We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best private campground in the area!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Valley Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Deadwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hidden Valley Campground
Save
You added Hidden Valley Campground to your Saves list
21423 US Highway 385, Deadwood, SD 57732   |  
Hotel amenities
Farmington, Utah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best private campground in the area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stayed here for a week while visiting the area in a toyhauler trailer, we had full hookups. The campground was very clean and well maintained. The common area garbage cans were emptied at least twice a day. The restrooms/showers were clean and well maintained. No pool, but a small playground for kids, and a stream running down the middle you could wade/play in. It is located just off the highway, but far enough away that you will not be bothered with excessive road noise. There is a gas station/convenience store about a 50 yards from the entrance, as well as a pub and grub cafe (good food, but $$ for what you got). We also explored the other campgrounds that were in the area, this one was by FAR the most family friendly and cleaner of the bunch! Not to mention not as cramped, some of the other campgrounds the sites were stacked up on each other, we were far enough away from neighbors that you could have a private conversation. We also brought a OHV and there are alot of easily accessible forest service roads in the area, my son also did some mountain biking close by. Did not have any problems with services provided. I would recommend this campground with out hesitation and would stay here again. Oh yeah, it is pet friendly, our wiener dog gives it two paws up!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

We had no recommendations, and picked this place based on website and conversations with Karen via phone. Karen and Bob, managers of the campground know how to rock hospitality. This place is beautiful. We were in tents near the babbling brook, under lovely shade pines. As other reviewers have stated, very clean and quiet. One of our traveling partners who have been rv-ing across states said it ws the "taj mahal of camp showers"! Would definitely return here. FWIW, it is also reasonable compared to other campgrounds in the area, although returning, price would not be an issue because it is just that awesome.

The managers will deliver fire wood if you've purchased. Never would have expected that.

Our friends who had the camper were across the creek from our tent sites. Their site had a deck/swing/picnic table overlooking the creek. We could easily get to them by crossing the creek via the walking bridge through the trees. Very idyllic. Can't say enough.

Room Tip: We were in tent sites 49/50. Lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

Bob and Karen are the best, we had vehicle trouble and they helped us out. Last year our reservations were mixed up they gave us a special campsite for 2 nites until ours opened up. We loved the cabin, very clean. We love it during the rally. Awesome place to start your ATV trail ride. Clean bathrooms, clean campsites, awesome people, we have stayed there the last 3 years and are planning to stay during the rally again this year.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

This campground has the cleanest shower room ever. We stayed in a back-in site that backed up to a hill covered with tall trees which provided great shade. The playground area and creek running through the campground were great. Some of the sites along the creek have patios with swinging chairs. A great campsite. Is near the highway but was quiet for sleeping at night. The hosts were great. A friend recommended this campground and we were very impressed. Was only about 5 minutes or so from Deadwood. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANKATO
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

My husband, adult son, and I stayed here last year and were very pleasantly surprised by this campground. It is super clean! We stayed in one of the camping cabins, with a TV and DVD/VCR. The bathrooms, washing areas, picnic areas, landscaping, and cabins were superb. There is a small creek running through the property. The only possible drawback is that you are not closer to Deadwood--this is out in the country, although there are several other businesses nearby. It is a very quiet, peaceful place.

Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

This "hidden place' is off of Highway 385...about 5 miles from Sturgis and all the action. Perfect for what we wanted! After a long ride to Sturgis, we wanted a place that was clean and comfortable where we could relax!!! This place fit the bill. They were very welcoming of bikers and parking was plentiful and safe.

We stayed in one of the mini-cabins - very simple and comfortable. We were surprise to find a tv with cable and DVD as well! The campground store had limited hours, but had almost anything you could need. The bathrooms and showers were spotless and spacious - never had to wait, even though the campground was full. Laundry was available and there was a small game room.

This is a nice way to enjoy the craziness of Sturgis Bike Week, but also have a safe and quiet place to retreat to at the end of the day. Next door to the place is a restaurant/bar with very limited hours...pretty much just dinner. The food sucked, but there was a band and drinks and good company there with fellow bikers...and we could drink, since we were within walking of our cabin. :)

All in all, Hidden Valley Campground is a good value for the price. Probably NOT for people who come to Sturgis to party. VERY convenient to all of the great scenic rides around the area!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hidden Valley Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Campground

Address: 21423 US Highway 385, Deadwood, SD 57732
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Deadwood
Number of rooms: 61

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Valley Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.