We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Deadwood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Deadwood to your Saves list
The Lodge at Deadwood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Pine Crest Lane, Box 320, Deadwood, SD 57732   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Grand Rapids, MI
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Top notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was our first trip to Deadwood, and this was the ideal place to stay.
Just a couple of miles from the downtown, but just far enough away to beat the "wild west" feel and enjoy the luxury. This is a first rate, top notch resort with good food choices and beautiful rooms. I have to say the restaurants portions were more than you can eat. We gambled a little, and enjoyed the scenery.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are very happy you had such a wonderful experience. Being off Main Street with great views from the facility is definitely a benefit. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you on a return visit to the Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    76
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
89
115
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mooresville, Indiana, United States
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Beautiful hotel, gorgeous room, comfortable bed ... loved it! Staff was great and helpful when needed. While we didn't try the pool area, it would have been a great extra for kids. Spent a brief time in the casino just for fun. Ate dinner in Oggie's and breakfast at Deadwood Grill, and really found no reason to leave the hotel ... great overnite break in a long vacation!

Room Tip: Had a first floor mini suite with a second outside entrance that was handy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor! We are pleased to hear that you found the accommodations to be very relaxing and you enjoyed your time with us at the Lodge. We hope to see you back at the resort again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We spent three nights there as part of a golf group not gamblers I guess that's why our rooms were 129.00 a night as opposed to the 99.00 I heard the girl at the front desk quote to a woman checking in the same night we did. Dinner in the restaurant that night was very good and so was the service. Our group also had a buffet dinner the next night and this was also okay. I feel a blanket should be provided as part of the bedding.because the sheets are thin and I do not like to use the comforter. The location is excellent away from the downtown area.


  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
On behalf of the staff and management of the Lodge, we would like to thank you for the great review of the Deadwood Lodge facility. The hills are a great golf getaway spot with so many great golf courses it is hard to go wrong. We hope to have you back as our guest in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Lodge at Deadwood during the 2013 Sturgis Rally. It was perfect from start to finish. The staff was friendly, professional and responsive. Our room was very comfortable and well appointed. We dined at the Deadwood Grille for dinners and breakfast, and the food was terrific as was the service. The casino hasnmany new slots and good table games. We have stayed in Deadwood many times over the past several years, and the Lodge at Deadwood is far and away the best lodging experience we have had.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor! Our staff takes great pride in providing the very best in service and we believe it shows in the level of service you get while at the Lodge. We hope to see you again next year during the Rally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatrice, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here during the Sturgis Rally and had a great time. The place was buzzing with activity and was very busy, however you never felt crowded. The front desk people were very helpful and went out of their way for us. We had an issue with a bill and Sean was very fast to make it right. We ate in both the sports bar and the regular restaurant and the food and service is excellent. A funny side note; this place has the best bacon I have ever eaten. The casino is very spacious and could easily house twice as many slot machines if the State would let them. The poker room is nice however, they had a rebuy tournament where you could basically buy all the chips you wanted. I have played poker in many places and have never seen anything like that before. We just wish this place was closer, at 600 miles it is a once a year deal for us.

Room Tip: All the rooms have different advantages, if you want a view pick a second floor room. Easy access t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
On behalf of the staff and management of the Lodge, we would like to thank you for the great review of the Deadwood Lodge facility. It is nice to hear that even at our busiest during the Sturgis Rally our guests don’t feel crowded. We hope to see you again next August during the Rally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

This was our 3rd year at the Lodge. Front desk and management (Sean) were great so friendly. The housekeeping staff is very friendly and they do a great job! Sean the bartender at Rounders remembered us from last year and him and his servers were great. We ate at Oggies 3 times staff was great but the one night we at at the Grill (our favorite place) they were way under staffed for wait staff but the food did not disappoint the chef is amazing. Bring back the spring rolls with the halibut:) See u next August Lodge!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor! It is always great to hear from our frequent guests. August is a great month to visit Deadwood with the Sturgis Rally and Kool Deadwood nights going on in August it is hard to go wrong. We will see you again next August.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My family and I spent one night here last week, but wish we could have stayed longer. The entire hotel is beautiful. From the time you drive up to the hotel, the lobby and the room are all beautiful. We also liked the location being outside of Deadwood situated on a hill. The rooms are large, we stayed in a queen deluxe and it had 2 queen beds, a chair and a sofa. There was also a large vanity outside of the bathroom and a fridge and microwave. The beds are super comfortable. We did not eat in the restaurants. The pool area is very nice. The pool is geared to small children but they had a very large hot tub. It was nice that there was complimentary coffee in the lobby area all day. We didn't interact with the staff much other than check in, but they seemed to be nice for the most part. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a view, we didnt get one though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeadwoodLodge, Manager at The Lodge at Deadwood, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor! It is surprising to us that we get that complaint a lot from people. It is always nicer when you get to extend your stay a little longer and enjoy everything that Deadwood and the Lodge has to offer. Thank you again for your comments and I hope that you return to the Lodge of Deadwood in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Deadwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Deadwood

Address: 100 Pine Crest Lane, Box 320, Deadwood, SD 57732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Deadwood
#2 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
#4 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
#4 Family Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Deadwood 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lodge at Deadwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Deadwood Hotel Deadwood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Deadwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.