We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good, some bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Deadwood

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Deadwood to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Lee Street, Deadwood, SD 57732   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 22 hotels in Deadwood
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Some good, some bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This property has some very good points. They include a very nice staff and a fabulous location, right in the middle of everyting in Deadwood. Now to the bad. Although we were on a bus tour, we managed to upgrade to a suite, partially in order to get the TV out of the bedroom. Guess where the TV is? In the bed area instead of the nice, but small sitting area. The staff agreed with me that this is not a good arrangement. The property has 78 units on four floors - serviced by one very slow elevator. Try this when a bus load checks in. I don't think this property could be opened in very many places in the country. The windows looked out...into the back part of the hall, not outside. The stairs were at the opposite end of the hall. What happens in case of a fire? Think about it. Then there is the breakfast area. The pictures really do not do it justice. It is small and very cramped. If somebody is making toast, the entire end of the breakfast bar is blocked. The variety was, however, quite good with scrambled eggs, hot biscuits, hot sweet rolls, hot ham and sausage gravy along with the usual cereals, etc. The pancake machine (see my pictures) was useless, however. Even when it 'worked', which it did not very often the three mornings I was there, it put out burnt crumbs in large quantities and often a torn up something came out instead of a pancake. Get rid of that thing and install a couple of do-it-yourself waffle makers. The room was very clean and spacious, with not a hint of smoke.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    46
    24
    18
    11
See reviews for
41
60
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Baldwinsville, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The hotel is located in the heart of downtown Deadwood so you can park the car and walk almost everywhere. The rooms were clean and well appointed. I didn't like the fact that our window faced the lobby - but we didn't spend that much time in the room anyway so no big deal (there wasn't any noise coming from the lobby). The breakfast was fine - we like to "grab-and-go". The pool wasn't anything special but it was fine - we were the only people taking a swim before dinner. The staff was very friendly and helpful finding restaurants, etc. I would definitely come back here.

Room Tip: Specifiy if you want a room with an outside window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I called to confirm my reservation they informed me they had two reservations for me and it was too late to cancel one that I would be charged for two I stated I had NOT booked two rooms it was just my husband and I he said there was nothing he could do... called the hotel the manager said she had one reservation for me no apologies nothing

At the hotel they put us in a handicap room the door we did not request one! the was open when we arrived the heat was on 80 the toliet seat was loose told the front desk three days in a row never was fixed I told the manager she could have cared less about any of it! I would not recommend this hotel to ANYONE

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deadwood, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Myra B,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am deeply sorry for the overall issues you had during your stay. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Deadwood, SD.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Everything in Deadwood is very cramped. The town is laid out in a long steep walled gulch (In fact the real name of the town is Deadwood Gulch). This Inn is no exception. It is a tidy, compact 4 stories with the lobby loading zone (20 minute parking!) on a narrow alley sized street. It is very new and quite handsome (a nice 4 story atrium) but there is only one very slow elevator. We never tried out the pool or spa pool because we forgot to bring our wet swim suits in from the car trunk and the car was four and one half blocks away in the municipal parking ramp - provided by Holiday Inn. The in-house casino was fun and competed well with the hundreds of others just outside the door. However, the free snacks and drinks during happy hour provided, by the Inn, were a dissappointment (five flavors of crackers and commercially packaged dip). The staff was pleasent, professional and compent. The room was beautiful and the bed was great. I did not like paying what we had to pay but it was pretty much the going rate for Deadwood. I would stay there again, but I would do something to avoid the walk ( I use a cane to get around) to the parking ramp.

Room Tip: The fourth floor is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Deadwood, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear oyboy3,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay! I was sorry to hear some aspects did not meet your expectations. Please accept my apology on this issue. Deadwood can be very expensive, so I am sure your fellow traveler appreciate your tips.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We spent three days here. The location was perfect. The room was clean and comfortable. There is no safe or refrigerator in the room though.The breakfast was a typical breakfast for a hotel. There is a small casino attached to the hotel. There is a bar there with a very nice bartender, Tony. He was very nice and knowledgeable. It was fun place to stay. You could walk everywhere. Good restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the lobby. If you opened your drapes people acroos the way can see in. It was fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater/Tampa Bay Florida
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Last week we spent three nights here while visiting Deadwood. The location was perfect. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast in the lobby was pretty much the standard free breakfast that most hotels offer. There is a small casino attached to the hotel - like you find in much of Deadwood. There was a small bar that we enjoyed, and Tony the bartender was friendly and knowledgeable about the area and its history. This was a nice stay, and a good value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This place was clean, staff was knowledgable and friendly, beds were very comfy nice t.v. The rooms have windows that face the lobby and the windows go from floor to ceiling so if you want a nicer view request the side that faces main st. We had an inside room but didn't really matter to us. We stayed there for Sturgis and actually enjoyed deadwood more than Sturgis. Overall great stay just new York prices during rally week. They had a pool and hot tub which my brother and I used one night but it was nice. Also would highly recommend the deadwood social club for a nicer upscale dinner and mustang Sally's for a good quick burger.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Deadwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Deadwood

Address: 22 Lee Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 hotels in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Deadwood 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Deadwood-Gold Dust Casino brings you the hottest action, the best location, and the coolest digs in Historic Deadwood. Our luxury hotel is literally the centerpiece of Deadwood's Historic Main Street, just steps from the famous Gold Dust Casino Gaming Complex, where you'll find their delicious buffet serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, plenty of exciting action at the poker and blackjack tables, and the hottest slots in town. If you're planning a business conference or meeting, we're ready to accommodate you with first class conference facilities and banquet rooms. Hotel features include complimentary continental breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and even hardboiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Deadwood, SD and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Deadwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Deadwood Hotel Deadwood
Holiday Inn Deadwood
Deadwood Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Deadwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.