We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite place in Deadwood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1906 Deadwood Mountain Drive, Deadwood, SD 57732   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Deadwood
Lemmon
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Favorite place in Deadwood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My wife and I love to make the 200 mile trip to Deadwood. The weather is more moderate than on the plains of South Dakota where we live and we enjoy the history and atmosphere of the many shops and casinos in Deadwood. We have stayed at many hotels in Deadwood and at the Grand several times since it opened and consider it our favorite place in Deadwood. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable and the staff is amazing. The casino, concerts, bar and dining are fantastic. We highly recommend the Grand if this is your first time in Deadwood or if you just haven't stayed there before.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very nice but if you like to view Deadwood's Main Street choose a balcony room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your GRAND review! We are so pleased you enjoy staying with us here at Deadwood Mountain Grand! It's so nice to read such positive comments. Please let us know when you're coming back so we can reserve your favorite room for you. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    66
    13
    5
    7
See reviews for
61
120
3
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Union Center, South Dakota
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

A two elevator process to get to the rooms. Must wend your way through the casino to get to the first one to the hotel desk. Then a second one to get to your rooms. They are spacious and nice with good views. The hotel portion is completely new and not part of the old Homestake Slime Plant portion of the DMG. The whole activilty just opened recently and there is still some set-up going on.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us, we do appreciate it. The walk through the casino to the elvator of the hotel can seem a bit lengthy, but in the future please let one of our bellhop's carry your luggage and park your car. This service is conmplimentary to you as our guest and they are waiting to help! Looking forward to seeing you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Start to finish. Made reservation on line. Very easy and nice room rate. When we got to the hotel was very impressed by the exterior. Architecturally ties in great. Very short walk from the parking ramp. Checked in around 8:00PM, no door man. Was a little difficult to navigate and find the hotel elevator.Once we got to the hotel lobby the staff was great and check-in easy. Rooms are new, designed modern and clean. Room was a little dark could use a floor lamp by the chair. Beds are very comfy. Bathroom was very nice and clean. Could use a robe hook and better ventilation. Room was very quiet. Check out very easy. After we left, about 30 min later we had to go back and get my sons pillow he forgot. My wife quick ran in. They would not help her unless I was with her and had a photo ID. Finally someone from house keeping said they would go with her to the room. Overall nice stay, will try it again.

Room Tip: Room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for giving Deadwood Mountain Grand hotel a try. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We truly appreciate your business and apologize for the challenges you encountered during your stay. We continue to learn from customer feedback such as yours and take it seriously in improving our operation. We apologize for the breakdowns in customer service you experienced. Again, thank you for choosing us for your lodging needs, and hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, South Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I don't normally write reviews, but after my stay at DMG, I felt compelled to do so. I have stayed at a few other places in Deadwood, but in my mind, no other hotel compares. This hotel offers excellent, personalized service and a relaxing, comfortable atmosphere. Our room was very clean and modern, and our view from the balcony was stunning.
The attention from the staff was amazing and they truly went above and beyond, which is something you don't normally find. We will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review of your stay. We love to read reviews and print them for our staff to see also. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope we get to see you again in the near future. Have a good day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, South Dakota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed a couple of different times at the hotel after dining and gaming. This is a lovely hotel which combines historic artifacts with modern decor for a great feel. The personal service is outstanding and consistent. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this accomodation to anyone visiting this beautiful area of the Black Hills.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments about our property. We strive to make our guests as comfortable and as possible, and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I just finished a stay at the Deadwood Mountain Grand for 4 nights. When we approached the front door we were a little disorientated wondering if we were coming in the right entrance for the hotel. The doormen Jerry and Roy were lovely to deal with and Roy walked us through and escorted us to the front check in desk pointing out the restaurant, toilets etc. during our stay we spent numerous conversations with Roy and Jerry discussing the history of deadwood and all the must see things to do while in town. Every time we left or came back they made us feel so welcome. I have not met two honest, caring, individuals in a long time. Excellent customer service, they are a credit to the hotel and casino. I would go back and stay just to say G'day to them again. The hotel as a whole was lovely and we enjoyed our time there....

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to rate your Deadwood Mountain Grand experience. We're so glad to hear your positive comments about the hotel. A very important component of our service mix is guest service and it sounds like our personnel delivered -- from your positive experience... I will be sure to share the nice comments with Roy and Jerry. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillette, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had a recent one night stay at the DMG Hotel (Nov. 2012). You have to take an elevator from the casino to the hotel lobby. The lobby is beautifully decorated wtih large stone fireplaces, oversize leather furniture and great artwork. The check in was very efficient and instead of a "counter" they have small desks which was a nice change! My room as a double queen on the 3rd floor. The elevators were very fast, I never felt I had to wait. The room was nice size with a large entryway, bathroom off the entryway with a glass door walk in shower that was quite nice. The bathroom was a bit on the small size It would be difficult to have two people in there getting ready at the same time. The room furnishings were nice with the standard ammenities you would expect. The beds were VERY comfortable with pillowtop mattresses. The artwork in the rooms and public spaces were beautiful. I looked at the pool area and it seemed nice. I was very impressed they have a handicap lift for the pool and hottub. That is definitly not something you see very much in hotels. Well done!! Another nice touch was on the morning of checkout as I was leaving my room a housekeeper was in the hallway. As I passed her and said good morning she smiled and said, "Thank you for choosing to stay with us". Nice customer service skills!!

Room Tip: If you want a view ask for a front facing room otherwise your view will be of a rocky hillside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you very much for the wonderful review! We take great pride in our accommodations, and we always appreciate hearing what services and rooms our guests enjoy. We hope that you will return to Deadwood Mountain Grand for any lodging needs you may have in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel

Address: 1906 Deadwood Mountain Drive, Deadwood, SD 57732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only place in Deadwood to rock out and rest up -- Deadwood Mountain Grand, A Holiday Inn Resort -- is one of the area’s newest and most unique hotel properties, a resort experience that is sure to leave you longing for a return trip long after you return home.At the Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, Casino and Event Center, Perched on a hill overlooking Historic Deadwood and featuring GRAND views, the 98-room luxury hotel is a wonderful addition to the recently refurbished adjoining Homestake Mine Slime Plant, one of Deadwood’s most unique historic landmarks, now home to Deadwood’s only large-scale event center and casino. Combined, the three (hotel, event center and casino) provide a resort mix unparalleled by any other. Our three executive king rooms, along with our five king suites deliver the most breath taking views in town. Seven of these eight well-appointed rooms feature spectacular views from their private balconies, including that of Mount Moriah Cemetery (the final resting place of Wild Bill Hickok, Calamity Jane and other legends of the Wild West) and Historic Deadwood. Relax and enjoy lounging by the grand stone fireplace over two stories tall under vaulted ceilings or cozy up by the side seating fireplace both making our rustic interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.