We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really great for family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smiths Farm Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Smiths Farm Holiday Park to your Saves list
Smiths Farm Holiday Park
4.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Queen Charlotte Drive | R.D.1, Linkwater, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Arran
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“really great for family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

very quiet campsite with opportunities for kids to pet the animals good base yourself when walking or driving in the sounds. Take a torch or they will lend you one to visit the waterfall and glowworms very friendly owners, warm muffins on arrival and clean kitchens.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
413Barbara, Owner at Smiths Farm Holiday Park, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hello!,
Thank you for posting a review and we are pleased that you managed to do the walk to see the glow worms...they are spectacular at present and the best thing is, they're free!
Thanks again.

Kind Regards,

Barbara and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Fantastic quiet location. Loved the oven fresh muffins on arrival. Pet friendly park with open space to exercise dog. Farm animals for kids and adults alike to interact with.

Amenities were clean and well kept with very friendly and helpful staff.

Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
413Barbara, Owner at Smiths Farm Holiday Park, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Hi Mary and family,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review...we really appreciate it!
We will look forward to seeing you all sometime in the future and your dog is also most welcome.
We hope that the rest of your holiday went well and all the very best for 2013.

Kind Regards,
Barbara and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGTN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is a great place to stay. Now our No1 camping/cabin place for the upper South Island. Everything was absolutely perfect! Peace and quiet (even when full over Xmas Hols - priceless), farm animals walking around the place, waterfall walk, V V V friendly staff, fantastic condition of cabins and facilities, location great for Sounds and trips to Nelson... etc., etc. The best car camping place (probably the highlight) of our week-long trip to and from Abel Tasman (more relaxing than our 3 nights kayaking - which was so busy and cramped in over the holiday period).

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
413Barbara, Owner at Smiths Farm Holiday Park, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you! We are pleased that despite it being the height of the season you still found it quiet and peaceful.....that's what we aimed to create....a haven from the stresses of everyday life, but still enough people around for it to be an interesting stay.
Thanks again and all the best for the rest of your travels!
Kind Regards,

Barbara and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We had a wonderful time here, we could have stayed longer. our hosts could not do enough for us, from fresh herbs out of the garden, to great advice about beaches and fishing spots to providing everything we needed to be comfortable in the family cabin.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
413Barbara, Owner at Smiths Farm Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Hi Dominique and family,
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and of course if you are ever back in the Sounds we'd love to see you all again.
We hope you had a great Christmas and that you have a wonderful New Year.
All the best from Chris, Barbara and the team at Smiths Farm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We rented a powered site in early December. All the positive reviews are true! Barbara was so welcoming and helpful, she suggested a couple of outings we loved. It was very quiet with only one other couple on site. For a small, family-owned holiday park, the toilet/shower/laundry facilities were top notch. The BBQ available was gas, so easy and no cleanup. We had such fun going at dusk to the waterfall and seeing the glowworms. I was a little nervous walking back in the dark through the pastures with cows about, but they moved out of the way. Overall, it was very quiet and plenty of space. Very highly recommended! There's also a section of the Queen Charlotte Track nearby that was a beautiful and easy walk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
413Barbara, Owner at Smiths Farm Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your very kind review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the farm and that you braved the cattle to go and see the glow worms!! Early December is a lovely time of the year to visit as it is not too busy and we enjoy being able to tell you about the surrounding area and all the wonderful things that you can do. All the best for 2013 and if you ever travel to NZ again you would be most welcome at the park!
Kind Regards from Barbara, Chris and all the team at Smiths Farm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed one night in our campervan and it could not have been more idyllic. We were greeted with warm muffins and great advice for things to see in the area. They had friendly farm animals that would run right up to the fence and let you pet them. We went on the recommended hike through their property which was amazing! It takes you through the cow pastures (there were both calves and huge steer), up into the forest, along and over a stream, to a waterfall. On to the facilities- very cozy and clean shared spaces such as a kitchen, dining area, BBQ area with picnic tables, bathrooms, laundry room. They had friendly signs up that if you needed anything like an iron or cooking utensils that they had them available in the office. We did not receive this kind of warmth and hospitality at any of the other holiday parks that we stayed in. Not to mention the surrounding pastures and mountains are so beautiful that it's hard to believe you are staying somewhere so beautiful and peaceful for such a reasonable cost. I highly recommend going!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
413Barbara, Owner at Smiths Farm Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you! Your review is really appreciated by us all and we are thrilled that you enjoyed the walk to the waterfall so much. We love the bush as well but sadly don't get up there as often as we would like. We are so lucky to live in this piece of paradise in the beautiful Marlborough region and love to share it with our guests.
All the very best for 2013 and should you travel to NZ again we would love to see you.
Kind Regards from Barbara, Chris and all the team at Smiths Farm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We arrived at Smiths Farm not knowing what to expect and we were greeted with home made muffins! What a lovely gesture. The owner then went on to invite us to feed the lambs later on that evening which was so much fun and would be fantastic with children. The facilities are lovely and clean and the whole atmosphere is very relaxing. It felt like we were staying at a friends house. Unfortunately the weather wasn't very good on the day we were leaving otherwise we would have taken a walk down to a nearby waterfall the family suggeststed. Overall a brilliant holiday park. Hopefully we will be back one day.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linkwater
7.1 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
9.9 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
6.2 mi away
ASURE Jasmine Court Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Okiwa Bay Lodge
Okiwa Bay Lodge
#2 of 4 in Anakiwa
5.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Sounds Retreat
The Sounds Retreat
#1 of 4 in Anakiwa
5.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
6.3 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths Farm Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths Farm Holiday Park

Address: Queen Charlotte Drive | R.D.1, Linkwater, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Linkwater
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Linkwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Smiths Farm Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Smiths Farm Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smiths Farm Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.