We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I could not find anything wrong.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Brookings

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Brookings to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Brookings
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3020 Lefevre Dr, Brookings, SD 57006   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Brookings
St Paul, MN
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“I could not find anything wrong.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I loved this hotel. The look, the feel, everything. It was simply an 'Express' and I generally associate those as not having the detail of a full scale Holiday Inn. The lobby was spacious with comfortable seating, the breakfast area was large. (The food was mediocre - same as every other Holiday Inn Express menu, but the cinnamon rolls were tasty). The room was really beautiful. The bed very comfortable. The sheets and pillows were perfect. I slept very well......which doesn't always happen when traveling alone. The bathroom was very clean and bright. I did not use the pool, so do not have an opinion on it. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    16
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
4
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Castor, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My family and I were on a trip from Alberta Canada and the roads in South Dakota were horrible to say the least. The hotel staff at this location was wonderful and very accommodating. We upgrading our standard and had a king size bed and a pull out small couch. The pool was decent and I was thrilled to see not one but two life guards on duty! The beds were comfortable and the room quite spacious. The only downfall was the eggs in the morning.... The biscuits and gravy were okay.... but the eggs were lacking in freshness. All in all, we would have stayed here even without the breakfast simply for the amazing customer service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed here several times over the past two years. Always pleasant staff. Hotel is very clean. Beds are comfortable and rooms are quiet. Wonderful breakfast. Can't beat the South Dakota friendliness and work ethic.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Loved the nights rest in their cozy beds. Woke to fabulous complimentary breakfast!!! Mmmmmmm........ Down fall is if you are traveling with kids the water slide is only open on weekends and the swimming pool is less than four feet deep, so you can't swim laps.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrey, Utah
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

For a simple overnight while passing through Brookings, this worked out great! We were impressed with the young new manager - Erin. We learned that she is a recent hospitality grad from SDSU and has worked at different hotels for the past few years. This is her first job as manager and with her can-do attitude, we think it reflects with all the staff. The room was clean & comfortable and the breakfast satisfying. We were delighted with our stay at this friendly location!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100 Mile House, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Just a great room, we were given the last room with two queens, hotel was quiet, beds comfortable, breakfast good; If in Brookings we would stay here again. walmart just across highway, applebees right next door.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

The sheets on the bed were terrible and our room never got cleaned. The air conditioning in the room was subpar too. The sheets by far were the worst thing and that should be the best. They kept coming off the corners during the night on the king bed. I believe this was primarily due to the sheets being cheap and would stick to your clothes so therefore it would pull the sheets.
One other very important note, the waterslide at the hotel has a height minimum that is strictly enforced. 48" and there is a life guide on duty that checks all the kids.
Overall the hotel is nice. The rooms are huge which is nice when you are traveling with kids.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Brookings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Brookings

Address: 3020 Lefevre Dr, Brookings, SD 57006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Brookings
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Brookings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Brookings 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the beautiful Brookings Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites located right off Interstate 29 at exit 132. Brookings, SD offers a small town environment with a big city feel. Brookings is home to South Dakota State University, Daktronics, 3M, Larson Mfg and Rainbow Play Systems. While in the area visit these local attractions: Swiftel Center, Larson Ice Center, McCrory Gardens, S.D. Art Museum, State Agricultural Heritage Museum and Laura Ingalls Wilder home- 1 hour from Brookings. After a long day of traveling let us find the perfect room for you. Whether you are looking for a standard room, a whirlpool suite or a business room featuring an over-sized desk, free high-speed Internet and a king size bed, let our friendly and professional staff assist you in finding a clean and comfortable room that will best suit you and your family. Enjoy your favorite television programs on our new 32' LCD televisions with cable HD channels. Relax in our indoor pool and whirlpool or slide down our 137' water slide, or reserve one of our whirlpool rooms for that special occasion. Our water slide is only open Friday evenings, Saturdays and Sundays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Brookings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Brookings Hotel Brookings
Brookings Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Brookings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Brookings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.