We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bullock Hotel, Deadwood, SD” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bullock Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bullock Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bullock Hotel
633 Main St, Deadwood, SD 57732   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 22 hotels in Deadwood
Roanoke
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bullock Hotel, Deadwood, SD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed there for two nights the beginning of June. Couldn't ask for a better hotel. The rooms are clean and spacious. The staff are very personable and helpful. I would definitely recommend breakfast there. Excellent food and service. The wait staff is also very helpful with any questions we had about the area. Deadwood is a small town and this hotel is centrally located within walking distance of many restaurants, shops, and bars. It really gives you the "old west feel." If we are ever back in the area, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Director of Sales at Bullock Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    64
    18
    7
    6
See reviews for
40
106
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mesquite, Nevada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed two nights at the Bullock hotel Deadwood SD. Had a wonderful time the staff was very nice. One of the staff took us on an unscheduled tour of the haunted areas and told us stories about Seth Bullock and the history of the hotel. We were told of images that appear in mirrors around the hotel and where ghosts have been sighted. We did not get visited by any ghosts but still had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Roosevelt Suit is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Director of Sales at Bullock Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! We strive to give you the best experience possible and glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Be sure and stay with us again and maybe Old Seth will stop by and say Hi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We come to Deadwood once a year. The Bullock was always one of our favorites. Not this year. The casino is dead. The service is non existent and uncaring. The slots must be rigged. Couldn't win a dime. Literally!! And not a deal breaker but charge for well drinks. Things really that rough. Keep walking not worth your time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Director of Sales at Bullock Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
I'd like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We pride ourselves on giving the best customer service to make sure your stay is the best possible experience. We have addressed your concerns and have taken measures to ensure this doesn't happen again.

We sincerely hope you choose to stay with us again and see that this is not indicative of our regular performance and hopefully lady luck will shine on you next time you're here!

Thank you again for your review! We appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
House Springs, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Try the Eggs Benedict..... Awesome. The staff was very prompt on taking order and the food was hot and fast. The next time we stay it will be this hotel.
The decor was great it was like we stepped back into time when we walked in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Director of Sales at Bullock Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you very much for review! We are so glad you enjoyed your experience at Bully's. We pride ourselves on giving you the best value and the best service.

Make sure you stop by and see us again next time you're in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiea, Hawaii, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Felt the best way to experience "old" deadwood was to stay in one of the oldest buildings in town. The Bullock is filled with history, which is documented in the lobby. One of the overnight shift workers led an impromptu late night ghost tour which highlighted all the interesting stories of the building and its owner Seth Bullock. Minimal services are provided but we really loved the character of the place (creaking floors included). The staff was very friendly and helpful (Thursday night bartender, think his name was Ted…?). Much care was taken to replicate the original decor and ambiance. The rooms were very clean yet historically correct. Bully's is great place to end the night or start off with breakfast. Awesome architectural detail inside and out. Note: the hotel parking is across the street at no charge!

Room Tip: Our room was located on the back side of hotel. Could hear some of the larger trucks in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Manager at Bullock Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Bullock Hotel!

We are pleased to hear you had a great experience with us. Great care was taken in the remodel in 1990 to help restore the hotel back to its' original grandeur. The creaky floors, well those are original!

We hope you choose the Bullock Hotel for your stay next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

What a beautiful place, great staff, the best breakfast, perfectly clean rooms. Great wifi in the building. My Verizon LTE signal never drops below 3 bars. Don't forget to have breakfast at Bully's! The front desk staff is also very friendly and willing to accommodate your needs however they can.

Room Tip: Take a lot of pictures. You may be surprised what you may see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were in town to celebrate my grandparents 65th wedding anniversary,15 years ago we had celebrated their 50th at this hotel but at the time I wasn't too interested in the history of the building. This time around I made it a point to book our last night here. I was disappointed to see we had missed the ghost tour but as we were wandering around the night manager, Jim, greeted us and gave us his own tour, he told us great stories about the ghosts, the restoration work they have done to the hotel and the history of Deadwood. I was actually born in Deadwood but he had fantastic stories I had never heard before and it peaked my curiosity even more. My regret is that I did not stay here for my entire trip. Jim made the trip for me and I look forward to running into him next time. I can't say enough about him, he was great! The prices obviously fluctuate especially on weekends and normally I find a flat rate deal at the best western in Sturgis but the charm and friendliness at the Bullock makes the price worth it. My only complaint would be the bed and the sheets, the bed seemed too firm and the sheets were a little rough and stiff for my liking but perhaps that is in keeping with the atmosphere. The rooms were very nice and clean, we stayed in 212 which is unlike any other place I've stayed, it's pretty small and the bed is angled but it still maintains a lot of charm and uniqueness. The breakfast at Bully's is also excellent, once again I wish I had stayed here earlier!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bullock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bullock Hotel

Address: 633 Main St, Deadwood, SD 57732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
#8 Family Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bullock Hotel is a Deadwood Treasure. Experience the history and elegance of Deadwood's first hotel. All are unique and have been painstakingly restored to the original details that Seth Bullock first envisioned. We have the perfect accommodations for leisure guests or family weekend getaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Bullock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bullock Hotel Deadwood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bullock Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.