We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely Surprised ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Chamberlain

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Chamberlain to your Saves list
Super 8 Chamberlain
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lakeview Heights Box 36, I-90 Exit 263, Chamberlain, SD 57325-0036   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Chamberlain
Lebanon Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nicely Surprised ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The interior central hallway needs refurbishing and had me a little concerned about my one night stay. However, the room was nice, clean, didn't smell at all. The bed was great. Good water pressure and flow in shower. I would stay again and for a longer time. The kitchenette would be appreciated on a longer stay.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandiChamberlain, General Manager at Super 8 Chamberlain, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Thank You for choosing the Super 8 of Chamberlain SD. We have painted and put new carpet in the main building last year. We will be doing more this fall. Hope to see you next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    39
    22
    14
    9
See reviews for
38
32
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The room was as expected for a Super 8. Made my reservation online during sturgis bike week 200 miles from the motel. When I arrived I checked the rates available and found a rate 40.00 less than the rate I reserved. When I asked at check in I was told the actual rate for the room I got was $5.00 more than what I reserved. After riding 500 miles that day I didn't argue and just checked in. Later that evening I went to the front desk and showed the woman there the $40.00 cheaper rate advertised. She did reluctantly refund me the difference.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandiChamberlain, General Manager at Super 8 Chamberlain, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank You for staying with us at Chamberlain Super 8. As our room inventory goes down it will change the rates. I glad that the Front Desk clerk did make the ajustment for you. Hope you had fun in Sturgis and hope to see you for the 75th next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Overlooking I-90's intersection with the Missouri River, you couldn't ask for a more beautiful setting on the Great Plains. Unfortunately, the hotel doesn't match the scenery.

While the receptionist was extremely friendly, the rooms were of decent size, and the hotel was clean, the hotel was overpriced - as expensive as a decent hotel in a mid-sized city - though out on the Great Plains the hotels all seemed relatively expensive. The breakfast in the morning was drab and uninviting - no real choices in fruit and basically only toast and waffles to eat. What really brought the hotel down though were the paper thin walls.

After we pulled into the hotel on June 28, 2014 and settled into our room on the second floor, a repeated loud banging begin to come from the room below us. The receptionist then telephoned us and reported that the occupants below were complaining about the noise we were making when walking. Thing is, we were only doing normal things like walking to and from the bathroom. The receptionist topped it off by declaring that the walls were very thin and that we should try not walking around. Which begs the question, should we need to use the facilities in the middle the night without walking, did the receptionist expect us to use chamber pots?

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandiChamberlain, General Manager at Super 8 Chamberlain, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
I would like to start out by apologizing to you for the Front Desk staff. They should of offered to move you to a quieter room. As for the price of the room we have to be competitive with our rate in our location. I am hoping that when you come though South Dakota that you do give us another chance to prove ourselves of being like the scenery exceptional.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The room felt like it was in a basement, very stuffy smelly and dank. The carpet felt terrible underfoot, to dirty and tacky feeling to walk on. The bed was sufficient ..We paid way to much but after driving 15 hrs. we didn't have much fight in us. The room was small the only chair to sit on was nasty. They don't give you many towels or washcloths, one per person. I wouldn't even consider super 8 motels in any state now because of this stay. We were there June 26, 2014.

Room Tip: Avoid this motel altogether.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandiChamberlain, General Manager at Super 8 Chamberlain, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
I want apologize for the unsatisfied stay you had here at the Chamberlain Super 8. I have looked into what you said was wrong with the room. And it is in a partial basement. That is how the Super 8 buildings were designed to have split levels. I again apologize and hope that maybe when coming through South Dakota that you would give us another chance to serve your needs better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Chamberlain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Chamberlain

Address: Lakeview Heights Box 36, I-90 Exit 263, Chamberlain, SD 57325-0036
Location: United States > South Dakota > Chamberlain
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Chamberlain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Chamberlain 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super 8 of Chamberlain South Dakota is located on the Missouri River and from our motel you will see breath taking views of the river. Our motel is nestled on top of small hill located right off I-90 easy on/off. We have 54 rooms heated indoor pool and hot tub. We have a free continental breakfast and free wifi for all of our guest to enjoy. Our rooms are spacious and or staff is friendly and eager to please of future guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Chamberlain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Chamberlain
Chamberlain Super Eight
Chamberlain Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Chamberlain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.