We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smiths Farm Holiday Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Smiths Farm Holiday Park to your Saves list
Smiths Farm Holiday Park
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Queen Charlotte Drive | R.D.1, Linkwater, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Friendly great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This was our forth trip to Smiths Farm and as has always been the case we really enjoyed our stay. The hosts are friendly and welcoming. The surrounding countryside beautiful. The accommodation facilities are spotlessly clean and great value for money. The location is excellent especially if you are travelling to or from the ferry terminal at Picton.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
413Barbara, Owner at Smiths Farm Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hi Carol-Ann and family,
Thank you for your lovely review and it was great to see you all again...my how those children have grown!!
We hope that the rest of your holiday with your sister and friend was fantastic and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Take Care!
Barbara and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Our trip in a campervan through New Zealand would not have been the same without our stop at Smith's Farm Holiday Park. We pulled in late at night and was welcomed by freshly baked muffins and a kind owner. We didn't realise the beautiful view we had until we woke up the next morning. Surrounded by mountains, sheep and other creatures, we found ourselves wanting to spend more time there. The facilities were great!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
413Barbara, Owner at Smiths Farm Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hi Melissa Ann,
It was no problem to have you arrive late at night and we're pleased that the views surprised you in the morning! The animals certainly do enjoy meeting you all and they are very well fed (and some would say "fat"!) as a result.
Thank you for your lovely review and we hope that the rest of your travels were every bit as good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We found Smith Farm through the Camper mate app and it was everything they said and more. Our stay was in the offseason of winter and we were the only campers that night, so we had the entire facility to ourselves. Barbara was the most accommodating host who provided us with all sorts of local knowledge of things to see. We were also treated to the famous warm muffins, which were delicious and welcomed after a long day's journey. We hiked up to the waterfall, which was an added bonus, although we left before it was dark enough to see the glow worms to visit with the resident sheep, goat, cows and pig. The kitchen and bath facilities were spotless and we even had the option of having a wood fire in the kitchen. If you're hiking the Queen Charlotte Track from Anakiwa, this is the perfect place to camp as its just up the road from the trailhead. We had a great time here and will definitely return on our next trip to New Zealand. - Michelle

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
413Barbara, Owner at Smiths Farm Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hi Michelle,
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the whole experience that is Smiths Farm. It's Spring here now and all the daffodils are flowering next to Molly's paddock so it's very pretty. Thanks again and we'd love to see you for a second visit if you come back to NZ!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is the second time my husband and I have stayed here and again we were really happy with our experience. The family is very hospitable, the farm lovely to walk through, and the glow worms at the waterfall are incredible to see. The facilities are clean and well maintained, and it was a nice bonus to get freshly made muffins when we arrived.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
413Barbara, Owner at Smiths Farm Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hi Christina,
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your second stay with us! Yes, we love the waterfall walk and the glow worms too but don't get to see them as often as we would like to sadly. We hope that the rest of your trip went well and maybe we'll see you for your third visit sometime soon?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here with a group of 6 in one of the family units after finishing the Queen Charlotte track.
We found our room small but comfy and warm, with enough facilities for us to cook ourselves a hot meal after the trip.
The farm animals are great - we were very close to a large pig who was very friendly and appreciated a good belly scratch!
The people who run the farm were amazing - we were given a basket of warm banana chocolate chip muffins when we arrived, and great information about wineries in Blenheim when we suggested that we might like to do a tour. It seemed like they would go out of their way to help you out which was nice!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
413Barbara, Owner at Smiths Farm Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Another late reply so my apologies! We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and we enjoyed meeting you all. If you come again as a big group maybe you'd like to take two rooms as was suggested as that would have made your stay much more comfortable. It's a shame it wasn't the greatest of weather but the mountain biking on the track is great isn't it?! There are plenty more wineries to sample so we look forward to you returning to Marlborough some time soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Smiths farm was amazing! We only spent one night there but totally plan on going back and staying longer! It was such a cute place and we loved being able to feed and pet the animals on the farm! The family that lives there is great and so friendly! They even brought us warm muffins when we checked it! I would definitely go back and stay again! Didn't even mind the curvy drive out from picton!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
413Barbara, Owner at Smiths Farm Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hello! Oh dear, it is a long time since I replied to reviews and I do apologise!
Thank you for your lovely review and we are pleased that you didn't mind the curvy road to Picton. It is a stunning drive with amazing views and I'd recommend it to anyone...just don't leave it until the last minute to catch your ferry!
We will look forward to welcoming you back to Smiths Farm some time in the future and thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

A quite delightful spot at some of the South Island's most lovely landscape which has it's own microcosm of nature. A walk up to the falls though tree ferns listening to bird calls is a lovely experience, but surpassed by the magic of seeing glow worms at the same spot in the evening. Their glow being reflected in a limpid pool with that of stars. For those that have restricted mobility the accessible shower etc makes the stay very easy and relaxing. The hosts are most welcoming and helpful, even to forgetful people who leave important documents behind!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
413Barbara, Owner at Smiths Farm Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We love the glow worms too but don't get to see them as often as we would like. We hope it isn't too chilly back home in Amersham after your stay in the fantastic sunny Marlborough Sounds!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smiths Farm Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths Farm Holiday Park

Address: Queen Charlotte Drive | R.D.1, Linkwater, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Linkwater
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Linkwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Smiths Farm Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Smiths Farm Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smiths Farm Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.