We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Brookings

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Brookings to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Brookings
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3020 Lefevre Dr, Brookings, SD 57006   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Brookings
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed here several times over the past two years. Always pleasant staff. Hotel is very clean. Beds are comfortable and rooms are quiet. Wonderful breakfast. Can't beat the South Dakota friendliness and work ethic.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    17
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
6
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Loved the nights rest in their cozy beds. Woke to fabulous complimentary breakfast!!! Mmmmmmm........ Down fall is if you are traveling with kids the water slide is only open on weekends and the swimming pool is less than four feet deep, so you can't swim laps.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrey, Utah
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

For a simple overnight while passing through Brookings, this worked out great! We were impressed with the young new manager - Erin. We learned that she is a recent hospitality grad from SDSU and has worked at different hotels for the past few years. This is her first job as manager and with her can-do attitude, we think it reflects with all the staff. The room was clean & comfortable and the breakfast satisfying. We were delighted with our stay at this friendly location!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100 Mile House, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Just a great room, we were given the last room with two queens, hotel was quiet, beds comfortable, breakfast good; If in Brookings we would stay here again. walmart just across highway, applebees right next door.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The sheets on the bed were terrible and our room never got cleaned. The air conditioning in the room was subpar too. The sheets by far were the worst thing and that should be the best. They kept coming off the corners during the night on the king bed. I believe this was primarily due to the sheets being cheap and would stick to your clothes so therefore it would pull the sheets.
One other very important note, the waterslide at the hotel has a height minimum that is strictly enforced. 48" and there is a life guide on duty that checks all the kids.
Overall the hotel is nice. The rooms are huge which is nice when you are traveling with kids.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Left of Center
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed a few nights in Brookings & this hotel didn't disappoint. Clean, friendly staff, nice room, and the pool w/ slide was added bonus for a restless child after a long drive. It is close to interstate, but didn't hear any noise. There's an Applebees within walking distance and plenty of other GREAT local restaurants (the Pheasant, for example) that are a short drive and should be supported.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humboldt, South Dakota
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I booked this motel as part of a mini vacation for my little family. I choose this one over others in the area because of the water slide. I paid more for this room than i could have paid at a different motel. Looks like fun right? yeah it is for those people that allowed on it! you have to be 48" tall to ride on it and parents aren't even allowed to take their shorter kids on this slide. Wish they would have posted this on the website! They have "lifeguards" in the pool area...reading books and texting...nice. My kids were very sad that they had to stare at a water-slide they couldn't go down. Ruined our stay! Oh P.S. left my number for the manager so I could express my concerns. No call back, figures.

Room Tip: pick a different hotel if you have kids under 48"!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCare at Holiday Inn Express Brookings, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear crystal t,

Thank you for writing us a review. I appreciate you bringing your concern to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. I'd like to get additional detail about your experience so I have sent you a private message. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Brookings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Brookings

Address: 3020 Lefevre Dr, Brookings, SD 57006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Brookings
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Brookings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Brookings 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the beautiful Brookings Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites located right off Interstate 29 at exit 132. Brookings, SD offers a small town environment with a big city feel. Brookings is home to South Dakota State University, Daktronics, 3M, Larson Mfg and Rainbow Play Systems. While in the area visit these local attractions: Swiftel Center, Larson Ice Center, McCrory Gardens, S.D. Art Museum, State Agricultural Heritage Museum and Laura Ingalls Wilder home- 1 hour from Brookings. After a long day of traveling let us find the perfect room for you. Whether you are looking for a standard room, a whirlpool suite or a business room featuring an over-sized desk, free high-speed Internet and a king size bed, let our friendly and professional staff assist you in finding a clean and comfortable room that will best suit you and your family. Enjoy your favorite television programs on our new 32' LCD televisions with cable HD channels. Relax in our indoor pool and whirlpool or slide down our 137' water slide, or reserve one of our whirlpool rooms for that special occasion. Our water slide is only open Friday evenings, Saturdays and Sundays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Brookings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Brookings Hotel Brookings
Brookings Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Brookings

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Brookings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.