We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Deadwood

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Deadwood to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Deadwood
196 Cliff Street, Hwy 85 South, Deadwood, SD 57732   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #4 of 22 hotels in Deadwood
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Very good motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

Stayed here for 2 days while exploring the Deadwood area and playing in the casinos. Rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable. Front desk clerks friendly and helpful. There is a small casino on site, with a snack bar. Breakfast in morning had excellent home made sticky buns. Indoor swimming pool. Motel is on west side of town, not within walking distance to downtown, but the trolley stops out front, $1 each way, saves the sky high parking fees and all the downtown congestion and noise. Be aware that there is no elevator to the 2nd floor, and even the first floor rooms are down 5 steps. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    107
    26
    7
    5
See reviews for
125
161
17
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Wa.
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

We stayed one night of a roadtrip. This place is just out of the main town, and parking is scarce, but there is a shuttle every 1/2 hour to and from downtown. Deadwood is a neat historic, old west town, but caters a lot to gambling!
We had 1Q, N/S. Room was clean, with a table and chairs, desk, and the free wi-fi worked great. Bed was comfy, but only had 2 pillows. The staff was helpful and friendly. The free continental breakfast was very basic, rolls, cereal, toast, boiled eggs, juice, etc.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tinlizzie100, General Manager at Super 8 Deadwood, responded to this review, December 27, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to fill out the guest survey, please know your feedback is very important to us. We have now added fresh Belgian waffles to our continental breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010 via mobile

Spent the weekend at deadwood and chose to stay at the super 8. Our party considered comfort inn but the super 8 was a better deal. They offered us a two bedroom suite for 94.00 usd, on arrival we were Able to bargain and got the room for 85.00 usd. They have a small casino set at the highest payout rates in souh Dakota ! One of our members won a decent amount of money :) the rooms were very clean, comfortable beds. There is a small pool and hot tub, we didn't use either. Friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast selection was very limited though. No hot foods.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tinlizzie100, General Manager at Super 8 Deadwood, responded to this review, December 27, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to fill out the guest survey, please know your feedback is very important to us. We have now added fresh Belgian waffles to our continental breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcell, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

Plenty for the kids to do in the summer, great food and friendly locals... i would even live there

Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kouts, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

My husband and I recently traveled to Deadwood with our married son , his wife and 11 month old baby. We have stayed with this Super 8 everytime we 've come to Deadwood and that's almost every year since the mid 1990's. We love the hotel, it's employees go beyond being freindly and helpful. The free breakfast is most adequate and the swimming pool and hot tub are indoors and not at all crowded. The rooms are clean and very affordable. A small casino is attached and we felt the gambling was better there then in town. Trolley service will take you into town and it only takes a few minutes.
It's a great place to stay on a very affordable budget, and the service is excellent!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

We stayed for 1 night. I was a little concerned about it's location away from the Main Strret area but it was fine. A short trolley ride for $1 took you just about anywhere in town. Room was typical and clean. Found the bed to be a little uncomfortable as in an older firm and slightly lumpy mattress but OK for the 1 night. TV and free internet were great. Free continental breakfast was decent. Attached casino was fun. Staff were friendly and informative.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

The staff were really nice, hotel is on the trolley stop, pool was nice, free breakfast was good, has an area to play slots, room was nice, and tv had channels for kids.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Deadwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Deadwood

Address: 196 Cliff Street, Hwy 85 South, Deadwood, SD 57732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Deadwood
#2 Family Hotel in Deadwood
#4 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Wyndham, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Super 8 Deadwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Deadwood Hotel Deadwood
Super Eight Deadwood
Deadwood Super 8
Deadwood Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Deadwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.