We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VIP Wine Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort to your Saves list
Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort
304 Cliff Street, Hwy 85 S, Deadwood, SD 57732   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great Gulch Getaway
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Deadwood
Lead, South Dakota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“VIP Wine Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Being a local I have had first hand experience at many of the casinos in Deadwood. The Deadwood Gulch is the casino that I play at the most. The staff is friendly and I have only had a problem with a room twice in the past 15 years. NOT BAD!!! Those two times I had a problem it was immediately resolved.
This hotel/casino offers many promotions to keep you as actively involved as you want to be. The VIP Wine Dinner was good and our group had fun and we will be back next year for the next wine tasting event.
D. Larive

Room Tip: i They do not have room service or a pool, but they do have a hot tub and the restuarant is not far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you very much! We had a wonderful time at the wine dinner ourselves. It was nice serving such a great group of people. We sure try to keep thing fun and friendly and we are always looking for ideas to make it even more so. Suggestions are welcome!
Take care and see you soon.
-Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    68
    34
    8
    3
See reviews for
43
102
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huron SD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I was the coordinator for a group of seniors on a recent motor coach trip to Deadwood Gulch. The staff was outstanding from the time we checked in until we left! Many contests and games for our group and we had lots of WINNERS! The group coordinator also arranged for a side trip to a Roy Clark Concert, which was thoroughly enjoyed by all. The trip was an outstanding value! Looking forward to our next trip out there in the spring!

Room Tip: Some of the 2nd floor rooms do not have elevator access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave this review for us. It is much appreciated!
We pride ourselves on taking care of busses and large groups. It's always fun to help plan and create a total package. From fresh cookies, snacks, and great food to slot machines, excursions, and special games, our sales and marketing team really does a nice job putting together packages that will help you sell seats. I will make sure they see your review. It's always a wonderful feeling to find out their efforts were appreciated and that they helped to create a fun and memorable trip.
Thank you again!
-Tracy Island
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We arranged a bus trip from Cheyenne, WY to the Deadwood Gulch Gaming resort. From the beginning the staff were very helpful and accomodating. We were greeted with a wine and cheese event, provided meal vouchers, free play and entry into a slot tournament. Service was outstanding the two days we were there and all of the staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. Great job Deadwood Gulch...would definately work with them again for future trips!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

A hotel promotion took us to Deadwood Gulch for the first time. We have a great time and did not leave TOOOOO much money behind. We will go again when time permits...probably in the spring. Our room was on the creek side and was huge. There was a fridge and micro. The casino is sorta old hat but machines are loose most of the time. The staff is delightful. Carol who runs the bus program is terrific and well organized. Bonnie in the Restaurant is a professional and warm fuzzy server with a great personality. Loved her and enjoyed the food, simple but very good.

Room Tip: Creek side is best if you like to sleep later...the other side overlooks the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The hotel is very close to Deadwood centre. Rooms are spacious and clean. Good beds. Good breakfast and dinner served onsite. Casino in the lobby. Drinks for free as long as you play.
Little expensive compared to other places in the area, but that is because it's Deadwood i think? People workimg in the resort are very kind and helpful with everything. Very good service in restaurant at night and at breakfast as well as during check-in. Lovely lady helped us in the casino having some fun.

Deadwood is very nice to visit. We spent 2 days in town and the area. Fun bars and restaurants in a cowboy western atmosphere. Not exactly like in the tv series, but very much fun. Easy and beautiful drive to Mount Rushmore from Deadwood by the way...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams Bay, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

First of all let me say that the people here are very nice, the rooms are clean,and the free breakfast is great. But if you are expecting anything like a regular casino hotel you are out of luck. First of all the rooms are small and old school. Someone said to make sure to get a room overlooking the creek so we did. The problem is the window is so small and high up that you have to stand right at the window to see anything. And the casino is very small, and especially disapointing for me, there is only one blackjack table and it is only open from 4:00 P.M. till midnight Thursday thru Sunday. If you are coming to gamble the only place, as far as I can tell that approches being a full casino resort (with adequte parking) is Deadwood Mountain Grand.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was our first time staying at the Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, but we would stay there again. Everyone at the Deadwood Gulch was very friendly and nice. Small casino, but plenty of different games to play. Wait staff in casino was always around to offer a drink. Front desk people were always smiling. Loved the "Hot Seat" drawings each night!
Waitress, Katie, was amazing! Such a happy and entertaining waitress!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort

Address: 304 Cliff Street, Hwy 85 S, Deadwood, SD 57732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Deadwood
#5 Business Hotel in Deadwood
#5 Family Hotel in Deadwood
#8 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deadwood Gulch Gaming Hotel Deadwood
Deadwood Gulch Hotel
Deadwood Gulch Resort
Gulch Deadwood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.