We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the food, not the gaming” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Midnight Star

The Midnight Star
677 Main Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
605 578 1555; 800 999 6482
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 11 Fun & Games in Deadwood
Activities: Gambling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of 80 gaming halls in Deadwood, this one is owned by Kevin Costner.
Missouri
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Go for the food, not the gaming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I wanted to go to the Midnight Star due to its Kevin Costner connection. The casino itself is mostly on the 1st floor with a handful of slots that didn't pay out much. A couple of table games are on the 2nd floor. Not much variety in the types of slot machines and low payouts drove me down the street to another casino. If you are used to much larger casinos, this one will be a little disappointing.

However, the food in Diamond Lil's bar upstairs was good and I enjoyed looking at some of Kevin's movie costumes on display.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    26
    7
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Dakota
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

A group of 10 of us ate at the midnight star, everybody's meal was great the drinks we had were also very good. We received really good service our waiter was friendly and helpful. Nice people working at the bars as well. No complaints. Nice place to look at movie related items from movies that Kevin Costner was in. Very interesting.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladwyne, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
343 reviews 343 reviews
190 attraction reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
356 helpful votes 356 helpful votes
“Nice place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

While waiting to take the Deadwood tour, the Midnight Star is a great place to hang out. Although the first floor isn't that big, it is nicely designed with some nice slot machines. We didn't have much luck with the bandits, but we did enjoy the Costner photos all over the walls, and the costumes and articles on the second floor. Worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, South Dakota
1 review
“Worst Dealers in Deadwood!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Myself and friends were visiting deadwood on the 4th of July to have some drinks with a buddy getting married and do a little gambling. We went to several casinos to play some blackjack including the Deadwood Mountain Grand, Silverado, Franklin, Midnight Star and the Saloon #10. We played at each of these places throughout the evening and had a great time, some losing, some winning. All were great except for this place.

The dealers were stone faced, acted like they didn't want to be there, and never talked. There were 3 dealers in rotation for 2 tables (1 male and 2 females). It was no wonder it was easy for 3 of us to walk up and sit together. (a rarity on a holiday in most casinos).

I should clarify that the dealers did talk after all! Someone from our table had won a little bit of money and decided to call it a night. As they stood up, one woman dealer off to the side waiting for her rotation mutters "It'd be nice to show your gratitude for winning." The gentlemen left and the woman that was dealing says to the entire table "well that doesn't surprise me, no one is tipping!"

I'm sorry, but when I'm gambling, I tip dealers that are friendly, having fun with the gambler, cracking jokes, making conversation and etc. These dealers should not have a job and if I were the Midnight Star I'd be embarrassed to have them representing my company!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lots of Kevin Costner memorabilia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stopped in here because it is owned by Kevin Costner. It was quiet and there weren't that many people in there, although it was just a random weeknight. Our bartender was very nice and the drinks were great. Good prices too. The bartender told us to walk around and check out all of the memorabilia which was very cool to see. We just sat at the bar and had a few drinks, but it was a neat experience.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Midnight Star also viewed

 

Been to The Midnight Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Midnight Star, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.