We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A first-class evening with old freinds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deadwood Social Club

Deadwood Social Club
657 Main St, Above Saloon #10, Deadwood, SD 57732-1123
605-578-1533
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 52 Restaurants in Deadwood
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Northern Italian Steakhouse
New Ulm, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A first-class evening with old freinds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

This is a tough one, the attitude of the waitress is hard to overlook.
We met my college roommate and his wife, her sister and husband for dinner on our last night of the Sturgis rally. My roommate is a local and always comes up with an unusual or out-of-the-way spot to visit.
He raved about this restaurant and assured us biker gear was fine for dress.
We waited for over an hour downstairs in the Old Number 10 Saloon after we were first told it would be 30 minutes and then 10 minutes when a member of the party went up to check. The buzzer never did go off so we "stormed" the place and were immediately seated at the best table in the house; outdoors overlooking the street.
The snotty (there's an archaic term for you) little waitress caught us all by surprise. No sense of humor, no personality, nothing.
Beverages and food were delivered in a fairly timely manner with the waitress still copping an attitude.
Good food, conversation and beverage made it a very nice evening, in fact, the highlight of our Sturgis experience.
My ex-roommate filled out a comment card castigating our waitress and was eventually rewarded with an apology and a gift certificate from the manager.
Again, a tough one, the evening with friends probably skewing the rating to the good.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    141
    42
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
TN
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We ate here our first night and enjoyed it so much that we came again for a second visit. The food was outstanding and the service was great! I definitely would recommend.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Hidden treat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We had a large group (9 people) for dinner on a Friday night, and made a reservation in advance. There was a lot of hemming and hawing from the hostess about whether they could accommodate us, but ended up deciding they could. I'm not sure what the issue was - it worked out perfectly, though we did feel a little like we were rushed out the door at the end (not offered coffee or dessert). We ended up going elsewhere for dessert.

The food was very good (all 9 of us had various kinds of pasta), though the portions were a bit on the small side for some kinds of pasta. It was flavorful and the server was attentive and they accommodated some special dietary requests. There were several people who were bummed about the lack of beer on tap, however. Hard to believe there are restaurants in Deadwood that don't have any beer taps!

Enjoyable, and would try again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always a delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

The food at the Social Club never fails to impress, and the opportunity to dine outside is an added treat. Best in Deadwood!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wild Bill Sure Knew How to Live!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We found it humorous that we had to walk the 20 some-odd steps up the stairs to reach the restaurant, because the elevator only can safely lower 6 people to the ground floor, and lift none. Once we caught our breath, it was taken again by the beauty of the elegant bar and the elegance of the dining areas. The walls are flooded with portraits and photographs of the famous and infamous from the era that brought Deadwood's name into national attention that has been held to this day. Our waiter was visiting for the summer all the way from Denver, and he was absolutely flawless in his service. The dinners were plated and presented with sheer elegance, and the steaks were pure perfection. Our cocktails were perfect. The prices were reasonable, but anything but cheap. When the evening was done, we both vowed to return to this "club" whenever we can come back to Deadwood! Five Stars, Deadwood Social Club!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deadwood Social Club also viewed

 

Been to Deadwood Social Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deadwood Social Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.