We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort to your Saves list
Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort
304 Cliff Street, Hwy 85 S, Deadwood, SD 57732   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sioux City, Iowa
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Fun Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I go out to the Black Hills almost every summer to see family. For about the past 14 years we have been staying at Deadwood Gulch in Deadwood for part or most of our trip. I have always really liked this hotel because they have a lot of fun activities and themed nights in the gambling room. Even before I was old enough to gamble I always liked the atmosphere and themes. I have seen a lot of changes in this hotel throughout the years but always enjoy my stay. My grandparents used to always request for us to have a room by the creek and it was always nice to leave the windows open. There is some great hiking in the area, the Mickelson Trail runs right in front (an old railroad turned trail) and people on the decks are always spotting wildlife on the steep slope just behind the hotel (where the creek is).

A trolly comes to the hotel frequently to bring people to downtown Deadwood and it is pretty cheap. They do not have a pool anymore (and haven't for several years) but they do have a nice hot tub!

Room Tip: As mentioned in my review, try requesting a room by the creek upon making a reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Wow! It's wonderful to hear that you enjoy returning to us year after year. We'd like to think we have something special here with the creek and quiet. It's nice to hear you feel the same. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you next year.
-Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    74
    35
    9
    5
See reviews for
45
116
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria Mn.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We enjoyed good value. Good food free Brkfst and casino.

Room Tip: Does not have a pool but can use pool across the rode at their campground
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!
We sure appreciate your kind comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonie, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

8 of us stayed here for an extended weekend get away. Staff were very accomodating. The location away from the downtown was quiet and nice walking trails nearby. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review for us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to serving you in the future.
-Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgis, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My daughter was recently married and we held the wedding reception at the Deadwood Gulch Convention Center. The experience was top notch. Every question was answered pleasantly. We were told about what we "could" do rather than what we "couldn't" do. Everyone we dealt with was pleasant and very accomodating. The food was great and it took little time at all to get close to 200 people through the buffet line. The large room was the perfect size for our number of guests. I can't say enough good things about Eric and Arlet and how much they tried to meet our requests. We were given a lot of freedom to decorate and set up the way we wanted. The hotel stay was nice and the breakfast was very good. We will have very fond memories of our event and the people that made it an "amazing day" for my daughter and her new husband. Almost forgot the beautiful space with the creek running through and the deer. It made a beautiful backdrop for the wedding pictures that were taken before the reception.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler1294, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a glowing review. The wedding was beautiful and I'm so glad we could assist you in making it just the way you wanted. May your Daughter and Son In Law have a wonderful life together! Thank you for letting us be a part of it.
-Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Hawk, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

You can't beat the Creek Side dining area. great food, great service and views make for a special time. Our group enjoyed themselves so much the DDGR is now "the place" we go to when in Deadwood. The staff (entire staff, dining, gaming, hotel, cleaning etc) is an amazing work force that backfill and help each other. Things like "not sure" and don't know who handles this" are phrases you will not hear there. Everyone works hard to ensure you enjoy your visit whether dining, gaming or spending the night after a concert.

Room Tip: Request a creek side room. WELL worth the price for the views and tranquility. Best place in Deadwoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. It's such a pleasure to add you to our family of guests. It's also nice to know that you think enough of us to bring in groups for special parties/events. We will continue to work hard to live up to your service expectations!
-Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort is the best place we have ever stayed. We can't say enough good things about the Resort. They have made a lot of changes since our last visit and every change just improved the Resort that much more. Every time we enter their front doors, we feel like we're home --- they always make us feel so welcome! From the minute the experience at Deadwood Gulch begins, it gets better and better. Every member of the staff, from the General Manager on down the line, is friendly, thoughtful, well trained, and very professional. You could not ask for more --- they make you feel so special. We have made many friends there over the years and enjoy and appreciate them more each time we visit. The warm complimentary breakfast they provide each day (you get to select from three different choices of a real breakfast --- not continental) is wonderful, as is all the food in the Creekside Restaurant. The gift shop offers some beautiful jewelry, purses, scarfs, wallets, shirts, belts, cups, card holders, notepads, unique gift items, and so much more. The bakery has many delicious items to offer each day. This Resort has everything --- there's never a need to leave there for anything --- you have it all at your fingertips! The Resort is located in a lovely setting, surrounded by the Black Hills. Sit out on the patio and enjoy the creek flowing by --- it's a refreshing and relaxing experience. Take a walk along the nearby trail. Visit the Gulches of Fun across the street and enjoy miniature golf or the arcade. There's something for everyone within walking distance. We recently stayed at Deadwood Gulch Resort for our 11th year and will continue to go back again and again. We always hate to leave there and we're always anxious for our next visit! I highly recommend this Resort.

Room Tip: Rooms on the creekside are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Wow! May I please use some of your words in my advertising? Thank you, thank you, thank you! So nice to know we made such a wonderful impression all the way around. Thank you also for taking the time to leave this for us. All the staff appreciated the personal notes you left thanking each one of them. It's a joy to serve guests like the two of you.
-Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed here for a couple days after reading some of the reviews, and it was everything I had hoped. Make sure you request a creekside room, the view is amazing. They also include a real breakfast at the restaurant next door, which has outdoor creekside seating. I don't gamble much and with so much to do in the area I did not try out the casino. There is a hot tub but no pool, and again I was too busy to make use of it. The staff were friendly and rates were reasonable as well. I also liked that it is a little ways out of town so you are away from the crowds, but only a couple minutes drive to get downtown, and parking there is cheap. I would definitely stay again next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We all think our location is pretty special but you have to drive by all the other hotels to get here so we consider it one of Deadwoods secret spots. I'm so glad we were able to meet your expectations. It's important to us to help you enjoy your vacation since these days they seem all too short and not often enough. That being said, I hope you are able to vacation often and enjoy life! Thank you again for your kind words and for chosing us as your Deadwood hotel.
-Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort

Address: 304 Cliff Street, Hwy 85 S, Deadwood, SD 57732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Deadwood
#3 Business Hotel in Deadwood
#6 Family Hotel in Deadwood
#10 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deadwood Gulch Gaming Hotel Deadwood
Deadwood Gulch Hotel
Deadwood Gulch Resort
Gulch Deadwood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deadwood Gulch Gaming Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.