We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome house with Great History!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adams House

Adams House
22 Van Buren St, Deadwood, SD 57732
605-578-3724
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Attractions in Deadwood
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
Attraction details
Velva, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Awesome house with Great History!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

What a beautiful house. The history is amazing! We went to the Adam's museum downtown first and than to the house. It is a gem!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    43
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
globeseeker007
Top Contributor
959 reviews 959 reviews
539 attraction reviews
Reviews in 321 cities Reviews in 321 cities
1,014 helpful votes 1,014 helpful votes
“Great tour; worth the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

The only way to see this Queen Anne-style home is on a guided tour through the house which takes about 45 minutes. My wife and I were the only two on the tour and, with all our questions, the tour probably took longer. Our tour guide, Michael, was well-versed in the history of the house. It was built by Harris and Anna Franklin, Jewish immigrants from Eastern Europe, in 1892. Thirteen years later, he sold it to their son Nathan and his wife. Later, the son sold it to W.E. Adams and his wife Alice. Alice died and Adams remarried and died in 1934. His second wife later sold it to a couple who operated it as a bed and breakfast for several years. They later sold it to the city of Deadwood. It opened for public tours in 2000. This place has the original furnishings from the late nineteenth century and had all of the conveniences of that period (indoor plumbing, electricity, steam heating, etc). The tour was very informative and educational and takes one back to a period in history. The story of the two families, Franklin and Adams, is also interesting.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A nice way to ease into Deadwood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

This was a pleasant tour, and a nice way to start our visit to Deadwood. Our guide was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic, and she gave us some good suggestions for things to check out downtown, as well as places to eat.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Impressive house; great tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We really enjoyed this stop. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable of the house and of the families that lived there. The house and furnishings are beautiful and have an interesting history. Probably the most informative historic home tour we've ever been on. AAA members get $1 discount on admission ($6 instead of $7).

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We visited the Adam's house this past week, during our vacation to the Black Hill's. We loved this stop! It was economical, which is always important to us,a s a family of 7. We visited as a family and all of our children were interested and had plenty of questions and observations. Our youngest child is 8 and he found it interesting aswell. Not sure how younger children would fair, as nothing in the house is to be touched and it does require quiet listening. Our guide was a retired teacher and he was very good at keeping the group focused and entertained. This is a must see for anyone who appreciates Victorian style homes and the furnishings of the era. Would love to revisit the Adam's HOuse again on our next vacation to Deadwood!

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adams House also viewed

 

Been to Adams House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adams House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.