We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Resolution Bay Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Resolution Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Resolution Bay Cabins
Save
You added Resolution Bay Cabins to your Saves list
Queen Charlotte Sound, Resolution Bay, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Christchurch
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

First stop on a 3 day walk through the Queen Charlotte Sounds. Loved the whole experience and were well looked after by the hosts. It's quite basic in comparison to some of the other, flashier resorts around this area, but that probably adds to its charms. It was certainly our favourite stop and I would recommend it to anyone who is considering coming through this part of New Zealand.
The food was superb and the houses were warm and welcoming. Kids (and adults) went kayaking the next Morning before our next walk. Beautiful spot.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay, had all we needed. You don't need flash when tramping! Fantastic outlook, peaceful. The little cabins are great, your own space. We were a group of 8 & our rustic cabin was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C. Canada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Resolution Bay Cabins is rustic and peaceful, as described. We were the only guests. The owners are very laid back. For the price, however, they should at least supply soap and shampoo. Also, it seems that the "house cow" is long gone. It was nice enough but the price seems awfully steep for what you get.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We arrived after a short (but strenuous) walk in from ship cove to a toastie warm cabin - the fire was roaring and the kettle on for us. What a fantastic welcome! We had a lovely evening in the pretty gardens and watching the birds from the pier before enjoying a restful and rejuvinating nights sleep. Highly reccomended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Highly recommended: Resolution Bay Cabins is rustic (no electricity), but everything you need is there (spacious cabins, woodburning stoves, comfortable beds). The setting is striking, with the lush (but not overly manicured) pastures, orchards and veggie gardens spread across a beautiful bay. This place still very much feels like a homestead from another time. We stayed both at Bay of many Coves Resort and Resolution Bay Cabins (which is about opposite ends of the accommodation spectrum), and while I think Bay of many Coves was flawless, our stay at Resolution Bay Cabins was probably more memorable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

We walked the Queen Charlotte Track. This was our first stay as we walked the short walk from Ship Cove. Don't miss Ship Cove - its just beautiful (plus we were fortunate enough to swim with dolphins who came to play with us). The resolution bay cabins are rustic (no electricity in cabins), but they are so superb just as they are. The showers were great. The cabins are comfortable - self contained kitchen area. The jetty is wonderful to jump off. The water is crystal clear. Because it is a marine reserve their are plenty of fish. We loved the free use of the kayaks and spent most of our time at the cabins on, or in, the water.
Don't expect sophisication or luxury. These are charming rustic cabins and they are just wonderful - we enjoyed it so much that we will be back. We rated these excellent, but they are not five star. That's what we loved about them. They are Wilderness cabins in the wilderness. Don't stay here if you expect to be pampered with sprung mattresses. High heels not welcome!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Resolution Bay Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resolution Bay Cabins

Address: Queen Charlotte Sound, Resolution Bay, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Resolution Bay
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Resolution Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Resolution Bay Cabins Hotel Picton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resolution Bay Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.