We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sushi in South Dakota? Yes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sake

Sake
724 22nd Ave S., Brookings, SD 57006
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 51 Restaurants in Brookings
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Restaurant details
Brookings, South Dakota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great sushi in South Dakota? Yes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

It is such a delight to know that we have a nice place for Sushi here in Brookings! Our kids love it and it is consistently good!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    2
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brookings, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A welcome change of pace”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The food is not something you'd expect to find in a small town like Brookings. The sushi/sashimi are good. Some of the meals seem to be "americanized" to try to appeal to a small midwestern town, but if they don't change the core of the menu this will continue to be a welcome change of pace in this town.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patagonia, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Based on the reviews I read and the No. 1 ranking in Brooking, I expected Sake to be good, but was impressed by how good it was for a sushi place in South Dakota. I happened to go on half-price sushi night (Mondays) which was a great deal, but what was more amazing was how fast the service was in an absolutly packed restaurant. Fastest service I've ever had at a sushi place and still well done sushi. I highly, highly recomment.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Superb Sushi Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

A notch up from standard sushi restaurants. Very tasty, original food, generous portions - and our family was raised on Japanese food. Needless to say we're picky but this restaurant in Brookings of all places, is top notch! Definitely recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Delicious sushi for such an inland area.... also vegetarian options! Plus daily specials, and seasonal rolls. The ginger dressing that comes with the house salad is amazing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sake also viewed

 

Been to Sake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.