We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay in wonderful Deadwood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort

Save Saved
You added Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort
304 Cliff Street, Hwy 85 S, Deadwood, SD 57732   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Golf Packages
Ranked #7 of 22 hotels in Deadwood
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good stay in wonderful Deadwood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The hotel is very close to Deadwood centre. Rooms are spacious and clean. Good beds. Good breakfast and dinner served onsite. Casino in the lobby. Drinks for free as long as you play.
Little expensive compared to other places in the area, but that is because it's Deadwood i think? People workimg in the resort are very kind and helpful with everything. Very good service in restaurant at night and at breakfast as well as during check-in. Lovely lady helped us in the casino having some fun.

Deadwood is very nice to visit. We spent 2 days in town and the area. Fun bars and restaurants in a cowboy western atmosphere. Not exactly like in the tv series, but very much fun. Easy and beautiful drive to Mount Rushmore from Deadwood by the way...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    57
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
39
84
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williams Bay, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

First of all let me say that the people here are very nice, the rooms are clean,and the free breakfast is great. But if you are expecting anything like a regular casino hotel you are out of luck. First of all the rooms are small and old school. Someone said to make sure to get a room overlooking the creek so we did. The problem is the window is so small and high up that you have to stand right at the window to see anything. And the casino is very small, and especially disapointing for me, there is only one blackjack table and it is only open from 4:00 P.M. till midnight Thursday thru Sunday. If you are coming to gamble the only place, as far as I can tell that approches being a full casino resort (with adequte parking) is Deadwood Mountain Grand.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was our first time staying at the Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, but we would stay there again. Everyone at the Deadwood Gulch was very friendly and nice. Small casino, but plenty of different games to play. Wait staff in casino was always around to offer a drink. Front desk people were always smiling. Loved the "Hot Seat" drawings each night!
Waitress, Katie, was amazing! Such a happy and entertaining waitress!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at Deadwood Gulch for the 2012 Sturgis Rally. We were in room #101 with two doors, one that opened to the parking lot and the other that opened to the interior of the hotel. The room was huge with a comfortable king bed, microwave and refridgerator. Since we had a motorcycle, the fact that we had a door opening to the parking lot on the first floor was really convenient because we could keep an eye on the bike and the bike wash was right outside our door. Maid service was good and prompt. We only ate breakfast at the restaurant but the service was prompt. Breakfast was just basic but to me a good and basic breakfast is all I need. Everyone from the restaurant staff to the bar tenders and front desk were friendly and always helpful. As far as gaming, the casino is small and mostly just slots. There is one blackjack table, that I saw, and the night I wanted to play it was full. Not the hotel's fault but kind of a bummer. Basically, if you want to play table games you should go to a downtown casino. In addition, be aware that the hotel is not walking distance to downtown Deadwood. There is a convenient trolley that comes by throughout the day and the evening and runs until 2am. Once downtown it was easy to get a cab if you want to get home in a hurry. There were four of us and we ended up taking the trolley on the way to town and took a cab back each night. The cabbie charged $10 so it was reasonable. All in all it was a great stay and I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: If you have a motorcycle make sure to stay on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Myself and a group of friends spent 10 days at the Deadwood Gulch. My friends have come every year for 15 years to the resort. It was my first visit. We were on a motorcycle adventure form the chicagoland area. What was great is the resort is close to everything, downtown Deadwood, Mt Rushmore, Custer State park and Sturgis. The staff was beyond friendly and helpful. Food and Bar were as easy as opening your door and taking a few steps. The Casino staff was fun and ready for a good time. I spend plenty of time at the Bar and the bartenders were exceptional. Tracy the general manager and her staff should be proud, this place is AWESOME!

Room Tip: Rooms next to the Bakery smell unbelievable, and mountain view rooms you can hear the stream flowing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave this review for us. I am very proud to work with such a fantastic group of people here at Deadwood Gulch. We try to have fun and I'm glad it comes through to our guests. Hope you can make it back next year.
-Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This was my 4th time bringing a group out to Deadwood Gulch. I have never had a bad experience with the hotel, the casino or the employees at this facility. Working with Michelle Patino is like having her in the room right next to you. One phone call is all it ever takes to book the rooms, find out what is going on at the resort, and making special arrangements to make the group feel so special. I highly recommend this facility over any of the others in the area. For a stress free trip, contact Michelle

Room Tip: If you have handicapped people, ask for a ground floor room for them. It makes it easier for them t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for your review. It's nice to see our efforts translate into a wonderful experience for your group. Michelle has been with us for a very long time and it's always nice to hear positive comments about her service. She can "get it done" that's for sure. Hope to see you and your group again soon.
-Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We recently had a family reunion at the Deadwood Gulch. It took many months of planning and Michelle Patino was awesome in helping it turn out just as we wanted. All the staff was so helpful especially Arlette in the convention hall! We would definitely go back.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. Arlet and Michelle are both wonderful! It's great to be able to work with such a fantastic group of people. I'm glad that it comes through in a positive experience to our guests such as yourselves. Thanks again!
-Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort

Address: 304 Cliff Street, Hwy 85 S, Deadwood, SD 57732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Deadwood
#4 Business Hotel in Deadwood
#5 Family Hotel in Deadwood
#7 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deadwood Gulch Gaming Hotel Deadwood
Deadwood Gulch Hotel
Deadwood Gulch Resort
Gulch Deadwood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.