We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Location to visit historic Deadwood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Deadwood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Deadwood to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Deadwood
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   531 Main Street, Deadwood, SD 57732   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save!
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Deadwood
Conakry, Guinea
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Super Location to visit historic Deadwood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

Located at the start of Deadwood's strip of fame. New building with typical Hilton chain facilities.
Room size is adequate and well appointed. Like the ability to open the window and let the fresh air in.
Didn't eat at their restaurant nor did we gamble at their casino.
Friendly staff at the front desk who were helpful.
Parking is free. Don't waste your money on valet parking unless you're infirm or hopelessly wealthy.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    78
    35
    13
    7
See reviews for
57
103
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bismarck, North Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

The Hampton Inn was a very nice hotel - what you'd expect from a Hampton. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom had granite countertops and a granite tub surround. The air conditioner in the room did not work, which was disappointing. Parking was a problem with limited space and a long walk. The hotel does offer valet parking if you want to shell out another five bucks. The buffet was so so. Typical buffet fare. Staff was courteous.
The hotel adveritses high speed Internet, but be advised that this is WIRED Internet. There is no wireless service in the rooms, however there is wireless in the common areas.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

My son won a free night at this Hampton and since he couldn't use it, he gave it to us. It was on our way home from our trip to Reno so decided to check it out. It was around 6:30 on a Friday night when we arrived. We've been to Deadwood before so we weren't there to gamble, just to relax before our drive home the next day. We weren't sure where to pull up at the hotel so basically just parked out front off the street just a bit. Check-in was quick even though the desk clerk was very busy with phone calls and other guests. The parking valet gave us a cart to unload our luggage from the car and off to the room we went. We left our vehicle sit while we unloaded our luggage in the room. After taking the cart back we decided that for the low $5.00 charge, valet parking was the way to go. I'm sure we could have found a parking spot on our own but we were tired and didn't want to bother. The room was very nice and even though we were on the main street side, you couldn't really hear the traffic. This hotel is the first (or last) hotel on Deadwood's main street so I think that helps with the lack of noise. We decided to try the buffet restaurant in the hotel. It was crab legs and prime rib night so the cost was a little more than we expected but we got our fill and didn't have to walk anywhere and try to find a place on a busy Friday night. The food was very good. My husband went back to the room while I stayed in the lobby and checked my e-mail on the lobby computer. When I got back to the room he informed me that the heater wasn't working properly. I called the front desk and they sent someone up who also happened to be the parking valet! He couldn't get it fixed so they quickly moved us to another non-smoking room. With the heavy blankets on the bed we probably wouldn't have needed the heater after all but who knew? We slept fairly well and the next morning checked out their free breakfast. The hot food for the day was breakfast pizzas made on bagel halves--very yummy! They also had rolls, toast, muffins, fruit, yogurt & cereals. The coffee was very good too. The breakfast room is a bit small but the attendant was friendly and kept it well stocked. Checkout was a breeze and the parking valet retrieved our car quickly. All in all, if I could get a great price I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Quiet, clean room
  • Disliked — heater hard to regulate
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2008

This is a very nice hotel. The nicest you can probably find in Deadwood. The staff is very helpful, the valet was always very eager to helps us (especially since we tipped well). Skip the breakfast buffet, unless you really want to be stuffed, because they have a free breakfast for hotel guests. The buffet at dinner, has 3 sections, Salad and Appetizers, Main Course, and Dessert. These buffets are literally the definition of gluttony, with many items to choose from. This cozy restaurant is pretty cheap, $15.99 for the crab and prime rib buffet.

The room was very nice, with a cozy bed, and two TV's, a little mini fridge, etc. However, there were some extremely young staff members, who looked no older than 15, who referred to my father as 'dude', (they were maids), and did a rather lousy job of tidying the room. There were however, some very helpful staff members, that assisted us on locations to go to, and getting us thing we needed even when it wasn't even their job.

Overall, it was a very nice hotel, and if you are staying in Deadwood is the place to go. Deadwood is an awesome location to stay in when exploring the black hills, for it is in within an hour of Mt. Rushmore, and many other things, and the town is very exciting, meant to look like a colonial gambling town.

I enjoyed my stay very much.

  • Liked — It was a lovely scenery...
  • Disliked — The pool
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatum
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

No one ever answered when we called the Celebrity Hotel, which is why we went ahead and booked with the Hampton, which typically has good beds. We stayed for two nights. Unfortunately, the bed wasn't as comfortable as most Hamptons I've stayed in, and I wasn't looking forward to staying another night, especially when I discovered at 10PM that due to the fact I'd forgotten to remove the "Do Not Disturb" sign our room hadn't been made up. I got additional towels delivered quickly, but kicked myself that I'd paid so much for a hotel room and didn't even get the luxury of maid service because of what amounted to a clerical error on my part.

We enjoyed Deadwood and I would highly recommend staying right in town if you want to gamble and enjoy a meal out and not have to go anywhere afterwards. Everything was readily accessible on foot. The parking for the Hampton looked as if it would be terrible, but we arrived early the first day and secured a free spot, and the second day we simply got lucky and there was one spot available. The valet parking was not something we had to use, but if we had, the $5 probably would have been well spent.

  • Liked — Convenience, right in town
  • Disliked — Bed wasn't up to Hampton norm
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadoka, South Dakota
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

The motel is in a great location. The rooms were adequate. Very nice beds and atmosphere. It was clean for the most part could have corners vacummed. I'm picky about cleaniness. But, all in all this is a nice place, quiet. We didn't eat there other than the continental breakfast. That was very good.
The room was $200.00 night. It was August and a Friday night.

  • Liked — The location and room atmosphere & parking vallet!
  • Disliked — good have been cleaner
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2008

Although I had read good reviews on tripadvisor, I was still pleasantly surprised by how nicely appointed and 'luxurious' the room seemed for the price point. Beds had duvets, furniture and carpet was in top condition, bathroom had alot of granite (shower and counter areas) and a nice long counter, towels were nice quality, there was a small fridge AND a microwave.

The included breakfast was fine. Again, the breakfastroom, though small, was nicely appointed. Food was quickly replenished and coffee was not bad (you had a choice of decaf, medium blend or robust - the latter was the best). One day they had an interesting offering of tortillas, eggs scrambled with onion,peppers, and steak pieces - yummy topped off with a bit of salsa! Wish they had the hard boiled eggs though. Only bad item was the fruit salad - had an off-putting medicinal taste. But there was fresh whole fruit available also.

Pool area is a bit dark - not as nicely done as the rest of the hotel.

Although the hotel is located at the end of the strip, the walk is not long so I would say the location is convenient (and probably a bit quieter than the ones mid-strip). We were not interested in the casinos at all and you would hardly know you were in a 'casino' hotel.

  • Liked — Clean, nicer furnishings
  • Disliked — Room was a bit small
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Deadwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Deadwood

Address: 531 Main Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Deadwood
#6 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
#6 Family Hotel in Deadwood
#13 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Deadwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Deadwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Deadwood Hotel Deadwood
Deadwood Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Deadwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.