We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quiet stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Brookings

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Brookings to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Brookings
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3020 Lefevre Dr, Brookings, SD 57006   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Brookings
Wichita, Kansas
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Good quiet stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Stayed one night before a visit to SDSU. We arrived too late for the pool. The water slide is only open certain days/hours so make sure you inquire about that before booking the hotel for that reason. The internet worked well but when I tried to do my VPN to get to my work e-mail, it would not work. The rooms were clean and quiet. My sons enjoyed breakfast, especially the pancake machine and the cinnamon rolls. We would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    17
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
6
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

We stayed here multiple times per year for four years. The rooms were always clean and fresh and the staff helpful. The morning breakfast was very good as well with many nutritious choices to start your day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

Positives - The bed is pretty comfortable and the location right off the interstate is convenient.
Negatives - slow internet even when I'm 1 of very few guests here. No fridge or microwave in the king suite. Breakfast has had 1 or 2 pieces of old fruit every morning. Fitness center is terrible. 2 treadmills, 1 eliptical and 1 stationary bike. All old and barely functioning. No weights or mats. This is probably a nice hotel for a family weekend stay due to the water slide.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Brookings, responded to this review, March 19, 2015
Dear Allison C,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear you found our location convenient and the beds comfortable. However, we regret letting you down on some aspects of your stay. We have taken note of your comments regarding the internet service and the fitness center. Please be assured that we will address these to the management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

Thank you again for your time and for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

When we checked in we were very worried because there was a VERY LARGE group of young wrestlers staying at the hotel. Our room was on the first floor and near the pool and conference room so we knew we were going to hear the kids for hours. We talked to the friendly staff at the front desk and the guaranteed us that there wouldn't be any issues. They were 100% right. We left for dinner and came back to find a silent hotel. The room and common areas were clean and they allowed our dog to stay which is top priority. Plus the hotel was very easy to get to off the interstate.

Room Tip: Not the first floor by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

This is your typical Holiday Inn Express. I was surprised by the price, but it was similar to the other hotels in the area. The staff were friendly. The fitness area could use some new equipment. All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLegacyMGMT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Brookings, responded to this review, January 25, 2015
Thank you for the comments regarding your most recent stay at the Holiday Express Hotel & Suites in Brookings, South Dakota. We take pride in providing a clean, comfortable room for our guests with friendly service from our staff.

As the hotel will be going through a renovation in the near future, all our fitness center equipment will be updated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwestern
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

I normally stay at Hilton properties. I booked this hotel for a hockey tournament. The rate was $150 per night. The rooms, lobby and pool area were very clean and nice. The pool area was nice with a big slide. No alcohol allowed in the pool area. The service was sub-par. We checked in on a Friday night and had to call the operator from the business area phone to get someone to come to the front desk as instructed by their sign. The hotel provided a sheet of "rules" for the hockey folks although we didn't get one. The rules were no sticks in the hotel and no running in the hallways, etc. I am fine with those rules, but on Saturday another hockey team arrived and brought in sticks and balls and played in the hallways loudly during the day. The people at the front desk saw the kids bringing in the sticks, but did nothing. Breakfast was from 7 to 10 am. We arrived at 9:50 and they already started taking down the hot breakfast. Another family in our group arrived 15 minutes before me and they quit stocking the breakfast and were out of several items. At checkout, we weren't asked how the stay went. Service was pretty poor.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLegacyMGMT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Brookings, responded to this review, December 11, 2014
Thank you for being our guest at our Brookings, SD Holiday Inn Express & Suites. I apologize for the poor service you received. This is not typical of our property, and please be assured this will be addressed with our employees. We expect our employees to provide exemplary service to our guests, and we fell short. Also, the hockey rules should have been the same for everyone. I apologize that wasn’t the case. This too will be addressed. The breakfast should be out until 10 am exactly. I will inform the breakfast host to leave breakfast out until the stated time. I hope you will give us another chance to better serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

I usually stay at Hilton brand hotels, but the local Hampton Inn in Brookings was already booked full when I attempted to make my reservation - so I went to my #2 choice. I called the Holiday Inn Express, and the desk associate exhausted all options in an effort to get me a room - and that she did, which was terrific and greatly appreciated. I stayed two nights this past weekend while visiting my son at SDSU for Dad's Weekend. This is a nice property - neat, clean, just a bit dated but not old or tired. Friendly, helpful staff. Located on the eastern-most side of town at the intersection of Hwy 14 and I-29. I ended up staying in the handicap-accessible room (#107) - spacious, comfortable, very nice. The bed and pillows were among the most comfortable I have ever enjoyed in a hotel. Great shower water pressured and temperature. Good climate control. My only issues were (1) noise travels in this property - I could hear people (kids) in the hall and above me running and jumping, and (2) there were some flushing problems with the toilet, but I called the front desk and they promptly dispatched maintenance. Holiday Inn has done a great deal to overhaul and improve themselves and their properties over the last decade. If you haven't checked them out in a while, I recommend that you do. They honor AAA membership with discounts and also have their own branded loyalty rewards program to earn free night stays.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Brookings, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our Holiday Inn Express in Brookings, SD. We are very proud of our hotel and staff and strive to make our guest’s stay a pleasant one. We are glad to hear that maintenance took care of the toilet issue promptly and that you seemed to enjoy your stay otherwise.

We hope we will be your choice for accommodations when you are in the Brookings area again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express Brookings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Brookings

Address: 3020 Lefevre Dr, Brookings, SD 57006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Brookings
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Brookings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Brookings 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the beautiful Brookings Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites located right off Interstate 29 at exit 132. Brookings, SD offers a small town environment with a big city feel. Brookings is home to South Dakota State University, Daktronics, 3M, Larson Mfg and Rainbow Play Systems. While in the area visit these local attractions: Swiftel Center, Larson Ice Center, McCrory Gardens, S.D. Art Museum, State Agricultural Heritage Museum and Laura Ingalls Wilder home- 1 hour from Brookings. After a long day of traveling let us find the perfect room for you. Whether you are looking for a standard room, a whirlpool suite or a business room featuring an over-sized desk, free high-speed Internet and a king size bed, let our friendly and professional staff assist you in finding a clean and comfortable room that will best suit you and your family. Enjoy your favorite television programs on our new 32' LCD televisions with cable HD channels. Relax in our indoor pool and whirlpool or slide down our 137' water slide, or reserve one of our whirlpool rooms for that special occasion. Our water slide is only open Friday evenings, Saturdays and Sundays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Brookings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Brookings Hotel Brookings
Brookings Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Brookings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Brookings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.