We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay right on Main Street” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming to your Saves list
Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming
601 Historic Main Street, Deadwood, SD 57732   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Deadwood
Senlis, France
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay right on Main Street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We booked this hotel not knowing anything about Deadwood. We were delighted to find ourselves in this historic building. Although the rooms were pretty basic, they were comfortable, large and relatively inexpensive. We heard no street noise, as that had been a worry since our room was right on Main Street. We recommend the steaks at the Gem Restaurant, which is part of the hotel. Delicious!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MineralPalace, Manager at Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Thank you for the kind words about your stay at the Mineral Palace. Our restaurant, The Gem, is well known for excellent steaks and we are delighted that you agree! We also appreciate your noting that our rooms, while located right in the heart of Downtown Deadwood, are nice and quiet. Thanks again and come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    33
    11
    6
    5
See reviews for
16
42
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Mirage, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

If you love Harley's and love first class accommodations this is for you. Deadwood has all the history in the vicinity anyone would hope for. The hotel is first class in every way. The attentive staff accommodated your every need.

The restaurant was over-rated.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Small casino; rooms have been newly remodeled....Very clean.....Great food at the restauraunt.....We had breakfast there; lot's of food....Hotel near shops downtown....

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

The Mineral Palace is an average hotel with the advantage of having one of the largest gaming floors in Deadwood.

The beds and linens appear to be older as does some of the decor in the room, however the rooms do feature Flat Screen TV's and an above average bathroom.

There is room service available via the above Gem Steakhouse which is located on the 2nd floor of the establishment.

Good food, I highly recommend...

Service was average, nobody appeared to be overly-friendly including the manager Laurie who looked rather grumpy.

All and all not bad of a place and it certainly deserves to be ranked higher on Tripadvisor than the First Gold hotel, hopefully this review can get it there.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Stayed at the Mineral Palace on our first trip to Deadwood. Staff was great and friendly. Very helpful in giving directions to places. Going back the end of July and can hardly wait to stay at the Mineral Palace again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

I read the other reviews here,but the other hotels in Deadwood (and much of he black hills area) were full, so we went with the Mineral Palace, which was recommended by the Celebrity Hotel staff, which was full for the night.. We were extremely satisfied with the very courteous staff who remembered and welcomed us everytime we encountered them. We had kids with us, and are not big gamblers, and they were full of great suggestions for activities with the kids. The room was beautiful and spotless, and the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! (And I have a really bad back and a $12,000 tempur-pedic comfort zone adjustible bed at home). We are really picky about cleanliness, and were very satisfied.

The Gem steakhouse was full and had great steaks...I recommend the Garlic rib-eye, which was delicious. It seems that the Mineral Palace has done a turnaround from their previous issues expressed here. Read my other reviews, and you will see that I am not too generous with my compliments...We would stay there again.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

I have seen more organization in a monkey crap fight at the city zoo! My wife and I were left disappointed time and again from the Suite that wasn't Sweet. To the Anniversary Dinner that never came!
For nearly $300 you would think the staff would atleast try to make your stay pleasant.

The staff is too busy gossiping amongst themselves to pay attention to the patrons.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming

Address: 601 Historic Main Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mineral Palace Hotel & Gaming: Located on Deadwood's Historic Main Street. Try your luck in our 12 Casinos. Enjoy Deadwood's Best Steaks at the Gem Steakhouse & Saloon. Pamper yourself in one of our 13 VIP Suites. All 75 recently remodeled rooms have in-room safes, iron, & ironing board, and free high-speed wireless Internet. Handicapped Accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mineral Palace Hotel and Gaming, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.