We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed and happy.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1906 Deadwood Mountain Drive, Deadwood, SD 57732   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Scribner, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Impressed and happy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Classy and trendy hotel. Location is a couple blocks off the main tourist area but sits as an entity all its own. There is valet service as well as self-parking in an enclosed garage. Finding the entrance to the hotel is an issue. You have to take the elevator up to 3rd floor of the establishment to check in at the lobby. Check inn was handled very professionally and the lobby area is gorgeous. This hotel is part of an event center, has gambling and a restaurant with good food. This new business has been built inside an older gold treatment plant and they have done a fantastic job. Rooms were tastefully decorated with modern décor. Lighting and air conditioning good. Good choices in bathroom tile and room carpeting. Granite sink and large shower with quality fixtures in the bath area. Towels were substantial and stocked well. Nice and spacious entry to room. Robes provided for guest use. Beautiful drapes. Bedding of quality linens and comfortable mattress. Flat screen TV, Wi-Fi and phone charging dock. Room was clean and presents itself well as most new constructed rooms are. Employees were kind and helpful. Called the day we needed lodging and still managed to get a fantastic deal. If Deadwood is your destination then then this hotel will amaze you with its charm and value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    68
    14
    6
    7
See reviews for
62
124
3
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Wow, from the minute we arrived the service and hospitality was not to be matched.
We arrived very early poor travel planning on our part, the hotel was very accomodating they stored our luggage safely and got us into our room early (Thank God). Lets start at the door there is a person to hold the door for you and lend a hand if needed with bags. The restaurant was excellent food was very good and fresh. Servers were very attentive to the guests needs. The rooms were clean and fresh and the a/c was working to perfection. A definite gem in Deadwood. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermitage
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I have stayed at a number of hotels in Deadwood over the past few years... The Deadwood Mountain Grand is by far my families NEW favorite place to stay! We will book our rooms for rally next year as soon as they become available! Loved the fact that we could walk right out onto the Michelson trail from our room, Free parking in their garage, BEAUTIFUL rooms with AMAZING views of the entire downtown... you can't beat it... we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, General Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments. It means so much to all of us. We are all pleased that you loved Deadwood Mountain Grand. We agree, the views from the hotel are amazing! We look forward to seeing you again at Rally 2013, if not before!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

While visiting during the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally, we stopped at this new hotel to eat a nice dinner. In a world filled with only fried foods and burgers, we ate well with a salmon mediterranean salad and bruschetta. The inside of this used to be 'slime plant' is beautiful in all of its rustic glory. Reclaimed wood beams, exposed stone and brick and metal walls. Worth a visit, as it is the only 'new' place in this charming historic town. They have an outdoor bar, free parking and a great view of the whole city!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, General Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind remarks concerning the Aught6 Grill. Agree, we have some great menu items. Please know it means so much to us here at Deadwood Mountain Grand when we hear such nice comments. We hope that you will return to our hotel for any overnight accommodation needs you may have during future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

What an excellent hotel! Stayed 2 nights and enjoyed every minute. Rooms are very spacious and well appointed. Everyone from the maid to the doorman and people at the front desk are very friendly and made us feel as though we were family. They have an excellent restaurant on site with fantastic food. The casino bar is also great. And the prices for food and drink were some of the best in the area. We have stayed at different hotels here, and many were very disappointing. Deadwood should be pleased to have such a great hotel in their city. And being so close to Deadwood, you can walk anywhere and don't have to worry about looking for a parking spot. We'll be sure to let everyone we know to stay here, and we are definitely coming back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, General Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
I can not tell you how important it is for our guest to critique there stay with us. Knowing that you were able to stay with us and have such a great experience brings a smile to the staff. The staff takes much pride in making sure that you have the experience you were looking for. Hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

We were very happy during our two night stay here, everybody friendly, very comfortable room! From the bellman who escorted us through the casino to the hotel (as we'd read on tripadvisor it is helpful to have a guide first time through to the elevator to the actual hotel lobby) to the wait staff at the restaurant, all made us feel welcome. The room was lovely and our favorite feature was the view from our balcony looking toward mountain and Deadwood. Also, they have a parking garage, we both valeted and self parked, both were convenient. Within walking distance of the main drag.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed at the Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel for 2 nights. Its a great location for exploring the area. The rooms were nice, the price was good. Staff was very friendly. The water pressure was horrible in the shower, there were long black hairs in the shower and no hooks in the bathroom, would have been handy for hanging the robes the hotel provides. Overall it was a nice place and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMGHotelRep, General Manager at Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. As a new property, we welcome and encourage reviews. Please know we welcome all reviews and use them as a benchmark as we continue to make Deadwood Mountain Grand the premier property in Deadwood. We hope to see you again soon, and on your next visit, we hope you will find the improvements you mentioned. Overall, we're glad you enjoyed you stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel

Address: 1906 Deadwood Mountain Drive, Deadwood, SD 57732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only place in Deadwood to rock out and rest up -- Deadwood Mountain Grand, A Holiday Inn Resort -- is one of the area’s newest and most unique hotel properties, a resort experience that is sure to leave you longing for a return trip long after you return home.At the Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, Casino and Event Center, Perched on a hill overlooking Historic Deadwood and featuring GRAND views, the 98-room luxury hotel is a wonderful addition to the recently refurbished adjoining Homestake Mine Slime Plant, one of Deadwood’s most unique historic landmarks, now home to Deadwood’s only large-scale event center and casino. Combined, the three (hotel, event center and casino) provide a resort mix unparalleled by any other. Our three executive king rooms, along with our five king suites deliver the most breath taking views in town. Seven of these eight well-appointed rooms feature spectacular views from their private balconies, including that of Mount Moriah Cemetery (the final resting place of Wild Bill Hickok, Calamity Jane and other legends of the Wild West) and Historic Deadwood. Relax and enjoy lounging by the grand stone fireplace over two stories tall under vaulted ceilings or cozy up by the side seating fireplace both making our rustic interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.