We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Sturgis Rally” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort

Save Saved
You added Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort
304 Cliff Street, Hwy 85 S, Deadwood, SD 57732   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Golf Packages
Ranked #6 of 22 hotels in Deadwood
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great for Sturgis Rally”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at Deadwood Gulch for the 2012 Sturgis Rally. We were in room #101 with two doors, one that opened to the parking lot and the other that opened to the interior of the hotel. The room was huge with a comfortable king bed, microwave and refridgerator. Since we had a motorcycle, the fact that we had a door opening to the parking lot on the first floor was really convenient because we could keep an eye on the bike and the bike wash was right outside our door. Maid service was good and prompt. We only ate breakfast at the restaurant but the service was prompt. Breakfast was just basic but to me a good and basic breakfast is all I need. Everyone from the restaurant staff to the bar tenders and front desk were friendly and always helpful. As far as gaming, the casino is small and mostly just slots. There is one blackjack table, that I saw, and the night I wanted to play it was full. Not the hotel's fault but kind of a bummer. Basically, if you want to play table games you should go to a downtown casino. In addition, be aware that the hotel is not walking distance to downtown Deadwood. There is a convenient trolley that comes by throughout the day and the evening and runs until 2am. Once downtown it was easy to get a cab if you want to get home in a hurry. There were four of us and we ended up taking the trolley on the way to town and took a cab back each night. The cabbie charged $10 so it was reasonable. All in all it was a great stay and I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: If you have a motorcycle make sure to stay on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    53
    25
    4
    3
See reviews for
34
78
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Antioch, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Myself and a group of friends spent 10 days at the Deadwood Gulch. My friends have come every year for 15 years to the resort. It was my first visit. We were on a motorcycle adventure form the chicagoland area. What was great is the resort is close to everything, downtown Deadwood, Mt Rushmore, Custer State park and Sturgis. The staff was beyond friendly and helpful. Food and Bar were as easy as opening your door and taking a few steps. The Casino staff was fun and ready for a good time. I spend plenty of time at the Bar and the bartenders were exceptional. Tracy the general manager and her staff should be proud, this place is AWESOME!

Room Tip: Rooms next to the Bakery smell unbelievable, and mountain view rooms you can hear the stream flowing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave this review for us. I am very proud to work with such a fantastic group of people here at Deadwood Gulch. We try to have fun and I'm glad it comes through to our guests. Hope you can make it back next year.
-Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This was my 4th time bringing a group out to Deadwood Gulch. I have never had a bad experience with the hotel, the casino or the employees at this facility. Working with Michelle Patino is like having her in the room right next to you. One phone call is all it ever takes to book the rooms, find out what is going on at the resort, and making special arrangements to make the group feel so special. I highly recommend this facility over any of the others in the area. For a stress free trip, contact Michelle

Room Tip: If you have handicapped people, ask for a ground floor room for them. It makes it easier for them t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for your review. It's nice to see our efforts translate into a wonderful experience for your group. Michelle has been with us for a very long time and it's always nice to hear positive comments about her service. She can "get it done" that's for sure. Hope to see you and your group again soon.
-Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We recently had a family reunion at the Deadwood Gulch. It took many months of planning and Michelle Patino was awesome in helping it turn out just as we wanted. All the staff was so helpful especially Arlette in the convention hall! We would definitely go back.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. Arlet and Michelle are both wonderful! It's great to be able to work with such a fantastic group of people. I'm glad that it comes through in a positive experience to our guests such as yourselves. Thanks again!
-Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsbluff, Nebraska
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Has to be the cleanest and friendliest place in Deadwood.
When we take a group to the Gulch, we receive nothing but great comments about the property.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you soo much! We enjoy taking care of groups and it's very kind of you to take the time to leave such nice comments.
-Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I go out to the Black Hills almost every summer to see family. For about the past 14 years we have been staying at Deadwood Gulch in Deadwood for part or most of our trip. I have always really liked this hotel because they have a lot of fun activities and themed nights in the gambling room. Even before I was old enough to gamble I always liked the atmosphere and themes. I have seen a lot of changes in this hotel throughout the years but always enjoy my stay. My grandparents used to always request for us to have a room by the creek and it was always nice to leave the windows open. There is some great hiking in the area, the Mickelson Trail runs right in front (an old railroad turned trail) and people on the decks are always spotting wildlife on the steep slope just behind the hotel (where the creek is).

A trolly comes to the hotel frequently to bring people to downtown Deadwood and it is pretty cheap. They do not have a pool anymore (and haven't for several years) but they do have a nice hot tub!

Room Tip: As mentioned in my review, try requesting a room by the creek upon making a reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Wow! It's wonderful to hear that you enjoy returning to us year after year. We'd like to think we have something special here with the creek and quiet. It's nice to hear you feel the same. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you next year.
-Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria Mn.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We enjoyed good value. Good food free Brkfst and casino.

Room Tip: Does not have a pool but can use pool across the rode at their campground
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!
We sure appreciate your kind comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort

Address: 304 Cliff Street, Hwy 85 S, Deadwood, SD 57732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Deadwood
#4 Business Hotel in Deadwood
#5 Family Hotel in Deadwood
#7 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deadwood Gulch Gaming Hotel Deadwood
Deadwood Gulch Hotel
Deadwood Gulch Resort
Gulch Deadwood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.