We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family reunion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort to your Saves list
Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   304 Cliff Street, Hwy 85 S, Deadwood, SD 57732   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Billings, Montana
1 review
“family reunion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We recently had a family reunion at the Deadwood Gulch. It took many months of planning and Michelle Patino was awesome in helping it turn out just as we wanted. All the staff was so helpful especially Arlette in the convention hall! We would definitely go back.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. Arlet and Michelle are both wonderful! It's great to be able to work with such a fantastic group of people. I'm glad that it comes through in a positive experience to our guests such as yourselves. Thanks again!
-Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    98
    38
    12
    6
See reviews for
68
134
10
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Scottsbluff, Nebraska
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Has to be the cleanest and friendliest place in Deadwood.
When we take a group to the Gulch, we receive nothing but great comments about the property.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you soo much! We enjoy taking care of groups and it's very kind of you to take the time to leave such nice comments.
-Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I go out to the Black Hills almost every summer to see family. For about the past 14 years we have been staying at Deadwood Gulch in Deadwood for part or most of our trip. I have always really liked this hotel because they have a lot of fun activities and themed nights in the gambling room. Even before I was old enough to gamble I always liked the atmosphere and themes. I have seen a lot of changes in this hotel throughout the years but always enjoy my stay. My grandparents used to always request for us to have a room by the creek and it was always nice to leave the windows open. There is some great hiking in the area, the Mickelson Trail runs right in front (an old railroad turned trail) and people on the decks are always spotting wildlife on the steep slope just behind the hotel (where the creek is).

A trolly comes to the hotel frequently to bring people to downtown Deadwood and it is pretty cheap. They do not have a pool anymore (and haven't for several years) but they do have a nice hot tub!

Room Tip: As mentioned in my review, try requesting a room by the creek upon making a reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Wow! It's wonderful to hear that you enjoy returning to us year after year. We'd like to think we have something special here with the creek and quiet. It's nice to hear you feel the same. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you next year.
-Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria Mn.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We enjoyed good value. Good food free Brkfst and casino.

Room Tip: Does not have a pool but can use pool across the rode at their campground
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!
We sure appreciate your kind comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonie, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

8 of us stayed here for an extended weekend get away. Staff were very accomodating. The location away from the downtown was quiet and nice walking trails nearby. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review for us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to serving you in the future.
-Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgis, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My daughter was recently married and we held the wedding reception at the Deadwood Gulch Convention Center. The experience was top notch. Every question was answered pleasantly. We were told about what we "could" do rather than what we "couldn't" do. Everyone we dealt with was pleasant and very accomodating. The food was great and it took little time at all to get close to 200 people through the buffet line. The large room was the perfect size for our number of guests. I can't say enough good things about Eric and Arlet and how much they tried to meet our requests. We were given a lot of freedom to decorate and set up the way we wanted. The hotel stay was nice and the breakfast was very good. We will have very fond memories of our event and the people that made it an "amazing day" for my daughter and her new husband. Almost forgot the beautiful space with the creek running through and the deer. It made a beautiful backdrop for the wedding pictures that were taken before the reception.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a glowing review. The wedding was beautiful and I'm so glad we could assist you in making it just the way you wanted. May your Daughter and Son In Law have a wonderful life together! Thank you for letting us be a part of it.
-Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Hawk, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

You can't beat the Creek Side dining area. great food, great service and views make for a special time. Our group enjoyed themselves so much the DDGR is now "the place" we go to when in Deadwood. The staff (entire staff, dining, gaming, hotel, cleaning etc) is an amazing work force that backfill and help each other. Things like "not sure" and don't know who handles this" are phrases you will not hear there. Everyone works hard to ensure you enjoy your visit whether dining, gaming or spending the night after a concert.

Room Tip: Request a creek side room. WELL worth the price for the views and tranquility. Best place in Deadwoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. It's such a pleasure to add you to our family of guests. It's also nice to know that you think enough of us to bring in groups for special parties/events. We will continue to work hard to live up to your service expectations!
-Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.7 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel
1.2 mi away
Cadillac Jacks Gaming Resort
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#4 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 stars 344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#5 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
1.0 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 stars 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort

Address: 304 Cliff Street, Hwy 85 S, Deadwood, SD 57732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Deadwood
#6 Family Hotel in Deadwood
#12 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deadwood Gulch Gaming Hotel Deadwood
Deadwood Gulch Hotel
Deadwood Gulch Resort
Gulch Deadwood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.