We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My boys and girl loved this!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ingalls Homestead - Laura's Living Prairie

Ingalls Homestead - Laura's Living Prairie
20812 Homestead Rd, De Smet, SD 57231
+1 800-776-3594
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Attractions in De Smet
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Fairhope, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“My boys and girl loved this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent a lot more time than we had planned here. Everyone had such a good time that it was hard to leave! My husband loved the farm implements and learning how to make rope. The children loved the school house experience, pony rides, making the "button on a string" toy and washing clothes and hanging them on the line! There was so much to see and do, not to mention calves, kittens, ponies, and more. Everyone that worked there was friendly and really wanted to involve the children. We learned a lot from the exhibits and from the staff. It was definitely a highlight of our trip to South Dakota.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    17
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, MN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Laura Ingalls Wilder homestead”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

When we drove into the parking lot, I thought....wow...we drove 75 miles out of the way for this? But, after the tour was done I was very impressed! They do a good job showing what life was like on the prairie for Laura and her family. Our grandchildren enjoyed the stop; 10 year old granddaughter would have stayed much longer!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful day for the whole family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We set aside 2 hours for this and misjudged how enjoyable and how much there was to do. I have a tendancy to get bored, but the homestead had a round robin of stands each with its own bit of history with an entertaining and happy presenter at each.
The children were either dressed up in period costumes and formed part of the presentation or they learnt how to make rope, ride a buggy or make toys out of corn! A wonderful attraction.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Iowa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A must for fans of the show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

If you are a fan of the TV show or books, this will make you like the series even more. The site has been recreated to what it was like during Laura's childhood with a house, barn, church, school, etc. The entire place is in excellent condition. There are activities for children. The staff was polite, friendly and genuine. The gift store has a wonderful selection. We tent-camped one night for $10. Water and electricity are available, but not at the tent sites. The bathroom/shower for campers is in very good condition.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Pioneering life comes alive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is the Ingalls homestead but that is all that is really tied to Laura Ingalls Wilder. However, for family with kids, it is a fun and informative place to learn about early pioneering life. Activities such as a wagon ride and sitting in school makes for an interesting day. This is a great place for wholesome fun for families rather than a pilgrimage for LIW fans.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ingalls Homestead - Laura's Living Prairie also viewed

 
Badlands National Park, SD
 

Been to Ingalls Homestead - Laura's Living Prairie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ingalls Homestead - Laura's Living Prairie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.