We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bully's Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bullock Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bullock Hotel to your Saves list
Bullock Hotel
633 Main St, Deadwood, SD 57732   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Deadwood
Winterset, Iowa, United States
1 review
“Bully's Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Bully's restaurant and lounge serves a great breakfast and the staff is excellent. The manager, John, is funny and very efficient! The front desk staff is also very friendly and willing to accommodate your needs however they can.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Manager at Bullock Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience here at the Historic Bullock Hotel! We might be a little biased but we believe we have the best staff in Deadwood! John and the rest of the crew strive for excellence in customer service and we're happy you were well taken care of!

Make sure you to make the Bullock your place to stay next time you're in town! We'd love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    79
    23
    8
    7
See reviews for
46
128
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood, OR
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is an old historic building beautifully restored to a bygone era. The rooms are beautiful (12' ceilings) and set in the times of the past wild days of this great town. It's an old building so you do get occasional street noise but not a big deal. The staff is incredibly accomidating. There is a casino and bar/grill on site, and it's 3 blocks or less to all kinds of interesting historical places right outside the front door. Saloon No. 10 where Wild Bill Hicock was murdered is a block away and serves great cocktails for well under $5.00. The local folks are great. Breakfast in the hotel runs well under $10.00 as do lunches. Dinner is down the street or over at the Oyster Bar. This is our second 10-day visit here and we'll be back! We restored our wedding vows here. If you go, reserve the Roosevelt Suite with the king size bed!

Room Tip: Rooms 201 thru 206 and rooms 211 & 213 on the 2nd floor. Same goes for the 3rd floor (301, stc).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Manager at Bullock Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay! The Bullock Hotel staff strives for excellency in all we do and we are glad you got to experience that first hand!

Deadwood has definitely come to life and we're ready for summer fun! We look forward to seeing you again on your next Deadwood trip!

Thank you again for choosing the Bullock Hotel for your place to stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was exactly the type of experience I hoped to have in Deadwood. The hotel's decorations (including an actual set of room keys, no card entry for the rooms) helped complete a feeling that we had been transported. The restaurant within the hotel was great. We had breakfast there and it really hit the spot.

The hotel was a good price and conveniently located for seeing the downtown area. And the history of the hotel is a definite bonus. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Manager at Bullock Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We're so happy you had an awesome experience staying with us at the Bullock Hotel! We try to provide the best overall experience for our guests with mixing the Historic aspect while enjoying all of the modern comforts! John and Bobbi in the restaurant are definitely the best at what they do! Next time you visit-you should ask John to make you an omelet! They're the best!

Thanks again for choosing the Bullock Hotel for your stay in Deadwood!

Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

If you’re looking for a great hotel that’s right in the middle of Deadwood, and conveniently located to all the attractions in the Black Hills, this is it. The Historic Bullock Hotel manages to combine the charm of its historic roots with the comfort of modern times to create a clean, relaxing, and enjoyable stay. The restaurant serves a fantastic breakfast with tasty omelets that started every day of my vacation on high note. My highest praise however is for the friendly and very helpful staff.

When you first arrive at the hotel, drive around to the back of the hotel where you can unload your bags and check in. When you enter the hotel from the back, the front desk is just passed the casino cage, down the little hall on the left. Once you get checked in and your bags up to your room, the actual parking lot is across that street that runs behind the hotel. The lot is next to the Celebrity Hotel parking. A pedestrian crossing with blinking lights (that seems to stop traffic,) makes crossing the street very easy. The fact that the crosswalk is located right between the back of the Bullock Hotel and the parking lot makes it very convenient.

My stay was from May 4th to May 8th and minor renovations were going on while I was at the hotel, but the work was being done in a courteous and non-intrusive manner. It didn’t detract any from my experience. The completed improvements that I saw looked great.

Room Tip: When I walked out of my room, a ghost tour had stopped to look a mirror by my door. One of the guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Manager at Bullock Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! We appreciate any and all feedback to be able to pass on to the staff. I have a tendency to believe that we have the BEST staff in Deadwood(not biased at all:)) They definitely the guests best interest at heart and strive to make it the best experience for everyone who comes through the door!

Our rooms are now complete, so on your next visit you're stay will be complete! You should try the ghost tour next time and maybe you'll meet our namesake, "Ole' Seth".

Thank you again for choosing the Bullock Hotel for your place to stay in Deadwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had not booked a hotel when we arrived in Deadwood at 8pm on a Sunday night. We had to go to a few hotels before we were able to get a room at the Bullock Hotel. We had a spacious room on the side of the hotel. Great central location. Wonderful photos and furniture around the casino and dining area/ bar. The town seemed fairly quiet on the night we were there. No excessive noise. It was cold and raining.
The only problem we had was the room heating didn't seem to be adjustable- hot or off. Eventually we turned it off before we both dehydrated.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was to much trouble. They gave us some dinner options as it was getting late when we arrived. No refrigerator in the room, but the staff were able to store any perishables for us.
Good value for money in a fascinating town.

Room Tip: Book ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Manager at Bullock Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Bullock Hotel. We have recently given our rooms a "face-lift" with new carpet, paint, bathrooms and linens! We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip! Also, we are sorry about the heater-we're working diligently on getting that fixed!

Thank you!! Bullock Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

My fiance (now wife) & myself stayed here for 4 nights. We came to Deadwood to get married. I like to stay at a different hotel with each visit. This stay was by far the best one yet. The staff is very friendly & accomodating. We ate breakfast our first morning there & I had the best omelet ever. The rooms are very spacious. I was surprised at how big they are. We stayed in a suite our last night there. That room was nice too. I loved the huge king size bed, my new wife did not. The location in downtown Deadwood couldn't be any more perfect either. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody. We're already looking forward to our next trip there, whenever that may be.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Manager at Bullock Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We are so happy you all had a great experience with us at the Bullock! Your group was super fun and we look forward to seeing you again! Since your stay, we have given the rooms a "facelift" with new carpet, tile, linens and such! Come back and check it out-maybe for your 1st anniversary...

Thanks again-Bullock Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed in room 207, large room with high ceilings, very clean, flat screen tv, very comfortable beds, antique looking furniture. The people were very nice. We ate breakfest there twice, and had the best omelets ive ever had, but!, and i hope that John the cook is reading this, the hashbrowns need some work,, not good at all!!! Sorry John . We were there when they had the worst snow storm , cold and windy, so never got to see the shops, bummer. It was on a Saturday night, and my daughter and girl friend danced the night away at one of the local bars across the street. Had a great time!. Loved the town. Hi to Bobbie, she was our waitress.

Room Tip: they will show the rooms before u pay, loved your room, 207
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia B, Manager at Bullock Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Bullock! Next time you're in town be sure and stay with us again! We have newly remodeled rooms and Seth still walks the hallways!

We'll be sure and correct the hashbrowns so you will have 100% satisfaction with your meals at Bully's.

Thank you for your review! We appreciate any and all feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bullock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bullock Hotel

Address: 633 Main St, Deadwood, SD 57732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bullock Hotel is a Deadwood Treasure. Experience the history and elegance of Deadwood's first hotel. All are unique and have been painstakingly restored to the original details that Seth Bullock first envisioned. We have the perfect accommodations for leisure guests or family weekend getaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Bullock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bullock Hotel Deadwood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bullock Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.