We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crazy Horse Memorial

Crazy Horse Memorial
12151 Avenue of the Chiefs, Crazy Horse, SD 57730
+1 605-673-4681
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The mission of Crazy Horse Memorial Foundation is to protect and preserve the culture, tradition and living heritage of the North American Indians. The Foundation demonstrates its commitment to this endeavor by continuing the progress on the world's largest sculptural undertaking by carving a memorial of Lakota leader Crazy Horse; by providing educational and cultural programming; by acting as a repository for American Indian artifacts, arts and crafts through the INDIAN MUSEUM OF NORTH AMERICA(R) and the NATIVE AMERICAN EDUCATIONAL & CULTURAL CENTER(R); and by establishing and operating the INDIAN UNIVERSITY OF NORTH AMERICA(R) and, when practical, a medical training center for American Indians.
Anna Maria Island, Florida
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

It is $10 to get in, but parking at Mt. Rushmore is $11, so I didn't mind & it includes museums, free coffee, and a short (20min) film. It was my first visit and I was awed by the first glimpse of the mountain and hope to live long enough to see it finished (or at least some of the horse carved). It's easy to linger and still visit both monuments in a day.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,725 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    791
    402
    218
    167
    147
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
“Rip off - not worth the detour or the fees”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I didn't know much about the Crazy Horse Memorial, but had heard about it somewhere and since it's close to Mt. Rushmore, decided to take a little detour and check it out. What a mistake. It's an ambitious project and IF it were ever to be completed, would be one of the world's largest statues...but therein lies the catch. It's been "in progress" since 1948, which no discernible end in sight (even the guide that I asked this question to said "there's no way of knowing"). Which makes me really question what has been done with all of the money collected - both in terms of philanthropist dollars and the hefty fees they charge ($10 per adult buys you a closer view, an extra $4 and you can take a 5-minute bus ride to the base of the mountain). It was only after we visited that I read further about this - and found that some of the descendants of Crazy Horse feel that this monument shows a lack of respect for Native American culture as the mountain that it's carved into is a sacred one. I'm no expert, but that's enough to leave a bitter taste in my mouth.
There's a cultural center, restaurant, gift shop, etc. - but really nothing to justify the fees charged.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“It was alright.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I was there twice in 2003 and 2007 and have been meaning to go back soon to see how much progress has been made in 6 years. As a Native American I didn't have to pay admission, I found a few things had changed but otherwise still the same things there. The mountain is great but it is very slow progress. Great experience.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“May be finished in 2099”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Entrance fee is $10/person or $27/carload. Only the face is completed at this time (April 2013). The major blasting away of rock is what is currently being worked on. I cannot imagine when this huge memorial will be completed. It is huge. All 4 presidents' heads of Mt. Rushmore would fit in the space of Crazy Horse's head! There is a short documentary film about the origin of the project and Korczak Ziolkowski, the sculptor who began the work. After his death, his family now carries on the work. The museum has a great collection of Native American artifacts from all tribes.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Crazy Horse Monument”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Entrance was a bit pricey considering we just wanted a quick picture before we left on our way. It was $20 for two people, but that did include multiple museums. I believe it was $27 for a carload. Since it is still under construction visitors are not allowed to get close so if you don't want to see the museums drive just south of the entrance and you can see the monument just as good from the main road. However, it is privately funded so any money spent will go to the construction.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crazy Horse Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Crazy Horse Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crazy Horse Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.