We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice attraction” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tatanka: Story of the Bison

Tatanka: Story of the Bison
1 mile north of Deadwood on US 85, Deadwood, SD 57732
605-584-5678
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 17 Attractions in Deadwood
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Dubuque, Iowa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“nice attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

we stumbled across this place looking for The Lodge at Deadwood. It has a beautiful gift shop and very friendly staff. We chose not to tour the museum because we thought the price was a little high for what we could see from the parking lot. $7.50 per person.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    30
    10
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were really excited about seeing this museum because we loved Dances With Wolves.....we arrived just after the actual tour started and were told we could catch up with them...By the time we "caught up" the tour guide was thru talking and we rounded a corner and there were the bronze statues.... not as impressive a sight as it could have been....the hill they were coming down was small and just did not have the impact we were expecting. We did see some of the costumes from the movie but overall a disappointment.....not expensive , I think $6 pp But I would recommend spending that $6 on a few beers in Deadwood..

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central, ND
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very nice and very informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is very easy to find and good parking also. Costs are $7.50 per person if i remember right unless you are 65 or older. Nice building and grounds and the history is great. You might be expecting bigger but what they have is very nice.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Surprised at how much I loved stopping there.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Had a great time at Tatanka. Enjoyed reading all of the information in the exhibits and seeing all of the artifacts and pictures displayed. My favorite was the walking trail and the incredible bison statues.

This is an educational stop...but also a visual feast between the bison statues and beautiful view from near the statues.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Tatanka: Story of the Bison”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

If you are in the Deadwood area, I recomend a visit to Tatanka on U.S. Highway 85 – One mile north of Deadwood to learn the story of the bison and experience the richness of the Lakota people.
Tatanka is a Lakota word that literally means “bull buffalo,” but Tatanka meant more than that. Ceremonies and daily life revolved around sacred reverence for Tatanka, well that's what the blurb says and I heartily agree.
Tatanka was a bit of a cold stop,for us, but then it was late May so you can't expect summer tempreatures.
The site is really interesting with a very knowledgeable guide.
The site has replica tepees set up to show what a Sioux village would have looked like in the 1800s, and there were also huge bronze statutes depicting a bison hunt in the 1800s..

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tatanka: Story of the Bison also viewed

 

Been to Tatanka: Story of the Bison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tatanka: Story of the Bison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.