We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place! Not user friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1906 Deadwood Mountain Drive, Deadwood, SD 57732   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Williston, North Dakota, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice place! Not user friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We come to Deadwood 3 times a year and we decided to try a new place. The rooms and staff are excellent! The property itself is not user friendly. From the parking garage to the hotel entrance in the casino..to the 2 sets of elevators to get to your room. Staff was at our room earlier than I've ever had to clean. The machines are a total let down. Not one was a "familiar game" you have seen in other casinos. That was confusing? While, it is beautiful. We will not be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, General Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for trying us out -- we're so glad to hear you thought the DMG was beautiful! We're even happier to hear positive remarks about our rooms and staff, as guest service is a priority on our property. We are constantly striving to improve upon our offerings and certainly appreciate your comments about areas you perceived as challenging. We will use your remarks to further perfect our operation and hope that if and when you do decide to give us another try, you'll find a casino game that meets with your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    71
    15
    6
    7
See reviews for
65
126
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glenoma, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I made our hotel reservation without knowing anything about the Deadwood Mountain Grand and I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived. It had only been open for a couple of months and smelled so new everywhere. The doorman, restaurant staff, hotel staff, and gift shop staff were all so welcoming and pleasant. My only concern was unfounded, the elevator to the hotel lobby is behind the casino and in the state of Washington children are not allowed in casino's so I questioned how we would get to the elevator with my daughter and friend - not a problem in South Dakota. We didn't have time to use the pool but it looked very nice. Beautiful establishment with a parking garage - on my next trip to Deadwood I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, General Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you so much! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at Deadwood Mountain Grand! We hope you travel to Deadwood again soon and be sure to let us know when you’re coming so we can reserve your favorite room for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

From the time we drove up in our Acura Jerry greeted us like long time friends. He assisted us in parking our coup in just the right spot. Then cheerfully helped unpack our belongings while bringing us lots of laughter. What a great guy, beautiful hotel and wonderful historic location. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, General Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you so much for the awesome review! We agree Jerry is the best bellman in Deadwood! We look forward to your next visit to Deadwood, and Deadwood Mountain Grand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just spent the weekend at Deadwood Mountain Grand during Kool Deadwood nights as a part of a leadership conference. Great facility! Extra care taken to have ample entertainment that complimented the enthusiastic crowds. Rooms are very comfortable, service friendly and easy to obtain...best of all...never a tech problem! The dining was casual, food was very good. Short walks wherever we wanted to go. Our entire group felt very appreciated and welcomed!

Room Tip: This is the place to stay for entertainment in Deadwood!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, General Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank so much for the review. We appreciate hearing comments on our facility and service. We are happy to hear we were able to meet your expectations and your conference was successful. You were a great group of professionals and we look forward to hosting the broadcasters again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel during our recent trip through Wyoming, Montana, South Dakota, and Colorado.We chose Deadwood as our stop to relax for three days and could not have been happier with our choice.We received free tickets to see .38 special and Wynona during our stay for Friday and Saturday night respectively. Although the Wynona show was cancelled due to a tragic accident our "free" tickets were refunded to us promptly the next morning. We have stayed in many hotel casinos from Atlantic City and Lake Tahoe to Las Vegas many times, and have never seen a hotel general manager have such a presence in and around the place.Great job to all keep up the good work and do not change a thing!!!We will be back!!!

Room Tip: Our third floor room had a great view of Deadwood
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, General Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our staff, your stay and accommodations. Since our relatively recent opening in April, we have striven to make guest service a priority and according to your advisor, we delivered. We're thrilled to hear of your positive experience at the Grand and hope that we can welcome you as a guest again in the near future. By the way....thank you for your empathy, compassion and understanding regarding Wynonna, as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We booked the hotel for three nights at $98 a night but ran out of things to do and wanted to go to Rapid City so only stayed two which they honored. The room was beautiful - bedding, mattress, frig (no microwave???) but our room (117) overlooked the roof of the casino - not very appealing. Do have to walk through the no smoking casino (please Oklahoma, take heed!) to go to an elevator to the lobby then another elevator to one's room. Don't know how disabled people could manage with how far it is from the parking lot to one's room. Coffee in room but no breakfast provided. We stopped at Wall Drug in Wall, SD (a must!!) and bought some donuts on our way to Deadwood so that sufficed. We walked to Mt Moriah (wow, what an uphill hike!! Another must!) and really found it interesting. Don't just stop at Wild Bill Hickok's gravesite but walk around to the others. Be sure and go to the Gem restaurant downtown. The food was great and their happy hour was awesome! Half price drinks from 4 pm to 6 pm - my husband had two Tangueray and tonics and I had a pina colada and our bill was $6.75! One Tangueray and tonic at Outback in Rapid City was $6.75. Wonderful staff at the Gem. I could have skipped the 1880 train in Hill City. We had two options in Keystone - stay on the train for the 15 minute engine turnaround or spend 3 1/2 hours waiting on the train to come back. The trip there was really nice - saw lots of deer up close= but we elected to just stay on the train since we didn't want to spend that much time in Keystone. Too bad we didn't have the option of an hour or two there. The scenery wasn't particularly pretty and it was so sad to see how much destruction the pine beetle is doing. Of course, don't miss Mt. Rushmore. It's like the Grand Canyon in as much as it takes your breath away when you see it. We decided to go to Custer State Park so took 16A from Rushmore. Wow - curvy and twisty - but spectacular views!! Stopped at a lookout point (can't remember the name - a man's name, I think) and there were chipmunks that would come right up to you for food. We didn't have anything so be sure and take sunflower seeds for the little fellas. We didn't have enough time to finish the drive (most parts were 15 to 20 mph) so we turned around and headed back to Rapid City. As we came to one of the one lane tunnels, Mt. Rushmore was framed at the end and would have been a spectacular phote, however, there was a car behind us so we couldn't stop (by the way, HE stopped and took a photo). I'll always regret I didn't take that picture - it would've been a treasured one from the trip.

Room Tip: Our room, 117, overlooked the casino roof. Maybe higher would have been better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Deadwood is to South Dakota what Central City is to Colorado: a town that would have died a natural and merciful death, but for historic preservation credits and casino gaming. It is prettier than its Colorado counterparts, and the state was more aggressive in preserving what was left of the old town.

The Grand is right in the middle of everything, but you probably won't have much of a reason to leave. The rooms are new and well-appointed and the staff, attentive, motivated, and eager to please -- I haven't heard that many "you betchas" since Sarah Palin was running. You will want to avail yourself of the free parking, because you have to walk through the casino to get to the hotel desk.

Spend the extra $20 for a balcony suite, as it will offer a delicious view of an eye-friendly town, and you get the sunrise in the morning. And you will want to have dinner or breakfast on the patio at Aught: the portions are generous and the prices, reasonable. For instance, their take on the croissanwich is only $8, more than twice the size of what you get at a fast-food joint, and far superior.

Gamblers need to know that they don't give you the same incentives you are accustomed to at a Las Vegas or Reno. What you pay for your room is what you will pay for your room, and your play will not offset it.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, spend the extra $20 for a balcony suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, General Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words about our historic Wild West locale and the one-of-a-kind Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, Casino and Event Center. We appreciate your positive words more than you know.

You are simply spot-on with your comparison to our Colorado counterpart, as well as the differences you drew. Yes, gaming is our savior and nothing touches our town's commitment to historic preservation. (In fact, the Deadwood Mountain Grand is one of the town's largest and most recent historic preservation projects.)

Of all the positive statements you made, the one we are most proud of is the reference you made to the superb level of customer service you received. That, of course, is our number one goal and we're glad to hear we succeeded during your stay.

Thank you again for your kind words regarding our property. We look forward to having you back on one of our balconies very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel

Address: 1906 Deadwood Mountain Drive, Deadwood, SD 57732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only place in Deadwood to rock out and rest up -- Deadwood Mountain Grand, A Holiday Inn Resort -- is one of the area’s newest and most unique hotel properties, a resort experience that is sure to leave you longing for a return trip long after you return home.At the Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, Casino and Event Center, Perched on a hill overlooking Historic Deadwood and featuring GRAND views, the 98-room luxury hotel is a wonderful addition to the recently refurbished adjoining Homestake Mine Slime Plant, one of Deadwood’s most unique historic landmarks, now home to Deadwood’s only large-scale event center and casino. Combined, the three (hotel, event center and casino) provide a resort mix unparalleled by any other. Our three executive king rooms, along with our five king suites deliver the most breath taking views in town. Seven of these eight well-appointed rooms feature spectacular views from their private balconies, including that of Mount Moriah Cemetery (the final resting place of Wild Bill Hickok, Calamity Jane and other legends of the Wild West) and Historic Deadwood. Relax and enjoy lounging by the grand stone fireplace over two stories tall under vaulted ceilings or cozy up by the side seating fireplace both making our rustic interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.