We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the Casino and the food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Midnight Star

The Midnight Star
677 Main Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
605 578 1555; 800 999 6482
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 17 Activities in Deadwood
Type: Amusement
Activities: Gambling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of 80 gaming halls in Deadwood, this one is owned by Kevin Costner.
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Casino and the food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Went on a family vacation to Deadwood SD, and went to the Midnight Star casino, owned by Kevin Costner, on the recommendation from our RV park host. The food was good and not over priced like a lot of the other places around town. The place was clean and service was good! We enjoyed looking around at all the movie memorabilia from Costner's films.
On another note, my wife and I both won money in the Casino!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    25
    7
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheyenne, WY
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stopped in Memorial Day weekend. One of the male dealers (Travis?), had the grumpiest attitude. It's no fun losing while gambling but its even worse when you have a dealer with a bad attitude. Ladies were very nice but this guy was such a jerk I left my husband there and went elsewhere to gamble.
Also, there was only one bartender servicing up and down so it took awhile to get drinks. Takes the fun out of gambling when you have to run down to get a drink.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Unimpressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stopped in for some quick gambling before dinner in Deadwood, but were reallt disappointed. I'm not sure of the gaming laws in SD, but it seems that all the casinos only have slots, blackjack, and poker. But even with that limitation, there were only 2 tables upstairs which weren't open. And the slot machines were lousy- on many machines the average "win" was less than an average bet, and the jackpot amounts were really low. What's the point of playing if there's no chance of winning much?

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneiska
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No fun any more”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Have been to the Midnight Star many times yet this year was no fun I think it is under new management. We were playing the machines and asked for a beer got one tip the server then never saw them again. Staff just were not friendly. Go to Deadwood ever year will not be going back to the Star. Miss the old management.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusk, Wyoming
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Smiles”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We went to the Midnight Star for a little gambling. The two tables that were open on a Saturday night were manned by awful dealers. Even with fun people at the tables, there was no smiling by the dealers whatsoever. Their lack of interest in their job was obvious. We left and it's doubtful I'll go back--there are too many other options to choose from.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Midnight Star also viewed

 

Been to The Midnight Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Midnight Star, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.