old fashioned. Tall ceilings, antique furniture and lighting, mosaic tile floor in the bathroom (which was small but acceptable). I understand that "old fashioned" isn't for everyone. But it is for us and we were very happy with our stay. Friendly staff, great casino and the veranda is a fun way to spend a Friday night. Will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing downtown, or else you're just staring at other buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We just spent four nights at the Franklin Hotel. The main floor--Casino was great. The room we had was dated, had huge cracks in the walls, very crooked floors and old furniture. The staff were great and the casino experience was good also. There is so much they could do to the rooms that would make them a little more attractive. Hopefully they plan to continue renovating for there is much work to be done.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

*** CASINO REVIEW ONLY ***

My partner and I stopped here the first night in Deadwood as we had a positive experience the last time in town over 7 years ago.

While the casino was very quiet (it was later on a Sunday night), the wait staff was very attentive and asked us if we wanted a drink within 5-10 minutes of sitting down at a machine. She was very friendly and kept tabs on us the rest of the night as we moved around the casino.

Machines seemed to be a bit tight, but we still had a good time.

Definitely will be back to this casino the next time we visit Deadwood!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casselton, North Dakota, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here for our first anniversary. Retracing some history, we stayed here for our 25th. We were able to get the same room! Things haven't changed and that is what we liked. Make sure you enjoy a cold one on the Veranda!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have to agree with the person who titled their review, "“Historic, in all the BEST ways.” I was looking for authentic and old and I found it. Sure there were some cracks in the walls. What else would you expect in an historic building? We also had a corner room and claw-foot tub. We stayed 2 nights. I understand that a lot of the old parts have been torn out and redone. That is a shame.

Room Tip: Get a corner suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex

Address: 709 Main Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 22 hotels in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel and Gaming Complex is located at the Top of Main in the Historic town of Deadwood, SD. The Silverado & Franklin feature over 375 state of the art slot machines, 22-blackjack tables and 5 live poker tables in one of Deadwood's most elegant poker rooms. Callahan's Irish Pub and the Veranda (seasonal) serve all of your favorite spirits as does the lounge at the Silverado. Crab Festival every Friday and Saturday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel And Gaming Complex
Silverado Franklin Historic Deadwood
Historic Franklin Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Silverado Franklin Historic Hotel & Gaming Complex to your Saves list