We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bigger than expected!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crazy Horse Memorial

Crazy Horse Memorial
12151 Avenue of the Chiefs, Crazy Horse, SD 57730
+1 605-673-4681
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Monuments/ Statues, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The mission of Crazy Horse Memorial Foundation is to protect and preserve the culture, tradition and living heritage of the North American Indians. The Foundation demonstrates its commitment to this endeavor by continuing the progress on the world's largest sculptural undertaking by carving a memorial of Lakota leader Crazy Horse; by providing educational and cultural programming; by acting as a repository for American Indian artifacts, arts and crafts through the INDIAN MUSEUM OF NORTH AMERICA(R) and the NATIVE AMERICAN EDUCATIONAL & CULTURAL CENTER(R); and by establishing and operating the INDIAN UNIVERSITY OF NORTH AMERICA(R) and, when practical, a medical training center for American Indians.
Arlington, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bigger than expected!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We debated about going to see the Crazy Horse Memorial, with the different reviews, but so glad we went. The Memorial/museum had so many artifacts and information - it was very good. We paid the extra money to take the bus ride to the base of the Memorial, which was fun and enlightening. We were able to get some awesome pictures, too. The wildlife was out and we were able to get pictures of deer and turkey along the way. Without federal funding, it does appear that the progress is slow, but when you compare what they start with to where they are now, it's no small undertaking! We came back in the evening (with a re-entry pass) for the laser light show, which was great! The best view is from the upper-level parking lot (there are loud speakers out there so you won't miss a thing)...reminded me of the old drive-in movie days! It rained (lightly) the night we were there, but the show went on and was great!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    747
    387
    215
    161
    141
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tomball,Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had never been there before. It was awesome to see such a wonderful sight. Can't wait till it's finished.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Crazy Horse Memorial - Just Not Sure”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We took a trip to South Dakota and we were told that we had to go see the Crazy Horse Memorial. It is an awesome sight to see, but I am just not sure. Here is why...

First, there is a $10 entry fee per person. Unlike Mount Rushmore, which is per car, this was per person. When you get there you park in a parking lot and are directed to the main building. In the building, you learn about Crazy Horse, its history, how long it is taking to carve the monument and you get to see the memorial from a distance. I was extremely disappointed to find out that you need to pay an additional fee to take the bus to the foot of the memorial. So, we went through the store outside and took our photos from the distance away.

We walked around, put some money in the bin and took a stone from the carving and went on our way to Mount Rushmore. I hear the light show is great, but we were planning on going to Rushmore and then our Bed and Breakfast (see Circle View Ranch review).

Do not get me wrong, it is awesome sight to see and when it is done.....whenever that may be...it will be spectacular.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

On our near cross country trip, my daughter was looking forward to visiting Crazy Horse after hearing stories from my mother. I was disappointed that we had to park and pay for a bus ride to the bottom of Crazy Horse but was pleasantly surprised by the wonderfully, informative and friendly tour guide that taught us so much along the way. It was nice to not only learn the numbers or facts about the statue and the process of building the memorial but also little tidbits and quirks about the family that has dedicated themselves to this huge undertaking. The video in the movie theatre was also very informative they could edit a few things out that seemed a little repetitive. Our family loved the openess and friendlyness all around here. Of course the added bonus of seeing a blasting always was nice and of course our son was thrilled when they informed us to feel free to take any rock you like. Really tell a little boy to help yourself to taking rocks and you have a friend.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A little bit of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Keystone a little town at the foot of Mt Rushmore, which gave easy access to Custer state park and Crazy horse Memorial as we were to discover, where home made fudge, creamy slow-cooked caramels, hand-dipped chocolates and ice cream was a speciality and the ever popular Red Garter Saloon with its rinky-dink piano music and Ruby House restaurant. We booking into one of the local Motor hotels we decided to explore. There were plenty places to dine, we surveyed the menu’s. Pig roast and prime rib at the Powder House where the juicy rib eye was actually cooked on a pitchfork before your eyes what a feast. At the north end of town we saw the famous 1880 train which had an excursion through the scenic black hills on a vintage steam train and the other side of town the Big Thunder Gold Mine where you could pan for gold in the creek. The shopping was good and a large selection of original art, local crafts and American Indian goods were displayed along the twin boardwalks of Keystone’s main street. My favourite shop “Wolf People” which was located on Winter Street was formed to promote Wolves as the beautiful shy animals they are. They offered Wolf education facilities that teach about the Wolf and Wolf/dog, and membership to people interested in sponsoring a Wolf with a quarterly newsletter.Further down the street I came across a biker shop called Siskiyou. The most fantastic display of buckles and belts you could imagine, a bikers paradise. Above the door a motto was carved – “For those we have met, for those we will meet, for those that have fallen, reborn to be wild”. The guy serving glanced at me when I entered the shop. He looked every bit a biker and had a larger than life grin. “Can I help you”, he said “you most certainly can”, I said and picked out this great buckle. On either side wee two feathers with an Indian chief’s head on the back, bighorn cow heads and a puma. Liberty 1937 was engraved, this must have been significant. This was my second purchase, the first being a buckle I had chose in “Wolf People”, which displayed of course, a Wolf on the front and an Eagle in flight on the back. Now all I needed was a belt.
Keystone was founded in 1891 with the discovery of gold. This little town was the entrance to Mount Deep in the heart of the Black Hills of South Dakota rising up above lush forests and streams Gutzon Borglum’s historic masterpiece majestic views of the presidents carved from the mountain. The Black Hills also enjoys an unmatched brand of Old West history. Legendary names lived here: Crazy Horse, Sitting Bull, General George Custer, Wild Bill Hickok, Calamity Jane, and Red Cloud to name a few. Crazy Horse memorial a spectacular sight. The colossal Crazy Horse Mountain carving in progress a tribute to the North American Indian. The sculptor – Korczak Ziolkowski in 1939 received a letter from Henry Standing Bear, a Lakota Sioux Indian chief from South Dakota. Standing Bear had been watching progress on the American Presidents at Mount Rushmore and he longed for an equally powerful memorial that would remind the world “that the Red Man has great heroes, too.” This was his vision and Ziolkowski was to fulfil it. Now 58 years after Korczak started carving, and 24 years after his death, work still continues on the world’s largest sculpture. A mountain sized statue of an Indian man and a spirited warhorse that’s as long as a cruise ship and taller than a 60-storey skyscraper. You can experience their work and watch them blast the mountside to fulfill the dream. You can also see the vision on a smaller scale in the beautiful craft and art centre and immerse yourself in the native culture. This really is a spectacular place to visit.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crazy Horse Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Crazy Horse Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crazy Horse Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.